We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, simple, cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slide Mountain Forest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Oliverea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a weekend in early October at the Forest House. We arrived late on a Friday night, and found a paper saying "Welcome!" at the front door. In the morning, an old bell rang for breakfast.

We liked this place very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The ambience is very warm and cozy. In the living room and the dining room, the walls seem to tell stories...

The food was excellent - we had breakfast and dinner in their restaurant. The price is really great for what you get! Free wifi, a copious breakfast, a comfortable and clean room, with views of the nature.

There are some beautiful hiking trails near the Forest House. The owner gave us very good advice on where to go.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancilica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

We had wonderful stay in the Slide Mountain Forest House on July 4th weekend.

The resort is run by German family. I had a feeling that I was visiting my distant relatives – the place had personal touch to it. The rooms are basic but very clean. There is a campfire every night. The patio is charming - with a cozy coach and small tables – perfect for reading after a long hike. The main building has lively living room with hunting trophy and piano.

The place is high on price/quality, perfect for hiking weekend stay and getaway from noise and cookie-cutter hotels. If you’d like to add luxury touch – spent the money saved (on your stay in the Slide Mountain) enjoying a massage in Emerson spa (it is just several minutes drive away). I am planing to do so on my next visit to the Slide Mountain Forest House – my favorite hotel in Catskills!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nataliya_Filio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I have never really wanted to write a review of a place I stayed until this past visit.

It was the review on this site that guided me to the Forest House in the first place. I wanted a relaxing place to retreat and renew after a long year of life !

The other reviewer was right about calling it a walk back in time. Yet that is what I was looking for. I went midweek and received a nice package for the less busy time. So this is what I enjoyed at the forest house:

1) They are a family runned place that goes back many years. The owners were very aimed to please with whatever I needed and shared the history of the inn and the area.

2) when you arive you need to ring a large bell which made it a nice throw back feel to it

3) They have a large property to play and explore. They have a tennis court, shuffle board, swimming pool, and game room. They are also right on the espocus creek which runs through the catskills and have many trails on the property. They gave me a map of the area and the trails along with their level of difficulty and the miles. Even the backroads are places to hike in as well. They also have a large lawn area to play what ever you fancy. When I was in the pool a deer was a few feet away eating in the wooded area.

4) The location of the place is stunning. They are in Big Indian which is right near Belleayre Mountain and it is also in a valley. You are surrounded by lush mountains. You are also very close to many great trails in the catskill mountains.

5) They have an excellent Breakfast and they operate a restaurant which is open on the weekends in the summer which has great food.

6) the room I stayed in had a small fridge and a couch which opens into a bed along with a queen sized bed which was really great for me.

7) There is a large lake nearby to have fun for hours.

Overall, I had a great time at the place.

So there were some negatives about the place:

1) There is no cell phone coverage in the area so all you need to do is bring a laptop and you can make calls.

2) If you are looking for close by water parks you wil not find one. But you can still drive to one.

3) It is a very rustic area and many places are a drive yet that is the appeal for the nature lover which I am..

Yet overall I would highly recommend this Inn. It is a hidden Gem in the Catskills.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naturegatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

If you like (or at least don't mind) lots of stuffed animal heads staring down at you then this is the place for you. The decor is solidly rustic, but the service and price were great. It's well located, just off of route 28, near to a number of good hikes. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellowtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This family run inn has the charm of a bygone era. On our first visit the Combe family made to feel like returning regulars. Other guests have been coming annually for 4 decades. With the beautiful surroundings, friendly atmosphere and exceptional German fare you will quickly realize what keeps them coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erichas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
1.1 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
297 reviews
20.8 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
49 reviews
4.6 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slide Mountain Forest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slide Mountain Forest House

Address: 805 Oliverea Road, Oliverea, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oliverea
Price Range: £118 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on a 150 acre wooded property in the central Catskill Mtns. Our in offers B&B rooms, efficiency apts. And four or five bedroom chalet rentals. Meal plans are available and we serve dinner Fri.-Sun. And other nights by reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Slide Mountain Forest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing