We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel... but a Terrible Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sherwood Dreams Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bogazkent
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel... but a Terrible Manager”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

To the Sherwood Dreams Resorts management and staff, except the manager of the reception Mr. Yigit.

We would like to say so many thanks for a wonderful stay from the 10th of February to the 18th of February 2012. We are a family of 5 persons from Denmark. We arrived at the hotel Friday the 10th of February at around 1 PM, and were housed in 2 beautiful, large, clean, neat and very nice rooms. We were told that there was lunch time in the main restaurant, so we went immediately down to the beautiful large restaurant which served a variety of dishes. It was a pleasure. The food was fresh and good, without being ostentatious. We have experienced buffets which were significantly bigger and better, but overall the food was good. The food was almost the same every day, with very small changes. Lunch consisted roughly of the same things you got for dinner. But it's good to recycle leftovers instead of throwing nice and good food.

We had bought our hotel stay through a German travel agency "Urlaubstours" for a cheap price. We bought 2 "deals / vouchers" to 2 persons each, total 4 persons for one week from the 11th of February to the 18th of February 2012. We asked the travel agency if we could take a fifth person, and was told that we should contact the hotel about that matter. We contacted the hotel, told them about our bought "deals / vouchers" and asked them if we could take an extra person (our adult daughter) with us. We told them that we had paid for our "deals / vouchers," and they gave us a price for the extra person in the same rooms equal to 75% of the price we had paid per person.

When we had to buy plane tickets, we discovered that we could save a lot of money by traveling the day before. Therefore we bought an extra day for the whole family (5 people) via Otel dot com. The price for the extra day / night was a little bit more expensive than the price that we had given each day, but the difference was not very high, approximately 15%.

When we checked into the hotel, the first day was already paid to the Otel dot com. The day after I approached the front desk to pay the amount that we, several months earlier had agreed with the hotel about. We fortunately had a copy of an email from the hotel, which confirmed that we might as well take an extra person, and the agreed price.

Reception staff said they just had to speak to their manager before we could pay, and the day after we paid the agreed amount.

The day after, while the family sat in the lobby and played a game, two people approached us and asked if they could speak with me immediately about the extra person we had paid for. One of these two people was pretty nice, but the other, who represented himself as "the manager" Mr. Yigit Cinaroglu was pretty uncomfortable, or almost hostile.

Mr. Yigit asked me if I thought that the price we had agreed with the hotel was a fair price, and said to me that the correct price was almost 4 times larger, and if we did not pay the correct price, the lady who had agreed the price would pay the difference of her own pocket.

When I said to Mr. Yigit that the person had sent mail to 2 overall, he said to me that one of the CC recipients was himself. I told Mr. Yigit that he was the responsible for the agreement, because he didn’t act when he got a copy of the e-mail, but he refused obstinately, that it was his responsibility. Before that Mr. Yigit threatened me, that he would block our rooms, and throw us out of the hotel, although I have repeatedly made him aware that it first and foremost was his responsibility and that he could neither block our rooms nor throw us out. After a long and unpleasant discussion Mr. Yigit realized that he could neither block our rooms nor throw us out of the hotel. Mr. Yigit was almost a joke in front of the other manager who the whole time was present during the long discussion. Mr. Yigit was sweating like a dog that has come in an unequal battle, and commanded in a less nice way the nice manager to give him some napkins so he could wipe his sweat off. I demanded to speak with Mr. Yigit's boss, so I could complain about Mr. Yigit's behavior, and Mr. Yigit promised that he would arrange a meeting or a conversation with the "general manager" so I could complain about him, but he did not. Therefore, I am sending a copy of this review to the General Manager as a complaint about Mr. Yigit's behavior towards me and my family.

The other person whose name I unfortunately can’t remember was very nice - just like everyone else at the hotel. He complained many times the way we were treated, but I could clearly see that he could not do otherwise. He saw at least very sad.

I promised that I would never consider returning to the hotel, but I am willing to reconsider my decision, because everyone else at the hotel was very sweet and nice people. One arrogant man should not be allowed to ruin everything for an entire hotel / resort.

Subsequently, I spoke with the person "Necmiye Atli," which has sent us the mail, in which the price has been approved and made her promise me that she would write to me if she was forced to pay anything from her own pocket. I will under no circumstance accept that she pays anything from her own pocket. If there is anyone who has to pay some of own pocket, then it must be Mr. Yigit, who received the mail, but maybe had no time or interest to read it.

The hotel is very nice, beautiful and new, and it is located in an area where a lot of other new hotels are being built, and there is not much to experience near the hotel. If you rent a car, it's a perfect place to stay. One can easily drive to many attractions, not very far away from the hotel. Among other things we highly recommend are Aspendos, where you can experience the best-preserved Roman amphitheater, the waterfall at Kursulu, the waterfall at Manavgat, the ancient city of Side and many other attractions.

The hotel's Spa staff is great, they are nice to talk to, and with a little negotiating you can get a great massage for a very reasonable price. Turkish Hammam is free if you can do it for yourself or together with some friends or family members, but you need to remember to take some shampoo with you. You can also buy a Hammam at a reasonable price. The manager of the Spa Yener Eser is a very nice and pleasant man.

The lovely entertainment and entertainment team is perfect, the staff was very friendly, enthusiastic and very, very entertaining. They involve the guests in almost all their entertainment so you can feel yourself as a part of the team and everyone was very sincere. All guests loved enjoying the entertainment and they laughed loudly and happily participated in the various activities. After one week stay, we felt as if we had known them for a very long time and felt a great loss, because we had to leave them. We could see the tear vessels in their eyes as the young team followed us close the last few hours of our stay. They ate with us and hugged us as if we were their family members. A huge salute to every one of the entertainment team, Olga, Ali, DJ-Murat, Ônder and the sweet Katya. You must all have great and sincere thanks from us all 5. We will miss you and remember you for a very long time. We have never experienced any entertainment team who were just as good as you, no matter how professionally it had been. You deserve many stars. So many heartfelt thanks to you all.

Finally, we would highly recommend the goldsmith / jeweler at the hotel Mr. Erkan Seno, a polite and honest gentleman, who you safely can rely on.

Room Tip: Get a large room with sea view at higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BJOLAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    238
    119
    58
    58
See reviews for
619
180
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Very popular with Germans, this is a well maintained hotel with excellent, friendly staff. With a well equipped fitness suite, indoor and outdoor pools(neither are heated), Turkish bath, spa and suana there's stuff to keep you busy which is just aswell because the minute you step outside of the hotel grounds there's nothing to see or do. The obvious excursions are available with the nearest town a short but expensive taxi ride away. The preferred currency is the Euro and the price of all goods is significantly higher than what you'd expect to pay up the coast in places like Marmaris. The all inclusive package is exactly what it said in the brochure and although the food is very similar each day it is edible and there's enough choice to suit all tastes. The drinks flow freely and the local wine and spirits are good enough. The entertainment staff try their hardest to keep you occupied during the day offering a daily program of sport and entertainment. In the evening the same staff perform a variety of shows which is good lighthearted entertainment, delivered in German, French and English. In summary,excellent hotel with tremendous staff stuck in the wrong location for us. Ideal if you have aspirations to leave the confines of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shughie10965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here in September 2011. The first week was pleasant, quiet and relaxing. The second week became packed with children with nowhere to escape them. We expected children but we did not expect to be overrun with them. They were allowed everywhere. So, if you have kids you will love it here, it is made for them. But if you havent any then i would advise you to go to the hotel opposite called Sensimar, beautiful hotel, adults only. The hotel is situated in quite an isolated area, we got the bus to Sereek, then another bus to Antalya for the day. There were no local shops that we could find to go for a stroll. The food was good and the staff were friendly, bars were good and one (in reception) is open 24/7. Our balcony was small and boxed in so when you sat down there was no view.
The entertainment was good, finished about 10.30 but the late disco went on till early hours. music sounded great, and it was well soundproofed so did not affect us. Definitely need beach shoes as beach was very stoney. Shades on the beach were crammed together, not ideal for peace and quiet. Daily activities were well organised and fun.
We would not stay at this hotel again but, having said that, we had a lovely holiday and all in all it was good value for money. Not what we would call a 5 star but clean, well kept and a very friendly resort.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (5th) and some others have boxed in balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caeveleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of October. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and extremely clean. We were made to feel welcome and offered a drink as soon as we arrived. The room was absolutely gorgeous and very big! The bathroom is open plan but its lovely & I didnt find this to be an issue, the shower in the room was absolutely fantastic & so powerful. Our mini bar was not stocked up every day as it should have been but not really an issue. The room was kept so clean & the housekeeping staff do a marvellous job. The pool area was absolutely beautiful but the pool was absolutely freezing, it was so cold that we didnt use it. The hotel is right on the beach though and the sea is much warmer. The entertainment was good & they have various actvities throughout the day. The food was average and we became quite tiresome of eating the same thing every day. The reception staff were not very pleasant or helpful and you stood at reception / guest relations for quite a while before anyone acknowledged you, even when they were sat right in front of you playing on their mobile phones. The spa area was fantastic and the lady with the long blonde hair is so helpful, polite and friendly and a credit to the hotel. The hotel is very isolated with not much around, we got a taxi to the nearest town of Belek which was very nice but cost around 35 euros. The majority of the people here are German or Russian and the staff presume you are German & speak to you in German and then look at you like your an ailen when you speak English. Overall, it was a beautiful hotel and kept extremely clean but staff are not the friendliest (with the exception of the spa & entertainment team) and hotel was far too isolated for us. I would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CSKL-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stayed at the sherwood dreams for a week at the beginning of September with my boyfriend! We were impressed right from the start. We were greeted warmly and checked in within a couple of minutes. When we were taken to our room the view was outstanding. We looked right over the pool and the sea, lovely at sunset. The room was plenty big enough for the two of us with a big double bed and flat screen tv. We really liked the open plan, although not to everyone's taste but it worked well for us.
The rooms were cleaned everyday, with fresh towels and mini bar restocked :)
The restaurant was big and the food was always delicious. There was always something new to eat. The waiters were brilliant (remembering every night what we wanted to drink).
The pool area was lovely and clean and we always managed to get a sun lounger around it, we really enjoyed the waterslides to! :)
Eating throughout the day was easy (as there is always something on the go) from fruit around the pool to ice cream and doughnuts in the afternoon. The pool bar restaurant was also great for lunch if u didn't fancy going into the main restaurant. It served burgers and kebabs.
The cocktails were to die for (especially the mojitos).
The only thing that we could complain about and even then only half-heatedly would be the entertainment which was centred around the Germans. Although they did try their best to speak English :)
The market at the end of the road on a Wednesday was worth a visit too :)

All round a fantastic hotel and holiday

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Debbieannetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

we had a great time in september ,the staff were very friendly although their english was limited, they catered to our every need. the food we found was good with a good selection,the room very comfortable and clean ,fresh towels every day .the waiters were excellent and very attentive, the only fault we found was the beach,it had a lot of pebbles and course sand we recomend you take beach shoes .although this did not spoil our holiday.we were a party of 7 of various ages and we all agree we had a fab time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August 2011. Overall we had a lovely holiday although we did find that it was a bit isolated so did not really go off site other than to walk to the local shops about a 15 min walk away.

Unfortunately we had a health issue where our daughter was taken to hospital by ambulance shortly after we arrived. Although the reception staff did all they could to help, we found that communication especially with the doctor was a problem, we also felt very alone as no one from the hotel or Thomas Cook accompanied us to the hospital.

Saban the customer relations advisor was fantastic and often went "The Extra Mile" to make sure we were happy. We found all the staff to be very friendly although most of them spoke better German than they did English, we felt the hotel was geared up mainly for Germans and the English were very much in the minority although this did not really bother us it may some people.

The rooms were fine, a suitable size to accomodate four people (two adults and two children 8 and 11) although they were not massive. The bathroom is open plan and although we were comfortable with this it may be a consideration for other families.

The site was fantastic, all the pools were great (although our daughter did get an ear infection, however as previously mentioned she was not in the best of health anyway and she is also prone to ear infections). The slides are great fun, and we always managed to get sunbeds although we did go and put towels on at 8.30am each day. The fair is a great addition and although small was an extra element to keep the kids entertained. The kids club was also fantastic and there was always something going on. The beach is ok although a bit pebbly as you get into/out of the sea, also I found that I had to crawl on all fours to get out of the sea as the waves kept pulling me back if I tried to walk! (not a good sight LOL)

The food was good in the main resturant and they often had themed nights. The food stations that are dotted around the site are also good although it does take some getting used to their opening times (I kept a timetable in my pool/beach bag). The al a carte resturants were great although we preferred the Itallian one to the International. They made a special fuss of my husband on his birthday and provided a cake with sparklers on also. (room service also made a crocodile out of towels on our bed on this day).

There was very deffinate evidence that the hotel were taking notice of comments and were constantly making improvements throughout our stay.

Although we have very fond memories I don't think we would go back (mainly because we don't tend to go anywhere more than once, the world is a big place). I would recommend the hotel but would point out about it being isolated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lucky-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bogazkent
0.5 mi away
Crystal Paraiso Verde Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Crystal Waterworld Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
TUI MAGIC LIFE Waterworld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
SENTIDO Zeynep Resort
0.6 mi away
Alva Donna Exclusive Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Belconti Resort Hotel
Belconti Resort Hotel
#46 of 87 in Belek
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Dreams Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Dreams Resort

Property: Sherwood Dreams Resort
Address: Mehmet Akif Caddesi Bogazak Mah 29 Sok. No 9 | Bogazkent Beach, Bogazkent, Belek, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek > Bogazkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bogazkent
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bogazkent
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bogazkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sherwood Dreams Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sherwood Dreams Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Dreams Hotel Belek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing