We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eagle Bay Village is back to being the peaceful family spot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Bay Village

Eagle Bay Village
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagle Bay Village
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eagle Bay Village is back to being the peaceful family spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

Eagle Bay Village had a few rough years with revelers who did little to respect the families who were trying to have a wholesome vacation. The family who let their teens and 20 somethings party into the night are no longer welcome at Eagle Bay!
Last year, we had our first quiet, peaceful family vacation at this location in a long time.
I have been staying at Eagle Bay Village for 37 years. As a child with all my extended family, as a young single person and now, as a family with a young child. I keep coming back to Eagle Bay because of the wonderful beaches (shallow enough for small children), the peaceful evenings around the fire and the location to other attractions.
Many of my aunts, uncles and cousins have found their way back to the mountains, and we all had a wonderful time staying at Eagle Bay Village. I'm glad that the owners have made the changes that were necessary to bring Eagle Bay Village back to what it should be, a quality, family oriented resort. We are very much looking forward to this year!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irisheyes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

I have lived in Arizona for the past 2.5 years and moved here from Cold Brook, NY (50 miles south of Eagle Bay). I really enjoy going to EBV, even when i lived there. I happen to be the owners (Donovans) nephew, and I really look forward to going back every year. Being down here in the hot desert (115 degree's) in the city of Phoenix working for the county, nothing makes me more excited than to know that i'm approaching vacation time.

My aunt and uncle (especially Brad) have poured their hearts and souls into the place and have made vast improvements to the property over the past few years. I remember helping them mow the lawn, doing odd jobs around the camp and my family and I helped build the impressive dock that they now have. I travel over 2900 miles every year just to spend time in the adirondacks and on the lake. It's a wonderful place to be and I honestly wish i could get a job in that region, but for now I'm in AZ. The landscape is so magnificant that my other Aunt and Uncle got married on the property. Its a great family retreat and i honeslty believe you will enjoy it to.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AZcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2007

I have been going to Eagle Bay Village with a group of friends for the past 6 years sometime in September or October. It's always been a wonderful get away. The accommodations are great. We stay in the newer 5 bedroom home, but the old cabins are just as nice.

The grounds are so pretty. From the road you can't imagine how pretty the view is. The beach and grounds are well groomed. We always spend a lot of time on the deck enjoying the view and at night we admire the sky just full of stars!

Eagle Bay Village is close to a lot of quaint little shops in Inlet and Old Forge.

The owners work hard to keep the places in great condition. Not all individuals treat the place with the care they give their own home, unfortunately (or maybe they treat their own homes badly too).

Looking forward to a visit in Fall 2008.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank travel2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scooby04
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

great place to stay very family oriented. great beach and boat docks. brad,mary great people . super place for kids lots of room to run and play games

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scooby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2007

I've been staying at EBV with my family for 5 years now, and am kind of in the middle of the other reviews. The cabins are fine for the price ( just look at what some of the other local places rent for! ), and the grounds are OK. Good family place. Nothing fancy, but not bad at all.

But the first review about the people who stay in the motel is right. We've been staying around the fourth of July every year, and the motel residents just go nuts with the beer and the fireworks at all hours. The partiers usually clear out after a couple of days, and things get quieter again. If I had small kids or wanted a quieter kind of vacation, I'd get annoyed too.

The owners are all nice and helpful, but they really aren't around all the time until after about 6:00pm, when I've been there, in spite of what some of the other reviewers said. Maybe it has to do with the time of year when you visit. When they are there, they're wonderful. Sometimes you just have to wait a couple of hours to get one of them.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank NY_Mountain_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

Have spent many years staying at EBV. The Donovan family has spent a great deal of effort to bring the place back to what it once was. Excellent family atmosphere, good fishing and beautiful sandy beach.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hemcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2007

I too, have stayed numerous time at the Eagle Bay Village and have noted vast improvements since it's purchase by the Donovan family. Both families live right on the property and there is always someone from one family or the other there to assist you or to return your call. I have been there ice fishing in the Winter, fishing (from their new docking system) in the Summer and hiking and shopping in the Fall and have NEVER had a bad experience. Businesses grow slowly and it has been a pleasure to come there each year to see the latest improvements made to it. When it was first purchased, it was falling apart from neglect but now flurishes. There is a new water system, docking area, new cabins as well as improvements to the existing buildings. About the only place left to improve is the OFFICE and they are working on that. If you are looking for a great/safe place to take your family to enjoy the mountains, I highly recommend The EAGLE BAY VILLAGE outside of Old Forge, NY.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank HandymanRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
0.0 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.0 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Bay Village

Property: Eagle Bay Village
Address: State Route 28, 8 mi. east of Old Forge, Old Forge, NY
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Eagle Bay Village Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing