We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Time has stood still at this Holiday Inn. I was here several months ago and it was in dire need of updating, nothing has changed, except the front doors were not working. Also, the TV card in the rooms tells you that there is HBO, HBO2, Showtime and Showtime2, yet these channels do not exist.

All in all, for what you are paying, you should get more.

Room Tip: If you can't get a room elsewhere, ask for one on the second floor so you don't hear cars in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srcesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, knowing where and how we can improve your stay is very important to us. We are sorry that you experienced any inconvenience while you were here and hope that will not be the case in the future.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked 4 rooms for an overnight stay to attend Oneonta College graduation ceremony. Upon check in staff was very accommodating and let us have a late checkout after the graduation ceremony. We checked in around 3 and our rooms were ready. We left the hotel for a few hours to go to campus. When we came back around 6 pm, there was a note under our door stating that the one of the burners was not working and we could experience warm showers in the morning. My husband and I showered at night and the water was ok. When my son showered at 9'am before his ceremony the water was cold. So all 4 rooms that showered in the morning had cold showers. Why couldn't this be fixed overnight and since it wasn't, why weren't we compensated in some way? We were not offered any type of compensation. I spend approximately $500 on rooms and expected to have hot water. Very disappointed in the management of the Holiday Inn.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank CATHY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We thank you for your comments and are sorry to hear that you were affected by our mechanical issues. We tried to be pro-active in letting our guests know what was happening, we were unable to fix the issue over the weekend. Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night but the time spent there was ok. It was our third time over the last six years and not much has changed. And that is the problem with this place. It could use some help. It looks a bit tiered . The room was big enough and clean. The HVAC was a bit noisy and should be looked at. The bed was nice and the pillow selection nice. The bathroom was clean but the toilet was running and the water at the tub was not warm enough,
Breakfast was good and plenty. The pub is nice and has a good beer selection. Outside was clean and taken care of. This place is ok. But it is time for an update.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Steyr1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We thank you for your review. Guest comments are vital in order for us to know where we need to focus our efforts to improve. We want to offer the most comfortable and positive experience we can while you are away from home. Please think of us again when in our area.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here 1 night of a 3 day trip. First off, $160 to stay at a Holiday Inn seemed a bit much, but the last few I have stayed in were newly decorated, revamped and I figured it would be the same here. NOPE. dated rooms, dirty chairs, peeling wallpaper, it felt like a roadside motel. We arrived late at night at while and while checking in, heard the man at the front desk state there wasn't even an elevator in the hotel- so if you stay here you should probably pack light if your room is on the second floor. After checking in we went to our room and for the next several hours got to hear every conversation our neighbors were having and every time they exited their room to go outside and smoke. If you would like a quiet place to sleep, go elsewhere. There is a bar nextdoor and we were lucky enough to listen to drunks yelling and fighting and smashing beer bottles for a few hours, so that was great. The next morning we were woken up several times due to the fact our room was across from some sort of conference room that people were coming and going from being incredibly loud, but after a while we were able to get past the noise and fall asleep, until the housekeeper showed up... nearly 3 hours before check out. She beat on the door like a police officer, woke everyone up and then when I opened the door to ask her why she was knocking since check out wasn't until 11, she snottily told me that I should have put the do not disturb sign out if I didn't want her knocking. And when we complained to the front desk her only reaction was to say " oh really?" and then avoid eye contact whenever we passed by the desk.
Our friends were lucky enough to be told there was no vacancy when they tried to check in, so they stayed at the Courtyard down the street. That hotel was brand new, wonderful food and great service.
My advice to travelers- if you want a noisy room and terrible service, then you should stay at this Holiday Inn. Otherwise, stay anywhere else- and then only place I can recommend is the Courtyard for a few bucks more.

Room Tip: stay as far away from the front desk/ conference room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mndtylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory, this is not the type of service that our guests are accustomed to receiving. We are always looking for ways to improve in every department so all reviews are helpful.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just stayed 1 night traveling through the area. The hotel room is average. The bedding looks new but some of the decor is dated. The vanity in the bathroom was nice but everything else looks old. Even though we didn't use the microwave and fridge it was nice to have in the room just in case. Could also have larger pillows on a king size bed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

We appreciate your review of the Holiday Inn Oneonta. Input from our valued guests is very important in how we go forward with changes to our property. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will again if in the area.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you have anything to do in Delhi, NY and need to stay overnight, you'll need to drive about 20 miles for anything decent. We did and found this very nice Holiday Inn in Oneonta.

Our room was spacious, beds comfortable, hotel was quiet and a nice flat screen TV. Also, just a minute from the hotel you will find numerous dining and shopping options.

Bar and dining room in the hotel.

Definitely worth staying here if you're in the area.

Room Tip: Go to the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyLPLakePlacid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a glowing review of our property. We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible when away from home, it is an honor when we accomplish our goal. Think of us again when in the area.

Warmest regards,
Tifanne Wells
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I frequently travel to Oneonta on business. As a Priority Club member I stay at Holiday Inn properties. After hundreds of nights in HI properties the one in Oneonta is my lease favorite.
The physical plant is okay, the rooms are clean and okay, but the dining options and overall service are severely lacking. The food is terrible and the service is weak. If you are in Oneonta and will be eating out of the hotel, this property is an option, but if you plan to eat in, stay at another hotel. I will forgo priority club points in the future and will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid in the summer. Full of young baseball teams due to vicinity to Cooperstown (Baseball Hall of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Oneonta. We apologize greatly for the lack of service, as well as the experience you had in our Restaurant. We are currently putting together a new menu for our Restaurant, as well as doing some in depth service training with all of our stay here at the hotel. I would like to say thank you again for your review. We are unable to correct problems that aren't brought to our attention. We hope you'll considering staying with us again in the future.


Warmest Regards,
Chelsie Dalton
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
607-433-2250

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
947 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range: £55 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing