We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best B & B anywhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haynes White House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Old Forge B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Words can't fully describe the lovely and sincere hospitality of Margaret and the very clean and homey room and furnishings at the Haynes White House Inn. Margaret greeted my friend and I outside the Inn when we arrived by car, and immediately made us feel welcome for our entire visit with her warm personality. She provided us with many helpful tips for our Old Forge visit, and served a delicious breakfast, noting my gluten-free diet needs. It may be a cliche, but Margaret and her beautiful B & B made our visit truly unforgettable. It was a pleasure and privilege to meet her and stay at her Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNDoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

And I was spoiled with my boyfriend booking a B&B and choosing The White House Inn. The interior is thoughtfully decorated to make you feel comfortable in every room, the home made food a real treat, (my boyfriend really enjoyed the coffee cake, myself the freshly-sliced fruit, and the consideration of having Margaret make us scrambled eggs with ham and cheese on Sunday) and the inn-keeper is attune to your stay, making sure you are accomodated in every way possible. I would definitely recommend this lovely place for anyone else visiting Old Forge for the first time or interested in deviating from the norm of hotels / motels. Thank you, Margaret. You have a wonderful home and you are a wonderful person.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at the White House Inn. Margaret was a wonderful hostess, providing very useful local advice on sights and restaurants. The house and rooms are very nicely appointed, with each bedroom decorated differently. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeukaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Thank you Margaret!! My husband and I had a fabulous experience at your B&B. I am still in awe!! You are a one-woman show, and you get 5 out of 5 STARS!! Just when we thought that graciousness in hosting was a memory, you gave us a true taste of just that. Your "foo-foo-ing" (your word for decorating) is warm, comfortable & lovely, and your location is perfect for antique and adirondack lovers! We hope to visit you again. Thank you, thank you!! Susan & Charles

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A group of friends held a mini reunion in Old Forge this week and we all stayed at the Haynes White House Inn. In order to get a full accounting of this bed and breakfast, I would have to gush for several paragraphs. The antique decor welcomes you the minute you walk in. Margaret, the inn keeper adds to your comfort and makes certain that anything you might want is provided if possible. The sleeping rooms are cozy, beds are comfortable and the whole place is clean, clean, clean. Centrally located, the Inn is within walking distrance of the downtown section of Old Forge. The breakfast is served at a beautifully appointed table and the food is delicious. Coffee is on earlier than breakfast, so guests can help themselves if they are early risers. In choosing a rating for the White House Inn, I would like to give some of the subjects higher than 5. Definitely, if you are in Old Forge, the place to stay is at the White House Inn and tell Margaret that I sent you.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the stairs has the bathroom in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food-critic-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Every inch of the inn is beautifully furnished, comfortable, and very inviting. It is a truly, sparkling clean B and B! Margaret, the inn keeper, is a lovely woman who takes pains to make sure that her guests are well taken care of, including serving a delicious homemade breakfast. My only caveat is that if you want a private bathroom that is IN your room, be sure to specify that. We reserved a room with a private bath, but it turned out to be a bath down the hall from our room. While Margaret did put our name on the bathroom door, other guests did use the bathroom. A lock on the door with a key given to the guest paying for the private bath would be a good idea as well as letting potential guests know that the bathroom is not IN the room. Our stay was lovely none-the-less, and I would highly recommend this B and B! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have been staying with Mrs. Margaret Haynes, The Inn Keeper for many years. Simply put - it doesn't get any better than this. She is a gracious hostess and the White House Inn is spectacular in both decore and comfort. It is very centrally located to downtown, the mountains and the Moose River - all is within walking distance.
If you're looking for a place to stay in Old Forge - make reservations here - you'll be back.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
4.4 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
135 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#4 of 6 in Inlet
173 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
3.4 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#11 of 12 in Old Forge
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haynes White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haynes White House Inn

Address: 2945 Main St, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing