We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spare pair of grandparents in the Adirondaks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alpine Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alpine Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Olmstedville B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A spare pair of grandparents in the Adirondaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Spent the better part of a week here with my three kids and had a wonderful stay. The hosts are very hospitable, helpful, and kid-friendly. Breakfast is outstanding. While Olmsteadville is a tiny town, it is well-located for a wide variety of outdoor activities. Some thoughts on the one 'poor' review from January: It is true that the rooms are small and somewhat rustic, but the common areas are spacious and comfortable. The comment about restaurants is not really fair. There are dozens of restaurants within 8 to 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottnKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
DunmorePA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I travel by motorcycle so for us the location of this lovely B & B was conveniently located among some really beautiful riding roads! Barry and Peggy were such welcoming people and their place was so warm and cozy. The breakfasts each morning were not only abundant but delicious and a great way to start our day! After riding all day it was so nice to sit out on their beautiful wrap around porch...this B & B couldn't be more inviting!! We so enjoyed our stay...great people...the cutest dogs...great riding ...hope to go back for a fall trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseDunmorePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My family and I enjoyed the extensive and carefully prepared breakfast. Our hosts were warm, friendly, and created a welcoming, family-like atmosphere. This B&B has a very comfortable and home-like feel. IT was very clean and well kept. As one reviewer noted, the rooms are small, but this is an older house (1850's I think) with lots of charm and character and I didn't expect the rooms to be larger--there is a large common area with plenty of room. Furthermore, I felt it was a great value for the money. I would recommend Alpine Homestead, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheerfulTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Having been familiar with the Gore Mt. area and looking forward to a weekend of skiing, we were lucky enough to have stumbled upon the Alpine Homestead. After a long journey we (a family of five) were greeted with an offering of cookies and hot chocolate by the friendly Mr. and Mrs. Mix. The entire house was immaculate and the individual rooms were warm and cozy.
Our 4 course breakfast was served to us at the time of our choosing, in a beautiful dining room on fine china, and in accordance to dietary needs. Mrs. Mix has a talent for creating a healthy and delicious breakfast that we hope many more guests will come to enjoy. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay and were very excited to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenVTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our hosts were very hospitable and the place was impecably clean. The rooms on the other hand were much smaller than the pictures would have you believe. In fact they were so small I didn't have enough space to put my luggage away and still walk around the bed. They also keep the heat down several degrees too low for comfort unless you're under the covers. Getting out of bed is not a pleasant experience.

As far as the location goes its perfect if you like seclution. If on the other hand you want a restasurant or a little window shopping within say an hours drive I suggest you stay elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adbw0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Our first trip to New York: We stayed four nights at this lovely b & b to enjoy some High Peaks hiking. Peggy and Barry made our stay a warm and wonderful time. Breakfasts were amazing and huge. All baked goods were homemade and of the highest quality. Each of our four breakfasts was different and each was truly excellent.

After one hike, we came back soaking wet as it had rained heavily on us for our last mile. We asked for directions to a near laundromat, but were offered the use of their washer and dryer instead.

Our hosts were unfailingly helpful in providing directions and suggestions for dining options. They also included us in a large family gathering one evening - an unexpected pleasure.

Do note that the accomodations are up a steep staircase - so be prepared to carry up your luggage. Olmstedville is within 45 minutes of the High Peak trails - a lovely drive and part of the enjoyment.

We would rate this b & b as one of the best we have stayed in!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B-and-B-Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Lodging options are scarce for hikers on the south side of the Adirondack High Peaks - add this to your short list! The Mix family offers their beautiful B&B, only 30 minutes from the important Tahawus trailheads. Comfy beds, wide verandahs overlooking lawns & gardens, generous living rooms w/ big screen TV. Rooms on the modest side, but you don't want to be inside anyway. Lavish custom breakfast at the time you request. Ask about a trail lunch. Fair warning: Olmsteadville dinner options somewhat limited, but more variety available at Pottersville and Schroon (SKROON) Lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nassau78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olmstedville
6.8 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
10.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Fern Lodge
The Fern Lodge
#1 of 8 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
9.7 mi away
Friends Lake Inn
Friends Lake Inn
#2 of 8 in Chestertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Homestead

Property: The Alpine Homestead
Address: 1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Olmstedville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olmstedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alpine Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Homestead Bed & Breakfast sits in the quaint little Irish village of Olmstedville, in the town of Minerva, New York. Our location in the Adirondack Park is ideal for Fall and Winter sports and activities as well as Spring and Summer outdoor fun. Hiking, skiing, boating, fishing can all happen just minutes from our back door. Looking for relaxation and peacefulness, we will be able to direct you to many areas that will offer you just that.Our 1850's home was renovated by us in 2006. Antique furnishings are throughout our home, yet it is warm and welcoming and very relaxing. All our four guest rooms have private baths that are located off the upstairs hallway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Alpine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing