We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Wedding”
Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the first moment I laid eyes on Full Moon Resort, I fell in love. It's beautiful surroundings are enough to give you butterflies. Every where you turn is a beautiful sight to see. We had our dream wedding at Full Moon Resort and it was the most magical wedding we could have ever imagined. Our guests still can't stop saying that it was the best wedding they have ever been to. The food was great, the people are friendly and extremely professional. Our Event Manager, Melanie, was an absolute pleasure to work with through out wedding planning. She knows everything there is about wedding planning and she gets the job done. She is always professional and never once did she get sick of me asking a million questions. She was always there for me no matter what I needed done, right down to the tough decision on what chairs to have for our guests! Ha! I would highly recommend Full Moon Resort as your wedding venue. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank spltilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The wedding invitation had “the feel” of a mystery bus ride: Full Moon Resort, deep in the Adirondacks, two and a half hour drive from New York City and no cell phone service!
It was a gorgeous early summer day, blue skies, white billowy clouds when the 60 or so guests gathered on the Lower Field, one of a half-dozen sites within the 100 acre compound dedicated to unique and unusual wedding programs. A floral bower set up within earshot of a babbling brook focused our attention on the bridal couple. Their completely original vows, augmented by readings and recitations by the Maid of Honor, Best Man and others in the party, made for a pleasing and touching ceremony.
The Reception, which followed, was held on The Front Lawn, consisting of a well-stocked bar and a cheese and crudite table, supplemented by hot mimosas (with spicy sauce) and spanakopita offered by attentive and indefatigable servers. Dinner (beef or chicken) followed in The Barn where a DJ provided easy listening music during the meal and more danceable tunes once the main course had been cleared.
The planned program ended with An After Party that began at 11 P.M. and ran though 2:30 A.M, with live music compliments of the groom’s own musical ensemble. (We elders passed on the After Party.)
The guests, some from a far away as Arkansas, were quartered in a variety of accommodations spread across the extensive facility. Our king-size bed-room (about a quarter of a mile from the Action) shared a large common room (complete with giant flat screen TV) with two other doubles, all with en suite bathrooms. Other guests had more rustic accommodations, with shared facilities and no television. There were no telephones in any of the rooms either!
With all the varied and separated sites, the mobility-challenged guests had a fleet of chauffeured golf carts at their disposal.
The next morning (Monday) we enjoyed a commodious buffet breakfast before departing for home. GREAT VENUE + GREAT WEDDING = GREAT MEMORIES

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kallmancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Already my second time at Full Moon, this is a very special place in the midst of breathtaking natural surroundings that I can recommend to anyone in any setting. Every single person who works there is friendly, considerate, professional, generous, and clearly enjoying making the guests feel welcome and comfortable. I attended Karl Bergers The Creative Music Studio (aka Music Masters Camp), and find Full Moon ideal to support getting to a deeper level of creative work. The rates during the week are very reasonably, Full Moon is a model for an ecological setting, the food is unbelievable, the whole atmosphere is amazing.

Room Tip: I was in the main house and all the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

There aren't enough words for how wonderful our wedding at Full Moon was. My husband and I were skeptical of having a full wedding weekend, but once we visited Full Moon we had no doubts that that was where we wanted to get married. The only things we wanted out of a wedding were live music, good food and wine, and all our friends and family in one space having an amazing time. We got all of that and more at Full Moon!

Melanie, the event planner, is a complete lifesaver. She is poised and efficient and the way she runs the actual wedding day is flawless. The entire staff at Full Moon are lovely, kind, friendly, and efficient in everything they do. Arlene, the reservations manager, was another lifesaver. She made the reservation process simple and straightforward. She also didn't get ruffled when I kept making changes! I can't say enough good things about everyone at Full Moon. The entire planning process was simple and straightforward. We managed to plan an entire wedding weekend with no hassle or added stress!

One of our favorite things about Full Moon was the Friday night BBQ and the After Party. Since my husband is a musician, he and his musician friends were able to play on both Friday and Saturday night in the Performance Space. This was such an amazing treat to have live music at our wedding weekend! The space really lends itself to live music and the vibe is so laid back and fun.

We keep getting compliments that our wedding was the most fun wedding anyone had been to. The word people keep using to describe the weekend at Full Moon is "Magical." Full Moon is seriously one of the most magical places out there and I can't say enough good things about it. In every candid photo we got from the wedding, all you see are smiles and laughter painted across everyone faces. What more could you ask for! Do yourself a favor and add Full Moon to your list of places to consider for a wedding venue. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaf555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My daughter's wedding weekend was held at Full Moon on May 16, 17 & 18. The entire experience was wonderful. The site was magical, the food was truly outstanding, but most of all, all the people, from owners to staff, were beyond accommodating. They could not do enough to help us, and they made the whole weekend run flawlessly. Everyone was unfailingly cheerful and thoughtful. Every care was taken to see that we were happy and well taken care of, even to unexpectedly delivering breakfast to the bride while she was having her hair done. All our guests were impressed by the staff's genuine care, and we recommend Full Moon wholeheartedly. We cannot thank them enough!

Room Tip: Rooms are immaculate; some have shared bathrooms. All are comfortable and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was wonderful for a destination wedding. The poeple great and acomodating. Food was really superb . The setting was beautiful and made for great pictures but the guest rooms really need some updating of fixtures and amenities.

Room Tip: The people were lovely and very accomodating. The wedding space was also very nice. However, the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovepaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently got married at the Full Moon Resort and it was the best day of our lives. Everyone at Full Moon was extremely helpful and organized, especially Melanie our wedding event coordinator. We did not worry about anything the day of, Melanie was amazing and the rest of the staff was also very helpful and friendly. All of our guests mentioned how wonderful Full moon was and they were happy to get out of the city for the weekend to such a magical place. Chef Adam is extremely nice and his food is incredible. Our guests loved the food, and our Wedding cake was gorgeous! We are overjoyed with our choice of the Full Moon Resort for our Wedding, we will never forget our perfect day!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quaint and charming. There is no cell service, but there is wifi. We stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
21.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range: £67 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing