We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDED, would stay here again in a minute!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake
Ranked #5 of 6 Oneonta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This place was clean, affordable ($100 a night, two double beds) with a great lake view. Very close to Oneonta & the highway, close to Cooperstown & all the attractions. Breakfast was light, mostly just cereal, juice & coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmechalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Red Carpet Inn On the Lake for five nights while our son played in the Cooperstown Baseball World Tournament. Our room was on the lake side of the hotel so we had a beautiful view and a nice place to sit outside in the evenings. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Their is a picnic pavilion on the lake that hotel guests can use. We used it for a pizza party for my son's baseball team. The hotel is conveniently located between Oneonta and Cooperstown and there are lots of restaurants and convenience stores close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ledge3316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

My family love the cabin only feet away form Goodyear Lake. It had 2 double beds that were fine. Free wi-fi helped a lot. Tv was too small for the room. Kitchen was adequate.Heat was good and bathroom was clean. Generally a pleasant two days.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spencerportrangers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This was our first trip to Cooperstown and we were on a budget. We got a superb price thru hotels.com, but at that price, my wife wanted to see the room first. We were VERY surprised! The room was VERY nice, and the view overlooking the lake was beautiful. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking. I don't know how anyone could give a poor rating to this estabishment; I hope to visit Cooperstown again, and there is no question that I'll book with the Red Carpet Inn on the Lake once again. They helped make our stay in Cooperstown unforgettable .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfoklnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The people working here were so nice. The room we had on the hilltop location was completely remodeled and very clean (ive stayed in many a marriott and i was quite comfortable here). The only complaint i had was the walls are so thin and you have noise from the hallway and the neighboring rooms. Loud neighbors could ruin your sleep and if you need to sleep in late, forget it. We enjoyed our one night stay here and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerinanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Visited the Otsego County area for one night. All we needed was a warm, clean, and safe place to rest our heads for a night, and the Red Carpet Inn on the lake suited my needs just fine. The sheets , blankets, and carpet were clean and smelled fresh and the bathroom ( though small) was tidy. I slept soundly on the firm-ish bed ( with firm pillows) and was warm enough, but my boyfriend was chilly in the night. Not sure if the heat control really does anything, but the few times I felt the baseboard heater, I felt steady warmth. There is a TV, microwave, coffee maker, safe, and hair dryer among the room amenities. I had an issue plugging in the coffee maker in the a.m.( it had no practical position in the room), but that was a minor problem for the economical ( under 50$) price we paid for a saturday night. There wqas no closet in the room. The hotel had friendly clerks, a computer in the lobby, and a great position on the pretty Goodyear lake. Though the hotel claims to have an Oneonta address, it is well out of the city limits, but not more than a 10 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earmark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Spent one night here after reading the reviews, and I really have to question the authenticity of the reviewers. This place was really terrible, and no bargain. The carpet was old and sticky, the furniture all seemed to be from a fire sale, and the upholstery was stained and brown. The air conditioner, though working, was held together with tape, and the knobs spun about, broken, and it sounded like we were in an air terminal all night, it was so loud. The bathroom was decorated with a large assortment of hairs on the floor and under the toilet seat. There was no mattress pad, just an old sheet over a mattress I dared not look at, and best yet, ants in the bed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StellyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
270 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
210 reviews
8.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
5.4 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn On The Lake

Address: 2306 State Highway 28, Goodyear Lake, Oneonta, NY 13820-3129
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Oneonta
Price Range: £40 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn On The Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake (formerly known as Knott's Motel),was totally renovated in 2009, and is located on beautiful Goodyear Lake between Cooperstown and Oneonta. Just minutes away from Baseball Hall Of Fame, Cooperstown Dream Park, Baseball World, All Star Village and Soccer Hall of Fame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn On The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn On The Lake Hotel Oneonta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing