We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family loves it here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Forge Camping Resort
New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our family loves it here!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went last year in August (wouldn't let me choose that date), and are heading up there again this week! So exicted! Our neighbors were close, and teenagers, but very respectful and understood we had children with us. We had quite a few encounters with mama bear and her cubs, but it was more of a semi-scary first for all of us that we enjoyed because we knew to watch from a distance. The kids still tell the story! Our cabin was clean when we got there, and close to the bathroom/water. The only complaint I would have is the wood didn't light well and it took a long time getting our fire started.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    66
    29
    8
    20
See reviews for
132
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The spots are small, the neighbors are close and, often, noisy. The lake is small, the paddle boats are old (so are the canoes). The playground is small and suitable for very young ones only. They sell wet wood and don't give a refund (you get fire starters and new wet wood). But Old Forge Camping Resort is very conveniently located; close to the nice town Old Forge. And the toilets and showers are in order; simple and well maintained and clean, at least at the beginning of the day,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargueriteKonijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Check in/check out was very quick and easy. the main lodge is big nice and clean and the sell anything you would need for camping that you might have forgotten to bring. Stayed in a cabin. it was very basic but very clean. one room, a double bed and a bunk bed. had a light, a wall heater, and 4 or 5 outlets. perfect for a family with 2 small children. so much better than being in a tent. outside the cabin is nice with a porch swing, campfire pit, and picnic table. only complaints are its very busy with cars going down the road all day and night and the cabins are close to each other. no privacy when outside. and the ground is very rocky and lots of tree roots. the kids were constantly tripping and falling on their faces. not good for them to be playing and running around especially when it got dark out.

Room Tip: get a cabin, wouldnt want to be sleeping in a tent on all those rock and roots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFromUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Always clean and staff is pleasant:) Family friendly. My family of 5 goes up 1 to 2 times a year. Many activites for all ages. Just a short walk or drive away. Fall festivites are great! Cant wait to plan our September trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We look forward to seeing you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Great family campground. I miss the old family owned KOA, but unfortunately that's a thing of the past. The "resort" is very large. They have everything from tent sites, to rv sites, to cabins and cottages. Playground, very nice store, and small lake top it off. In case you weren't aware, they are owned by the same people as Enchanted Forest/Water Safari, Calypsos Cove, and Waters Edge, so everything is very tied in. The walking trail and shuttle to EF are very handy. Campground is within walking distance of village. Just heed their bear warnings, bears know they can find food in the park.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We are so glad you took the time to write such an enthusiastic review. We try very hard to make sure that all campers are made aware of the bear situation. We appreciate when our guests understand our rules and communicate them to other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
batavia ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had possibly the smallest site there. We had a boat with us, that we were unable to park on our site because of this. We rented a water/electric site, but had a tent...we thought the site would be larger...i am not sure what type of camper would ever fit there.

Fire pits were less than 20 feet away from each other. And campsite we on top of one another

Neighbors were loud, obnoxious and rude. I realize you are here with a group of sites...but do you really have to yell at the top of your lungs to get someones attention on another site at 7:30am?

We also constantly had people cutting right through our site...while we were sitting there! I have never been to a camping resort were other campers we so incredibly rude.

Loud trucks and things at 7am. What is the point of quite hours if they are not enforced?

Also, rules were blatantly disregarded by other campers. In particular the not washing dishes and leaving coolers out because of the black bears. We tried in vain to obey since we didn't want a visit from a bear....but campers next to us apparently did not care and on our last day there we did actually see a bear.

We love the Adirondacks and this was our first camping trip there....our next one will not be at this campground. the only thing we liked was the location to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are sorry that you didn't find your stay with us to be enjoyable

When reservations are made for a water and electric site we look at the size of the unit to determine location. As many tent campers enjoy having the amenities, we have smaller sites to accomodate them, as well as smaller units. If there is a site a guest prefers, we do our best to honor the request.

Arrangements are made for guests that bring watercrafts to park at our maintenance shop as our sites are meant for a unit and a vehicle.

We try very hard to make sure that all of our guests know and follow the rules. If they are not, we provide the telephone number for our security personnel upon arrival. They are happy to respond to noise and bear complaints.

Again, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manlius, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family, which consisted of 5 adults, 6 children and myself stayed here for three nights from July 15th to 18th. We rented 3 cottages next to each other and there was plenty of sleeping room and, of course, your own bathroom and shower! The cottages were in good order and seemed well maintained. The staff members we dealt with were very friendly and accommodating.
Pros:
The family loved it! They went hiking, rode their bikes, went to the small beach, rented the paddle boats, went fishing and of course, spent a day at Enchanted Water Safari. Campfire every night of our stay and we were able to get a couple tables together to also have meals. We picked a good week as it was very hot (90's daily), no rain, yet with a well placed fan, we were able to stay cool enough. We were also right on the lake front so I'm sure that helped.
Cons:
Other reviews have mentioned this and it's true. The mattresses really suck!! That being said, there were some issues for me, the senior citizen, and one of the grandchildren who is the youngest and only 3. The whole park is very hilly, on many inclines, with large and small rocks, tree roots and tree stumps everywhere! The 3 year-old grandson had a really hard time getting from place to place. There was no place for him to run and so had to stay in a very small area when outside. I had to also be careful walking for fear of falling. Also, the way the cottages are built made for a few challenges. It was clear that we were in the older cottages which do not have a "back" door; the new ones do. As a result, you would have to take all of your gear from your vehicle down a flight of stairs and then up a small flight of stairs to get into your cottage. And of course, upon leaving, you would do just the opposite. Well, this old granny couldn't possibly carry heavy stuff up a flight of stairs, so the packing of the vehicle that I could do at home, I couldn't do here. Of course, the family came to the rescue.. Not a big deal, just a challenge that I wasn't expecting. Oh, and the "playground" consists of a slide and two swings. Enough said about that.
So, depending on the ages of your group, my advice is to get a cottage with a "back" door and try to find a better location if you have a toddler. These are the reasons I took off one star, but the rest of the family loved the whole experience.
P.S.-- we didn't see one bear!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Old Forge Camping Resort, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We are so glad your family enjoyed their stay with us and were able to take advantage of all we have to offer!

As the camping mattresses are not that thick, we do suggest that our guests bring air mattresses to supplement them. Or, another option is to ask for an additional mattress at check in and if we have them available we will be happy to bring one to you.

As you know from this reservation, we do our best to honor specific requests. If you noticed cottages that were better suited to your needs, please advise us when you plan your next family vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
5.7 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#9 of 12 in Old Forge
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.8 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
101 reviews
8.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Forge Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Forge Camping Resort

Property: Old Forge Camping Resort
Address: 3347 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge Camping Resort is a year round campground located in Old Forge, New York so we’re perfect if you’re coming for camping, skiing, snowmobiling, kayaking, canoeing, or whatever Adirondack adventure you’re after. Enjoy a true vacation in the Adirondacks here at our campground as you relax and camp in the peace and quiet of the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. We offer several types of accommodations: cottage rentals, log cabins rentals, RV camping and tent sites. Each type has a picnic table, fire circle, and is conveniently located near one of our seven heated Restroom and Shower Facilities, all at an affordable cost. We are located just a half-mile from the center of Old Forge, our Camping Resort provides full amenities within the campground. The free shuttle bus can bring you directly to the Enchanted Forest Water Safari, Calypso's Cove and to the beginning of the village of Old Forge, where there are many souvenir shops and restaurants. Our scenic campgrounds, beautiful private lake and helpful staff will ensure that your Adirondack camping experience is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Forge Camping Hotel Old Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing