We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay at a Friendly Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slide Mountain Forest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Oliverea B&B and Inns
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay at a Friendly Inn”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Been here several times. Rooms are very nice. Recently remodeled. Lobby and dining areas are rustic and warm with a Bavarian feel.

Entire place spotlessly clean and nice. Friendly innkeeper and help.
Excellent breakfast provided daily included in rate. Free wireless internet.

Room Tip: Third floor in main building has large room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny,ny
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

For a simple rustic getaway this place is great. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms spars. The service helpful but not suffocating. Very clean. Great value

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Where do I begin? We were up in the area for a wedding at Full Moon resort. My husband and I found this Inn and booked it because we wanted accommodations that had on suite bathrooms. Little did we know that Hurricane Irene had more in store for us that would make this choice even better. This area was flooded very badly by the hurricane. Slide Mountain Forest House faired pretty well, but down the road, both ways, was horrible. Bridges, roads, houses, all washed out. We were stranded for a few days with no power in the area and no communication link at all (well except for right after the storm and ONLY because luckily the innkeepers (Ralph Jr. and Sr.) have enough sense to still have a LAN line). Ralph Jr. and the other employees of Slide Mountain are some of the most incredible people we have ever met. Despite running solely on generators, we were fed like royalty, still took a hot shower - obviously only when needed, and were given rides when needed to the area where we could get across a bridge (by foot) that no longer connected the road we were on. I can count on one had the reviews I have given and even before the hurricane I told my husband I would be reviewing this hotel. There are all the amenities you would ever want, the BEST food in the area and it is spotless clean. Plus, if you ever get stranded, you can rest assured you will not be miserable, quite on the contrary! Oh, and while you are there, find Van and Kate, they bottle the BEST maple syrup you have ever tasted!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webwlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a room in the Main House-very clean. The grounds and people are lovely. It's impossible not to feel totally relaxed anywhere on this property. Many acitvities available on site: ping pong, pool, private hiking trails, basketball court, tennis court. The hiking traiils are part of Panther mountain and are a very nice workout, but no amazing views at the top. The main Panther mountain entrance is about 3 miles down the street and would have preferred to try that. Nearest store/market is about 4 miles down the road, on the corner of rt 28 (has water, tea, coffee, snacks, sandwiches, maps). The owners are incredibly friendly and really make you feel comfortable in their home. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I didn't think the dinner was very tasty, but my fiance loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpleasures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I believe my mother and father found this gem back in the late 70s/early 80s. I believe they returned every year since there at least once. Whether it was for a summer vacation or the Schlachfest in October. I now take my mother there every year for Schlachfest and we have booked 2011 already.

As I have seen from the other reviews here they pretty much cover the old world charm this House has to offer. All their meals are excellent! For Schlachfest weekend your price includes ALL meals and are pretty much all you can eat. You won't go away hungry that is for sure!

As far as cellphone coverage goes, yes you will have to head for the nearest mountain top which isn't that far away. But you could be reached if there is an emergency as all you have to do is give them the main house phone number and anyone of the staff will get you asap.

You can't go wrong staying here if you want to get away for a few days or weeks with all the fresh air, old world charm and the best owners and staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting.

Room Tip: Rooms to meet any need from hotel room like to the best suite type rooms you'll ever need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Where to begin? The location? The owners and staff? The food? The rooms? It was all so great, I'm having a hard time being objective in writing this review. Oh, hell, why be objective about our 6 nights of delight?

The location is excellent - if getting away from it all is your goal. This place is so peaceful, it makes serene look like a frat party. We saw a small bear, woodchucks, many deer, and a variety of spectacular birds. The lodge is located down 4 miles of paved road from the main road, so no noise other than an occasional passing car intrudes. Just the mountains, trees, and the world famous fishing creek that was too cold to swim in.

The owners could not be more helpful. We were there for a family reunion, with 25 people ranging from 18 months to 85 years old. Everybody had a great time because the two Ralphs - Senior and Junior - looked after everyone and everything. No request was too difficult for them, though we tried not to be pests about it.

The restaurant staff were courteous and efficient - we ate wonderful, tasty breakfasts there everyday. Because we BBQ'd our own dinners, we could not try the restaurant in the evenings. However, Ralph squared made us different salads each evening and delivered them to the BBQ area for us. (Who wants to chop coleslaw for 25 people while on holiday?) The salads were very tasty.

The rooms were large, homey, comfortable, and quiet. We slept like babes. We booked out the New Chalet , all five rooms, complete with the kitchen and living room. This was the base of operations for the early risers to have coffee and a chat while waiting for the sleepy heads to get up and go to brekky. It had a TV which we did not use, but wireless internet which we did use. Each of the rooms had A/C and its own bathroom, as well as access to the deck for the three upstairs rooms.

We also used up 5 or so rooms in the main house, and all who stayed there echoed the sentiments of the New Chalet folk. The other bit of accommodation we used was a fifth wheel hookup outside the New Chalet. One of our party brought his monster home on wheels as part of a two week New England trek. Refer back to the sentence about the helpful Ralphs to guess how well everything worked out for the pseudo campers. Great!

Amenities and activities kept those that were interested very busy. A nice pool with a slide, ping pong, shuffleboard (I know, but it is the Catskills and you'd be surprised at how much fun it is), tennis, basketball, badminton, volleyball, pinball, etc, etc. All of the equipment is in good shape and there is no extra charge to use it, except for the pinball and the jukebox.

We BBQ'd at night and played guitars around the fire pit. Even the mosquitos cooperated and only flew away with the weak and infirm. Wiffle ball on the lawn, was followed by beers on the deck, followed by naps, followed by walks along the creek. What a place.

Groceries and such are found at the IGA you'll pass 15 miles or so before you get to Slide Mountain, so stock up.

The only thing I think they do wrong is not show the place to its full wonder on the website. It is much, much better than you can see there.

In conclusion, for this family gathering, I do not think we could have found a better, and more reasonably priced get away. Our guests came from Australia, China, the west coast and Long Island and everyone was impressed with how nice the place is. You will be too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Went with my friends to the Catskills for our annual Boys Weekend. This year we decided to do rails-to-trails biking. We booked an efficiency suite at the Slide Mountain Inn.

The Inn has multiple buildings on the property. Guests staying in the main building get the B&B treatment. We were in the next building over in the apartments. We could have had breakfast for an additional $10pp. The rooms was clean. It was remodeled in the last few years, but you would have sworn that it was redone in the last few weeks. We had a king size bed, two twin beds, and a futon. The only negative about the room was that the TV didn't work. Kitchen pots and pans were getting a little old, but the dishes were in great shape. Warning --- the rooms do not have phones and your cell phone will not work anywhere within a half hour drive of the Inn. However, the room does have WiFi, so you might want to consider doing Skype.

The place is a typical Catskills resort. They have multiple places where you can setup a campfire (which we did). They have a pool, tennis, ping pong, chip and putt. There is a restaurant on the premises serving great German food and German beer.

You are right down the street from many hiking trails. Slide Mountain is only minutes away and it is the tallest peak in the Catskills. The trail is very gentle compared to many trails in the area. The Catskills Scenic Bike Trail begins in Broomeville and is 20 miles long. It is about an hour drive, but is in moderate condition. There is also a scenic railway on Rt28 about 20 minutes from the Inn.

Overall, a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilot_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
1.1 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
89 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
49 reviews
8.0 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slide Mountain Forest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slide Mountain Forest House

Property: Slide Mountain Forest House
Address: 805 Oliverea Road, Oliverea, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oliverea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on a 150 acre wooded property in the central Catskill Mtns. Our in offers B&B rooms, efficiency apts. And four or five bedroom chalet rentals. Meal plans are available and we serve dinner Fri.-Sun. And other nights by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Slide Mountain Forest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing