We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clark's Beach Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent Spot”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed overnight on a busy Saturday in August. You can see that the motel is certainly making an effort to stay on top of general maintenance however attention to detail is not their strong point. My room was in the lower portion of the hotel facing 1st Lake and the town green (room 21). The room was very small, relatively clean, (chairs to table very wobbly and wet from a spill or the like). AC was working quite well. Really ideal for my quick stay. At $120 I would say a bit overpriced by 20-30 bucks however it is peak season and after calling all the better TA rated spots, quickly found the town sells out on summer weekends. Pool was clean and warm. Free coffee in the morning was appreciated. Staff was nice and check-in very fast. Solid C+ / B- rating in my book.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffalonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    15
    3
    21
See reviews for
44
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The rooms were a complete disappointment. The 2 bedroom cottage unit had good space but the window frames in bedrooms, kitchen and kitchen did not work properly and we were unable to open them. The window frames were in very poor condiiton, nearly detaching from the walls. The sliding glass door to the patio needed a giant push to open and close. When I attempted to attach the security metal bar in the unlocked position it fell into the livingroom nearly hitting my 4 yr. old grandson. Had it hit him he would have been seriously injured as it was quite heavy with sharp ends. This is an accident waiting to happen! No matching furniture, chipped wood and very scratched coffee table. The screens were ripped on most of the windows. Bathroom smelled of urine and was so outdated that no amount of cleaning would make much of a difference. We did not use the indoor pool as it was very hot. The day we checked in I noted there was a significant amt. of dirt on the bottom of the pool and the next afternoon, the dirt was still there. Wondered if was cleaned regularly and so didn't use it that day either. This motel needs a complete facelift that would make it worth the room rate. At this point it deserves less than a below average rating overall even though the location is one of the best in Old Forge.

Room Tip: Before you reserve a room/check in make sure you are getting a refurbished room or stay somewhere el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Wayne, Ind
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Situated right down by the lake and the municipal beach, it was nice to walk along the lake in the early morning and evening and just to sit outside and have a glass of wine. Unfortunately the lake front is all built up and the walk is not a long one. The deer come right up to the motel doors looking for food so be careful! The room was adequate, clean and comfortable, no frills but we are budget travellers and carry our own food and coffee/tea maker. Great indoor pool but it smells musty inside the main building. Good value.

Room Tip: Ask for lakefront rooms, much better than the parking lot rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsFtWayne_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We needed a room in Old Forge for one night before picking our child up from camp. As we needed to find a place which would permit a 1-night stay on a summer weekend we ended up at Clark's Beach Motel. I liked the designated parking spaces near each room. The beds were very comfortable; not too firm and not too soft. It's not the Ritz Carlton or Waldorf Astoria, but the room was clean & the staff was nice. It's reasonably priced. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the lowest price room with no view. We only needed a place to sleep as we were traveling thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillary677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

07/01/12 - We (4 adults) rented a 2 bedroom cottage unit, as we were doing some sight seeing and relaxing in the mountains. The staff was great, courteous and pleasant. Unfortunately the accomodations were very poor. The windows didn't open with the cranks, but fortunately the screens were ripped so we could put our hands through to open and close them. The fridge didn't work but the next day they had it "recharged" again. The unit was advertised too accomodate 8, yet there were barely dishes for 4. The stove didn't work properly and was filthy. The indoor pool was a nice bonus was it was too hot in the area to breathe let alone use the facility. Some units have been refurbished and may make the experience more enjoyable, but at this point I can't say we would return based solely on our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a reconditioned room or pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner13420, Owner at Clark's Beach Motel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I was disappointed to see this review as we made every effort to give our guests a good experience during their stay with us.
I was notified about the "fridge problem" and arrived within 15 minutes , not the next day, and serviced the unit and had it working fine. (I am also a licensed refrigeration mechanic). As we have refrigerators in all units, we moved the guests food items to another unit and provided them with a key to that unit so that they could access their food while the fridge in their unit was "cooling down". We also provided ice for their cooler so that they had iced beverages.
I have addressed the window problem. That night we had an area wide power outage due to an auto accident.. We do have a generator that provides enough power for lights but not enough to run the air conditioners. Windows that don't usually open because of air conditioning, had to be opened.

We did address these concerns by providing a discount to compensate the guest for their poor experience. We do hope that they will return and we assure our future guests that they will have a positive experience as have our many satisfied past guests.

We have spent tens of thousands of dollars within the past year to continue to upgrade Clark's Beach Motel for our guests

Dan Rivet Jr
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I have for several years spent 3-4 days at Clark's Beach Motel every Memorial Weekend. We always asked for the same room each year. The last year we went they put us in another room when I was very specific about the same room as past years. They claimed the carpet was not dried yet. They gave us a room that appeared to have not been cleaned for sometime. The next day they put us in the room we originally asked for. When I complained at the front desk the girl was very rude. Then manager did not try to rectfiy the situation like giving us a discount when we left. Our feelings is it is there loss. We would spend almost $400.00 each year. Instead we will rent a cabin for that money. Adding fuel to the fire that weekend they were not even full there was hardly any one there. The owner should take more of interest in the way customers are being treated by his manager and staff. With the financial stituation with the economy one would think an establishment would bend over backwards for business. New York

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

3-9-12 staff is amazing, very friendly and nice. I stay moslty in the winter and have been doing so for 8 years. The manager Ginny knows me by name, she makes it feel like home. Rooms are big enough for 4 guys and all snowmobile gear. Never had a problem with utilities, beds are good, indoor pool is neat. Rite downtown walking distance to everything. Can't say enough service is great, would not even think of staying anyplace else.

Room Tip: upper rooms quieter. Their is a room with 3 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.5 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
259 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.7 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark's Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark's Beach Motel

Property: Clark's Beach Motel
Address: 3124 Main St., Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clark's Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clark's Beach Motel located in the Adirondack town of Old Forge, New York. Overlooking the beautiful Old Forge pond you will find that perfect blend of relaxation and convenience at Clark's Beach Motel on the Lake. Well known for their friendly service and with 40 guest rooms you will feel at home for your Adirondack stay. Clark's Beach Motel on the lake provides exceptional rooms and service to get you on your way or to stay for a while in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Clark's Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clark`s Beach Hotel Old Forge
Clarks Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing