We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Wedding Weekend!”
Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Wedding Weekend!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There aren't enough words for how wonderful our wedding at Full Moon was. My husband and I were skeptical of having a full wedding weekend, but once we visited Full Moon we had no doubts that that was where we wanted to get married. The only things we wanted out of a wedding were live music, good food and wine, and all our friends and family in one space having an amazing time. We got all of that and more at Full Moon!

Melanie, the event planner, is a complete lifesaver. She is poised and efficient and the way she runs the actual wedding day is flawless. The entire staff at Full Moon are lovely, kind, friendly, and efficient in everything they do. Arlene, the reservations manager, was another lifesaver. She made the reservation process simple and straightforward. She also didn't get ruffled when I kept making changes! I can't say enough good things about everyone at Full Moon. The entire planning process was simple and straightforward. We managed to plan an entire wedding weekend with no hassle or added stress!

One of our favorite things about Full Moon was the Friday night BBQ and the After Party. Since my husband is a musician, he and his musician friends were able to play on both Friday and Saturday night in the Performance Space. This was such an amazing treat to have live music at our wedding weekend! The space really lends itself to live music and the vibe is so laid back and fun.

We keep getting compliments that our wedding was the most fun wedding anyone had been to. The word people keep using to describe the weekend at Full Moon is "Magical." Full Moon is seriously one of the most magical places out there and I can't say enough good things about it. In every candid photo we got from the wedding, all you see are smiles and laughter painted across everyone faces. What more could you ask for! Do yourself a favor and add Full Moon to your list of places to consider for a wedding venue. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    23
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
80
46
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pottersville, Ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My daughter's wedding weekend was held at Full Moon on May 16, 17 & 18. The entire experience was wonderful. The site was magical, the food was truly outstanding, but most of all, all the people, from owners to staff, were beyond accommodating. They could not do enough to help us, and they made the whole weekend run flawlessly. Everyone was unfailingly cheerful and thoughtful. Every care was taken to see that we were happy and well taken care of, even to unexpectedly delivering breakfast to the bride while she was having her hair done. All our guests were impressed by the staff's genuine care, and we recommend Full Moon wholeheartedly. We cannot thank them enough!

Room Tip: Rooms are immaculate; some have shared bathrooms. All are comfortable and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was wonderful for a destination wedding. The poeple great and acomodating. Food was really superb . The setting was beautiful and made for great pictures but the guest rooms really need some updating of fixtures and amenities.

Room Tip: The people were lovely and very accomodating. The wedding space was also very nice. However, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently got married at the Full Moon Resort and it was the best day of our lives. Everyone at Full Moon was extremely helpful and organized, especially Melanie our wedding event coordinator. We did not worry about anything the day of, Melanie was amazing and the rest of the staff was also very helpful and friendly. All of our guests mentioned how wonderful Full moon was and they were happy to get out of the city for the weekend to such a magical place. Chef Adam is extremely nice and his food is incredible. Our guests loved the food, and our Wedding cake was gorgeous! We are overjoyed with our choice of the Full Moon Resort for our Wedding, we will never forget our perfect day!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quaint and charming. There is no cell service, but there is wifi. We stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently stayed at Full Moon Resort for a wedding! I was there for 3 days and it exceeded my expectations!! The grounds, staff, accommodations and food were amazing! I stayed in the main house and had to share a bath, but it was so private it felt like being in my bathroom at home!! The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean!! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful making sure every guest was well taken care of!!! I will definitely be staying there again and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to that area!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jld1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Customer service from warm, helpful staff was excellent.
Food was fantastic, better than any wedding food I have had.
All my wedding guests were very satisfied and loved the place, there was lots of hiking and relaxing to do.
My only criticism is that during the planning process, they want to charge extra fees for little things, however they were open to negotiation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I got married in November of 2013 at Full Moon and couldn't be happier. The staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant to deal with, they really go above and beyond to make sure the entire weekend is as good as it possibly can be. Our guests had nothing but great things to say about the atmosphere and staff as well. We also used vendors from the Full Moon suggested lists and yet again we were blown away by the recommended people. Officiant: Naomi Faye, DJ: Dave from JTD productions, Richard from Wildflowers floral store in Margaretsville, and Proline Productions Photography. The wedding planner Leigh Anne from Full Moon was awesome and our bartender Chris were some of the most hardworking and dedicated people we could have asked for. The food was absolutely perfect as well.

With that being said, this place is great for a rustic and socially binding event. The biggest complaints seem to be from people who can't let their cell phone go for more than a few hours and people who expect luxurious accommodations. If you are looking for a place to get everyone together without the constant chirp of texts and calls then be prepared to be blown away.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
16.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
2.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
84 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
47 reviews
5.8 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Property: Full Moon Resort
Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing