We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Elegance, with a focus on Rustic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Full Moon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oliverea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Full Moon Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rustic Elegance, with a focus on Rustic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

1. A long way off the beaten path. Expect about an hour and fifteen minutes from Kingston, NY

2. We stayed at the Resort as part of a wedding party. I would describe the resort as more of a compound. There is a main building which includes the "front desk" and a cafe. The outbuildings comprise the rooms, which are more like individual bed and breakfast type buildings.

3. Our room was adequate, nothing fancy. A bit musty (we stayed early in the season, so I imagine this is unavoidable)

4. The location was fantastic for a wedding, very picturesque. (although if the weather was bad, it would have been a disaster with things so spread out)

5. There is no cell service at this location. Which I found to be a good thing, but many find that unacceptable.

6. The food was very good (the wedding food in particular). The "cafe" food was also decent, and had a good variety.

7. The biggest downside to our stay was the price. For the accomadations, $200+ a night is way to much. It must be the proximity to New York City, because if it wasn't for the wedding, we would have never stayed at this location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKOddjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FullMoonCentral, Owner at Full Moon Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
The management at Full Moon always appreciates feedback as it helps us improve and better serve the needs of our clientele.

Full Moon Resort is located approximately 30 miles from Kingston NY and about 2.5hrs from Mid-Town Manhattan. Actual travel time from Kingston is about 45 minutes.

Accommodations are simple bed and breakfast style. For weddings, the bride and groom have control over the design and location of each function. We always specify back up locations in case of inclement weather. When looking at the price of a weekend stay, it is important to consider that three meals (breakfast, lunch and breakfast) are included in the “Guest Package”. Room rates range from $75-$130 per night. Though it is true there is no cell service, we do offer WiFi throughout the facility.

Full Moon is specifically designed to serve the needs of groups, weddings, music events, and other types of gatherings. General hotel business is a small fraction of our business and recommended only for those who are seeking a simple clean accommodation in a pristine natural environment.

Thank you Trip Advisor for providing this valuable and informative forum.
Henry Stout
Owner, Full Moon Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    23
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
78
44
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Our newly formed theater company had our very first five day workshop retreat at Full Moon and it was on every level the most incredible experience thanks to the proprietor, Henry, his staff, the gorgeous grounds, amazing food and their general kindness, generosity and offering to meet all our customized needs and special requests.
The work that we did at Full Moon was the opening steps for a deeper commitment that we are making to each other and to this theater company. Full Moon was the perfect place for us to do this. Yes, we we worked but we also played, using just about every single building and exhausting every amenity there: from the barn to the playhouse, pool, stream, campfires---Ah, those late-night campfires under a blanket of black sky scattered with stars, are a must! We will return to Full Moon every year and make this a part of our extended creative home that stretches from NYC to Big Indian.
Thank you, Merci, and Gracias in a thousand different languages.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibijags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Full Moon Resort is a wonderful place for a peaceful getaway or for an event or a retreat. On hundred acres in the gorgeous Catskill Mountains await your arrival. I recently stayed there as part of a theatre group and found the service and food to be fantastic. The kitchen and the wonderful chefs were very accommodating to those of us with special diets, and the food was always top notch. The cabins and cottages are quaint and comfortable, and the peace and quiet made getting a good night's sleep very easy. There is no cell phone service and wi-fi is sporadic at times, but if you are looking to get away from it all, this place is the best. The owner, Henry, is the greatest guy ever. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeatletteFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Full Moon Resort is a fabulous oasis with top notch staff! Recently a group of us form NY scouted locations for our theatre company's retreat and really lucked out with Full Moon. They were able to accommodate our group of 15 with comfortable lodging and fantastic food! Our group had special requests when it came to mealtime and were always taken care of. The grounds are breathtaking - the barn, the river, firepit, open fields, playhouse, pool and much more! I know this resort hosts a lot of weddings and I can see why - the views are amazing. In my opinion there are many special trips and holidays that can be planned at Full Moon ranging from personal time away and romantic getaways to larger groups of outdoor enthusiasts, family reunions and artistic gatherings. Check them out the next chance you get!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I recently went on a retreat to Full Moon with fifteen people and it was an amazing experience. The staff at Full Moon, starting with Henry who oversees everything was incredibly welcoming, generous and simply did anything and everything to make our stay a terrific one. i dealt with Henry leading up to the retreat and he was incredibly patient and open to our concerns and ready and willing to make adjustments that would make our time at Full Moon exactly how we wanted. THE FOOD IS TERRIFIC. An insane value and just terrific. We had a few vegans and their plates of food always looked just as good as the regular meals. The property is gorgeous and just a perfect place to create memories of any kind. I know that we will be returning to Full Moon at this time next year.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I visited Full Moon Resort from New York City this June with my theatre company for a group retreat. As a group we utilized every part of the grounds exploring the barn, the fire pit, the playhouse, the rolling hills, the stream, the beautiful weeping willow trees... the list goes on. This place was absolutely perfect. A perfect spot for a couple or a group to go and get away. The staff is super cool, clean and on top of all your needs. Henry was hands-on with us and really made our stay exceptional. We are so grateful. We stayed in the moonlight cottage with a wrap around porch, was awesome!! AND THE FOOD WAS INCREDIBLEEEEE!!! KUDOS! AND THANKS A BUNCH FULL MOON! Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieladelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We had our wedding party at Full Moon last summer, and it was really perfect. We had about 100 people, and we wanted to make sure everyone could enjoy themselves as thoroughly as they wanted and not have to worry about driving home. At Full Moon, everyone was on the same grounds, and there was a great variety of venues where we could have multiple events with no feeling of deja vu. It's a pretty laid-back place in some regards -- an artsy-hippie vibe -- and if you want plush, you'd probably do better going somewhere else. If you do, however, you will probably pay at least 3 times as much, and you will lose out on one of the most beautiful settings around. Short of going to the Mohonk Mountain House, you will also probably just have to do it in a different region -- right along the Hudson, the Berkshires, etc. The Catskills are just funky. We enjoy that, and our guest all told us they did too.

A chronology of how things went.

Planning: Full Moon has an event planner who works with you on the details. When we were there, it was a woman named Melanie, who's extremely mellow, and extremely organized. We wanted to have a pretty simple event, and hadn't thought about every last detail, which she helped us do. The weekend of the event itself went incredibly smoothly -- she and her staff just got everything done without a lot of input from us. It was amazing -- we just had fun. The food planning was fun, too. They invite you up for a tasting a couple of months before the event, and serve you the dishes that you've indicated you'll want. We stayed in a nearby hotel and had a nice weekend getaway out of it.

Friday night: Awesome BBQ in the barn and the nearby yard. The food was delicious, and we could have eaten inside if it had rained. Happily, it didn't. Then we went to the fire circle and lit the bonfire that they'd set up for us. At this point, we were pretty much on our own -- and it was great. There are no neighbors within earshot who aren't at the party, so we stayed up until 3 having a great time (until my husband's aunt, understandably, wanted to go to bed).

Saturday during the day: we didn't plan a lot of activities. We had a croquet set, some frisbees, and a wiffle ball and bat lying around, and people played a bit, swam in the pool a bit (it was cold, though), and mostly lazed around between a tasty breakfast and lunch. In the afternoon two different groups went out for hikes -- one on an ambitious 6-mile climb, one on a more laid-back 3-mile one. It was great to have both options, and it worked out nicely.

Saturday evening: The rain came. The cocktail hour was in the porch and lobby of the main hotel rather than on the lawn -- we'd sort have preferred the lawn, but it was absolutely fine inside. We hired a jazz trio (FM was great about helping them set up) and it was thoroughly pleasant. THen we all ran through the (by then pouring) rain to the tent for dinner. I'd been kind of iffy on tents -- kind of assumed they'd be musty/impersonal -- but with the right lighting and table arrangement it turned out great. And the lightning was really exciting! The food was good -- not as good as the BBQ the night before, and definitely not as good as when they'd made it for just the 2 of us during the tasting (obviously cooking for 2 is a lot easier than cooking for 100) but everyone seemed happy. Then we went over to this roadhouse-like bar on the grounds for more music and play, and once again, it was great to be in a place with no neighbors to bother. We had to close up there around 2am, but there's also a game room with a pool table and room for a pretty large party -- much larger than our remaining #s at the end of the night.

Sunday AM -- good brunch.

The rooms aren't fancy, though some of them are very nice in a spartan kind of way. Others are a little gloomy. Some of our friends are extremely mellow about those things, others not so much -- but the ones who worried us most assured us that they so pleased with the overall vibe of the weekend that they weren't worried about it not resembling the 4 Seasons. It's not really about being in your room, though. This is a venue that should be judged by the overall experience. And as the organizer of the event, you can help things along by making sure that the people who are going to freak out if they have to share a bathroom have one of the private baths. There's enough range of rooms that you can make sure some have them -- and if you have broke grad-student friends, as we do, the cheaper rooms where you have to share a bathroom can come in extremely handy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne11231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oliverea
2.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
21.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alpine Inn
The Alpine Inn
#2 of 2 in Oliverea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Resort

Property: Full Moon Resort
Address: Valley View Road, Oliverea, NY 12410
Region: United States > New York > Oliverea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliverea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Moon is a year-round mountain resort located in the heart of the "Forever Wild" Catskill Forest Preserve in upstate New York. Dedicated to the celebration of nature, music and the arts, this one hundred-acre wonderland of mountains, fields, and streams is a world of its own.An alternative to more traditional country inns and resorts, Full Moon Resort offers weekend-long destination country weddings, cutting-edge music festivals, exceptional week long music camps, educational, recreational and artistic workshops, and art exhibits all part of its magical landscape. This enchantingly unique facility offers a versatile and accommodating environment, well suited for group gatherings of all types.With over ten years of exceptional service, Full Moon Resort has garnered a reputation as a premier catering facility in the Catskill Mountains region for functions of all types. The menus offer a full range of possibilities – hot buffet breakfasts and lunches in the artistically rustic Cafe… down-home country barbecues by the creek…tantalizing hors d’oeuvres under the maple trees on the lawns…and formal gourmet dinners in the Tent Pavilion. Lovingly prepared, fresh, natural cuisine (often organic) served by a friendly, professional staff is the trademark of Full Moon Catering. The company offers full service catering, planning and management for off-premises events as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Oliverea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing