We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alpine Homestead
Ranked #1 of 1 Olmstedville B&B and Inns
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is the best bed and breakfast. There are so many nice details - a beautiful location, amazing breakfast, comfortable beds, cozy rooms, modern bathrooms. The current owners renovated the house and created a perfect mixture between modern amenities while preserving the 19th century flair of the house.

Room Tip: There are plenty of great restaurants in the area. It is short drive to the lake or also to Gore Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorosjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Peg and Barry in mid Dec while we had some real estate business in the area. The B&B is large and warm and inviting. The keepers have beautifully restored the large farm house and made it an extremely cozy place to stay. The living room is very well appointed and we were invited to enjoy some freshly baked cookies while catching up with home via wifi and watch some footbal on the large flat screen TV. Our room and bath were richly appointed and very comfortable and Peggy's mutil-course breakfast was incredible. It's the kind of place that makes you find a reason to return. We loved it and our guests who visit us upstate will be assured of a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSheeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hosts at this B&B are very friendly and helpful. They were willing to spend as long as we needed to tell us about the options for food and entertainment in the area and were very knowledgable.

It is immaculately clean. Probably the cleanest we have ever stayed at.

They provided snacks in the evening and a great breakfast in the morning.

Their wi-fi had a strong signal and fast date transfer. We were able to watch Netflix in our iPad with no problems, which surprised us considering their remote location.

We would recommend this place highly to anyone who likes B&Bs.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center, which is typical for B&Bs. The Wheelwright room's bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaninSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for a night for a wedding. Took a cab from the B&B to the ceremony and told the cab company we would need a ride back later in the evening. Around 11 we called the cab company and they told us it would be a 2 hour wait. The owner, Barry, came and personally picked us up from the wedding and drove us back to the B&B.
Breakfast the next day was fantastic
I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew72491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at The Alpine Homestead, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Andrew,

Thank you for your review! Our goal is to help our guests in any way we can. It was our pleasure to have you and Sarah stay with us while attending a friend's wedding in the Adirondacks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushville NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Had a great overnite at this B&B. Owners were so friendly I made an immediate connection with them. Breakfast was out of this world and they made special accommodations for my husbands
restrictions and he still had lots to eat. But best of all was how clean the home was. Not a bit of dust or dirt anywhere. No musty smells, sheets and blankets smelled fresh and clean and bed was very comfortable. I wanted to stay longer. Fresh flowers on the dinning room table were fresh from the garden and beautiful.

Room Tip: I think we had the only queen bed, but they had other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCF9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the phenomenal breakfasts to the cookies and cake after skiing we truly enjoyed our stay with Peggy and Barry. They make sure you feel right at home and you are comfortable. I loved the wood burning stove in the evenings which made the place toasty warm. The dogs are great as well. A great place for a Gore ski weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlierx32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the alpine homestead last weekend. The house is beautiful and I especially liked how they decorated the outside with little fancy tables and rocking chairs etc. The surrounding is very peaceful and calm. It is about half an hour drive from the lake beach which is not too bad. The hosts were very warm and friendly and offered great breakfast every morning we stayed there. I agree with other reviews that the breakfast is multi course and very delicious. I would recommend this B&B for a quick retreat on the lake!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHT37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olmstedville
5.9 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.4 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tumble Inn
Tumble Inn
#4 of 7 in Schroon Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Homestead

Property: The Alpine Homestead
Address: 1314 County Route 29, Olmstedville, NY 12857-1819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Olmstedville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Olmstedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alpine Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Homestead Bed & Breakfast sits in the quaint little Irish village of Olmstedville, in the town of Minerva, New York. Our location in the Adirondack Park is ideal for Fall and Winter sports and activities as well as Spring and Summer outdoor fun. Hiking, skiing, boating, fishing can all happen just minutes from our back door. Looking for relaxation and peacefulness, we will be able to direct you to many areas that will offer you just that.Our 1850's home was renovated by us in 2006. Antique furnishings are throughout our home, yet it is warm and welcoming and very relaxing. All our four guest rooms have private baths that are located off the upstairs hallway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alpine Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing