We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing good was staff”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The only thing good was staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I understand that hotels get older - I'm in development and construction and have been a part of many an overall on Marriott properties....but I'm not sure how Clarion allows this hotel to fly a clarion flag - there is NO redeeming quality about the place except staff and location. First off we were there for Baseball Hall of Fame - the rooms were over $350 a night and it was so old and dirty....I was so upset with myself for spending that much money on a room in that condition - it actually ruined my time there - I know crazy right - but look at photos attached

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to issue feedback about our property. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff and location. We would have been happy to correct any room issues immediately if we were notified. Our staff and management team is highly trained to make your stay enjoyable if given the opportunity.- It is what we do for a living.

We regret that you did not inform us of these problems. We understand and appreciate the fact that you work for a competitor. Regardless, our engineering staff will make any corrections where needed and Thank You again for the observations and considerable amount time communicating this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    57
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
83
27
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family stayed at the Clarion in Oneonta, NY because my son was getting married in that area. The hotel was nice and clean but the thing that stood out the most was the hotel staff, most notably Val, Al and Jackie. We had many last minute room changes, rescheduling and last minute details. These were handled superbly and everyone had a such positive, supportive response. It really went a long way in making a happy event even more that wonderful because of their help.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellport, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for for one night during June 26th after attending Orientation at Oneonta college. I browsed around before choosing this hotel, but noticed Clarion had a decent price per night. The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful and accommodating that day. I honestly never felt more welcomed at a hotel! I ended up with a king size room. It was roomy, clean and quiet. Hotel housekeeping was great as well. Overall just a good experience. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Oneonta in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel exterior looks great. The rooms are outdated but clean/comfortable. The beds weren't that awesome but doable. Easy 25min ride to Cooperstown Dreams Park. Wish they had free breakfast. Hotel has an entrance onto the main downtown plaza. Very neat town.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robmx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed one night and found the hotel to be clean and fairly comfortable. The rom was very large with an adjoining sitting area complete with desk and couch. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too soft. Asked for harder foam pillow, but seemed to have only feathers (or very tired foam). The jetted tub/shower combination would be extremely difficult for anyone with mobility problems. (photo included). Did not realize that a train passes in front of hotel twice during the night tooting its loud annoying horn. The room darkening curtain failed to do an adequate job of blocking the morning sunlight in the room. The only saving grace of this hotel was the outstanding staff. Room was clean, front desk staff were personable, helpful, knowledgable, and professional. Also, the breakfast buffet was very good with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dschwarzbrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We found our room very clean and comfortable. After a long drive and an afternoon visiting local museums and sites, all we wanted was a good place to eat and sleep. The staff at the restaurant was attentive, fast and pleasant. The food was brought quickly and was good as well. The only problem I found was the tub. It was jetted, but the wall was so high it was a problem to step into. As I have mobility problems, it was difficult to get into and out of the tub, and I feared falling. Overall, this was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had. It finally will put me off all Choice Hotels except Comfort Suites. The hall ways and rooms are very dark, even with every light in the room on, it is very hard to even read. When you first open the door to your room you can smell the musk and mildew. The pillow cases and sheets all had small stains and we were left to wonder if they even had been changed since the last people stayed there. The worst of the worst was the bathroom. There was a solid line of black mold running up two seams out of the bathtub, and the ceiling was peeling and someone did a real half assed job of just slapping some spackle on it. My wife wanted to check out right away, but I had been driving all day and there was no way I would have made the 5 1/2 hour trip back to long Island. The only saving grace for this dump were the front desk staff. They went out of their way to help me find a local restaurant and some directions how to get out of there in the morning. We got up at the crack of dawn and got out of there as fast as we could. With all the room taxes added in this room cost almost $200. I would sleep in the car before I stayed at this place again. I wish it were a Hampton Inn. At least they give your money back if you are not satisfied. My wife and I feel we were robbed of $200.00.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank You for the positive feedback regarding our front desk agents. We inspected the room upon reading your review. We did find many of the same issues that you alleged to have seen. however we always pass the information to our management teams and our staff. We take these criticisms seriously when applicable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
872 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Holiday Inn Oneonta
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
18.7 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 55 Market St, Oneonta, NY 13820-2513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Oneonta Hotel is the only full service hotel that offers direct access to Main Street in Oneonta. Minutes from SUNY Oneonta, Hartwick College and a short drive to Cooperstown, our hotel affords our guests the opportunity to enjoy the conveniences of being in the heart of downtown! Our Broad Street Grill restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner services. Our breakfast fare is fresh and made to order, and does not feature the buffet of processed foods found elsewhere! We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the hospitality of Oneonta New York! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Oneonta
Clarion Oneonta
Oneonta Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing