We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very family oriented”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Forge Camping Resort
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very family oriented”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Great family campground. I miss the old family owned KOA, but unfortunately that's a thing of the past. The "resort" is very large. They have everything from tent sites, to rv sites, to cabins and cottages. Playground, very nice store, and small lake top it off. In case you weren't aware, they are owned by the same people as Enchanted Forest/Water Safari, Calypsos Cove, and Waters Edge, so everything is very tied in. The walking trail and shuttle to EF are very handy. Campground is within walking distance of village. Just heed their bear warnings, bears know they can find food in the park.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We are so glad you took the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We try very hard to make sure that all campers are made aware of the bear situation. We appreciate when our guests understand our rules and communicate them to other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    67
    30
    10
    20
See reviews for
137
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
batavia ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had possibly the smallest site there. We had a boat with us, that we were unable to park on our site because of this. We rented a water/electric site, but had a tent...we thought the site would be larger...i am not sure what type of camper would ever fit there.

Fire pits were less than 20 feet away from each other. And campsite we on top of one another

Neighbors were loud, obnoxious and rude. I realize you are here with a group of sites...but do you really have to yell at the top of your lungs to get someones attention on another site at 7:30am?

We also constantly had people cutting right through our site...while we were sitting there! I have never been to a camping resort were other campers we so incredibly rude.

Loud trucks and things at 7am. What is the point of quite hours if they are not enforced?

Also, rules were blatantly disregarded by other campers. In particular the not washing dishes and leaving coolers out because of the black bears. We tried in vain to obey since we didn't want a visit from a bear....but campers next to us apparently did not care and on our last day there we did actually see a bear.

We love the Adirondacks and this was our first camping trip there....our next one will not be at this campground. the only thing we liked was the location to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are sorry that you didn't find your stay with us to be enjoyable

When reservations are made for a water and electric site we look at the size of the unit to determine location. As many tent campers enjoy having the amenities, we have smaller sites to accomodate them, as well as smaller units. If there is a site a guest prefers, we do our best to honor the request.

Arrangements are made for guests that bring watercrafts to park at our maintenance shop as our sites are meant for a unit and a vehicle.

We try very hard to make sure that all of our guests know and follow the rules. If they are not, we provide the telephone number for our security personnel upon arrival. They are happy to respond to noise and bear complaints.

Again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family, which consisted of 5 adults, 6 children and myself stayed here for three nights from July 15th to 18th. We rented 3 cottages next to each other and there was plenty of sleeping room and, of course, your own bathroom and shower! The cottages were in good order and seemed well maintained. The staff members we dealt with were very friendly and accommodating.
Pros:
The family loved it! They went hiking, rode their bikes, went to the small beach, rented the paddle boats, went fishing and of course, spent a day at Enchanted Water Safari. Campfire every night of our stay and we were able to get a couple tables together to also have meals. We picked a good week as it was very hot (90's daily), no rain, yet with a well placed fan, we were able to stay cool enough. We were also right on the lake front so I'm sure that helped.
Cons:
Other reviews have mentioned this and it's true. The mattresses really suck!! That being said, there were some issues for me, the senior citizen, and one of the grandchildren who is the youngest and only 3. The whole park is very hilly, on many inclines, with large and small rocks, tree roots and tree stumps everywhere! The 3 year-old grandson had a really hard time getting from place to place. There was no place for him to run and so had to stay in a very small area when outside. I had to also be careful walking for fear of falling. Also, the way the cottages are built made for a few challenges. It was clear that we were in the older cottages which do not have a "back" door; the new ones do. As a result, you would have to take all of your gear from your vehicle down a flight of stairs and then up a small flight of stairs to get into your cottage. And of course, upon leaving, you would do just the opposite. Well, this old granny couldn't possibly carry heavy stuff up a flight of stairs, so the packing of the vehicle that I could do at home, I couldn't do here. Of course, the family came to the rescue.. Not a big deal, just a challenge that I wasn't expecting. Oh, and the "playground" consists of a slide and two swings. Enough said about that.
So, depending on the ages of your group, my advice is to get a cottage with a "back" door and try to find a better location if you have a toddler. These are the reasons I took off one star, but the rest of the family loved the whole experience.
P.S.-- we didn't see one bear!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer!

As the camping mattresses are not that thick, we do suggest that our guests bring air mattresses to supplement them. Or, another option is to ask for an additional mattress at check in and if we have them available we will be happy to bring one to you.

As you know from this reservation, we do our best to honor specific requests. If you noticed cottages that were better suited to your needs, please advise us when you plan your next family vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Terrible and rude service.

We bought wood for a campfire at $13 for 3 bundles.

Now I've made 100s of campfires before and it can be done using wet wood. But the wood they sold us was so water logged and so damp that after an hour an a half of tryin to light the fire we just went to bed instead.

How can you sell wet wood at an expensive price and not give a refund?!?!!


Loud neighbors, never ending trucks and loud vehicles throughout the night.

Ever slept on a hard surface with jagged rocks sticking up so bad that you wake up with a bruise were the rock was.

This resort could be soooooooooo much better. What a shame that in one word it can all be described as pathetic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelikEth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in a little cabin 1set bunk bed & king bed. It was cozy there were 1adult & 4 kids we fit perfectly! We were right next to the SHOWERS & FLUSH toilets (im from utah- & thats unheard of there) we were close to the little lake beach area. I loved that all the cabins have porch swings!! Every campsite had a fire pit & bench. The staff seemed nice- in the office they a little connivence store so if u forget something they probably have it. Our light in our cabin (yes there was electricity) went out 10 mins lAter maintenance fixed it! Best part was THERE WAS HEAT!!!! hmmm you wonder june- hot days? Could it get that cold at night to need heat?? YES!! The night we stayed got down to low 30 degrees. & we slept like babies!!! Uhhh did i mention we had HEAT?? Haha (most other cheaper cabins in the androndacks do not have heat fyi. :) ps MILITARY GETS 20% off!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrAzYfUnFaMiLy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent 3 nights at OFCR and wont ever go there again. The campsites are all on top of each other with no privacy. Sitting around the campfire and I can hear the people in the next site over snoring. Not to mention the party like atmosphere that went on til about midnight with loud music, people cheering, people playing guitars and mobs roaming the roads.

My parents where in an RV site that was packed in right behind the boat rental office. It doesnt end there. The next site is so packed in and the campers open up facing each other so your essentially sharing 1 big site with 2 campers and strangers. To top it all off the dumping station was within 10 yards of the sites and it smelled so bad. The group of kids that used the dumping station hose to spray each other down, drink from it and wash thier scraped up legs was about vomit inducing.

There is no sleeping in at this place. First off the trucks that seemed to be joy riding at 4am. Then there was garbage trucks, dump trucks and some other big truck that was operating at 6am almost daily. If the diesel engines arent enough at 6am the beeping when they back up takes the cake. The golf carts that the employees drive where puking out smoke so badly and it just smelled awful. The bathrooms and showers are a really long walk from most sites as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ask0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Upon check in we let everyone know that our quiet hours are from 10 pm to 8 am. We also let everyone know there is an emergency phone outside the Main Lodge, and the phone number for security is in the Gazette for anyone that may not be abiding by the rules. This includes, but is not limited to loud music, trucks or neighbors.

We are unable to regulate the arrival time of our trash pick-up. Due to the volume of garbage frequent pick-ups are necessary.

We do apologize that the placement of your site was not to your liking. We try very hard to make everyone happy and would have been glad to look for alternatives if there were any available. A child spraying each other from the dump station hose is not a common occurrence, nor is it something that we condone due to health issues. When this was noticed, we did speak to them and sent them on their way.

We would love for you to give us another chance. If there were sites that you did like better than the ones you were on, please let us know and we will do our best to try to secure them for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here two nights and will never stay with them again. I was very disappointed with how small the cabins actually are they are supposed to be 6 max per site but if you plan on six adults go somewhere else trust me the beds are like a double and the bunk sizes are smaller then a twin. The cabins floor was dirty and there was food under the big bed that had mold on it. The service was horrid after making our reservations on phone and discussing what we wanted to do(paddleboats and swimming on monday) we find out when we get there that we can't do that, why didnt they tell me on the phone so I could of made other arrangements?? Trust me when I say go somewhere else we are and already found somewhere a lot cheaper and also near enchanted forest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abys2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are sorry that your stay with the Old Forge Camping Resort was not what you had expected. We take great pride in our business and our guest service, as well as our cleanliness and affordability. If a guest finds something unsatisfactory, we do ask that it is brought to our attention and we will do everything we can to correct the situation.

On our website and when guests are making a reservation, we let them know that NYS law allows up to six people per site, but the cabins sleep 4 comfortably. We also let them know that there is a double bed and a twin set of bunk beds.

We offer paddleboat and canoe rentals and swimming at the beach to our registered guests from 8 am until 8 pm. In the event of inclement weather or repairs, we cannot allow our boats on the water for the safety of our guests and staff. Other than inclement weather, our lake and beach has been operational.

Again we apologize for your experience and hope that you would consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
5.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#9 of 12 in Old Forge
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
103 reviews
8.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Forge Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Forge Camping Resort

Property: Old Forge Camping Resort
Address: 3347 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge Camping Resort is a year round campground located in Old Forge, New York so we’re perfect if you’re coming for camping, skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, canoeing, or whatever Adirondack adventure you’re after. Enjoy a true vacation in the Adirondacks here at our campground as you relax and camp in the peace and quiet of the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. We offer several types of accommodations: cottage rentals, log cabins rentals, RV camping and tent sites. Each type has a picnic table, fire circle, and is conveniently located near one of our seven heated Restroom and Shower Facilities, all at an affordable cost. We are located just a half-mile from the center of Old Forge, our Camping Resort provides full amenities within the campground. The free shuttle bus can bring you directly to the Enchanted Forest Water Safari, Calypso's Cove and to the beginning of the village of Old Forge, where there are many souvenir shops and restaurants. Our scenic campgrounds, beautiful private lake and helpful staff will ensure that your Adirondack camping experience is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Forge Camping Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing