We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economical Choice For HOF Visit”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economical Choice For HOF Visit”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked two rooms for one night, so our family of 6 could visit Cooperstown and Baseball Hall of Fame during a family road trip. Staff was pleasant and proximity to HOF was fine ( about 25-minute drive) given the economical rate vs. the closer hotels. Still, I would not choose to stay here again. We keep Kosher and brought our own food so I was disappointed rooms didn't have a microwave. The rooms did have a refrigerator, but neither kept our food cold. My daughters were looking forward to taking a swim after a long car ride, but the pool was VERY small and filled with several rambunctious older boys, so they didn't go. Hallway was dim and carpet was worn. Rooms were OK, but the wall next to my bed was very thin and I could hear the entire conversation of the two gentlemen next door, as if they were sitting in my room. In the morning, I was told the only option for breakfast was the $10.95 buffet. Since we keep kosher, we were limited in the items we could eat, so paying that much was out of the question. In comparison, the next night we stayed at the Fairfield Inn and the breakfast buffet was very similar, eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, bagels, beverages, etc... with one big difference, it was complimentary. This is an average hotel with no perks, so unless you just need a bed to sleep in for a night and nothing else, I would go elsewhere..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KosherMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    56
    45
    22
    18
See reviews for
81
27
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Otego, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Not only was the room very clean but the whole hotel was. They take very good care of the hotel and the guests that stay there. The manager Mike was very helpful and over the top nice. I would recommend a stay here to anyone who is looking for a good price, a great location and a fantastic friendly staff!!

Room Tip: Rooms are exceptionally clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel is perfect if you are visiting the Baseball HOF situated 30 minutes and do not want to spend a lot of money. Probably half the price of the other hotels you are looking for your visit. Perfectly situated near a variety of restaurants either within walking distance (main street) or by car (on route 28 nor 23). Rooms are a little bit worn down but OK since you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room anyway. Ask for a room facing the parking since the other view will be looking on main street - I understand that when busy it can be very noisy and there is nothing really to admire... During my stay (July) it was quiet)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the parking - will be more quiet that facing main street and within lost in v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night so we could visit Cooperstown. While it is a 25 minute drive to downtown Cooperstown it is practically 1/2 the price. Plus, you can enjoy the small town if Oneonta while there. The pool is more like a large bathtub but was a fun way for our kids to unwind and play after a day of touring. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and complimentary coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for a week in July 2013 as my son was playing baseball at All-Star Village. We chose this hotel based on its location to All-Star Village and the previous reviews I read on TripAdvisor.

Location: Excellent. Only a 5 minute drive to All-Star Village. Also, centrally located in downtown Oneonta. We especially liked how you can exit the hotel from the rear and you are right in the center of the downtown shopping/restaurant areas. The town has everything you would need.

Rooms: We had a standard double room. Nothing special. Had a coffee pot and a refridgerator. No microwave though. Rooms are becoming outdated, but still did their job. Our fridge did not work, but we received a new one. The sliding closet doors did not work. Took a day to get them fixed. Otherwise, the room was....standard.

The biggest complaint we had was the wireless internet. It kept going out at night, right when I was trying to get caught up with work and my wife was trying to watch a Netflix movie. Some nights they were able to fix it within 15 minutes, other nights it wasn’t fixed until morning. Very frustrating. In this day and age, reliable wireless service is a must.

Other amenities: Restaurant was small. Breakfast consisted of a buffet for $10.95. The food was good, but with limited choices, it wasn’t worth the cost. We went to breakfast at 9:45 (buffet ended at 10:00). They ran out of bacon and would not make more because it was 10:00 when we went back for seconds and they told us the buffet was over. Disappointing and not good quality service.

Pool was small, but adequate. They had a hot tub and sauna. No complaints.
Had washer and dryer, which we used and found adequate.

Housekeeping had issues. They often did not replace the towels we used. If we used 4, they would give us 2 or 3. Did not vacuum every day. Whatever we complained about, they would come and take care of, but it should have been done in the first place.

Overall: Wasn’t overly impressed, but not hugely disappointed either. Based upon the lack of quality hotels in the Oneonta area, this hotel will suffice for most people. Location is something they have that other hotels do not. One note to consider, a new Marriott Courtyard recently opened on the other side of the expressway. May not be as convenient as the Clarion, but is newer and more modern. If you want convenience, Clarion is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChicagolandRoz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and thank you for staying with us.

Have a great holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I looked at several hotels to stay at and settled on this one as we were going to cooperstown the next day. Hotel was very clean, area was Next to three local restaurants although we drove to a small BBQ place 10 minutes away based on trip advisor reviews. Downsides were pool was small and breakfast buffet was around $10 per person. There is a McDonalds a couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHawksAnkenyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My initial exposure to this hotel was with Dillon who answered the phone and helped me find just the right situation for my needs. He was kind, thoughtful and so full of personality that I was set at ease immediately. Upon my arrival, I was greeted with a smile and sincerity which counts for a lot with me. The hotel was immaculate! The room was fresh and welcoming! The view was quaint overlooking Main Street. The other side of the hotel looks out over the rolling hills and mountains. Thank you to all the staff who cared for our needs, but mostly Dillon who set the ball rolling!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneonta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
18.7 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 55 Market St, Oneonta, NY 13820-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Oneonta Hotel is the only full service hotel that offers direct access to Main Street in Oneonta. Minutes from SUNY Oneonta, Hartwick College and a short drive to Cooperstown, our hotel affords our guests the opportunity to enjoy the conveniences of being in the heart of downtown! Our Broad Street Grill restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner services. Our breakfast fare is fresh and made to order, and does not feature the buffet of processed foods found elsewhere! We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the hospitality of Oneonta New York! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Oneonta
Clarion Oneonta
Oneonta Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing