We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable, book online for discount”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable, book online for discount”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent two nights in this property in August 2014. It is true that the style of this hotel is somewhat dated. But our room, on the dreaded second floor, was clean, the beds were comfortable, no visible stains or spots on the carpets, bedding or drapes, the bathroom was very clean and we were provided additional amenities upon request. We were towards the back parking lot, on the second floor of the hotel. The dreaded staircase, mentioned by so many reviewers, is a measly 14 steps. There are railings. It is not an issue if you are a normal human being. We did not eat there, but this was a great value for our purposes. The hotel is in Oneonta, not that close to Cooperstown. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were helpful and appropriate. We had no noise to speak of, although there were two buses outside, and several baseball teams staying over. Others in our group stayed at a marriott for twice the price. Join the online affinity program and book online for the best prices.

Room Tip: Pick a room toward the back of the hotel to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.Your feedback is valuable to us and we thank you for submitting your review. We hope to see you stay with us again and have another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    72
    77
    35
    21
See reviews for
108
46
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two sons the night before seeing Cooperstown. It's only about a 30-minute drive into Cooperstown, so if there are no affordable rooms there, give this place a try! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with area information - a great first impression for the hotel. This is an older Holiday Inn, but it has been updated and everything was clean, comfortable, and in good working order. The wifi worked well in the room, much to the kids' joy.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, instead venturing into town to Sal's Pizzeria (will be posting a review). There is a relatively large (benefit of being an older hotel) pool, it looked very inviting.

I highly recommend this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with information about our area. We strive to provide all our guest with a great experience and we are pleased we were able to provide you with one. Please come back and stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Worst overnight experience we've ever had. The location is misrepresented as Oneonta-Cooperstown area but it's a 30 minute drive on a country road to/from Cooperstown.The hotel is 2 stories without an elevator. Not sure how they get by NYS Handicap requirements, but we had to carry bags up a dirty flight of stairs to our room. Then the fun began: stained carpet, stains in the ceiling and on the bed cover, stained lampshade, moveable dust on every surface in the room, smelly pillows, bugs on the bathroom floor, rust stains in the tub, patched holes in the walls. Overall, for $170 per night it was a miserable experience and the desk staff was surly and wearing wrinkled, stained uniforms. Dining room was tired with a funky smell, dead plans and wrinkled curtains.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here, make sure you're on the first floor....No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
It is not our intent to mislead any of our guest as to our location. We do serve the Oneonta and Cooperstown area as a full service hotel. I was so disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay. Please know this is in no way typical of the service we provide. Please accept my sincere apologies and I hope we have the chance to show you exceptional service if you are ever in the area again. We strive to exceed the expectations of each and every one of our guest. That is our purpose and our mission.

Sincerely,
Larry Jones
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Decent hotel. Unremarkable location in a bit of an industrial location. Not much to look at but the hotel has done it's best to spruce up with some benches etc outside. The room was basic but nothing at all wrong with it. Decent TV and chanels. 5 minutes from downtown and about 1/2 hour from Cooperstown. Other than Cooperstown, not much here but if you are on a roadtrip and this area is at the end of a day, good place. Most hotels in this area are expensive because of Cooperstown. my night was about $200.
Excellent dining room, food, and pub. Probably most outstanding is the staff. I hotel for business quite a bit and can honestly say have never run into a more consistantly friendly and helpfull staff. From check in to check out, the staff were outstanding.
Worth a stay if you are in the area and need a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljames403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a good experience. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and pub as well. We thank you for talking the time to submit your review and providing us with valuable feedback. We hope to see you stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here during our trip to Cooperstown for my sons baseball team. While booking I felt I was getting a great deal cause most everyone else opted for a rental home or $350/night at the August Lodge. Upon arrival it seemed like any other hotel, nice staff and decent décor. I got the king suite and the only for the hotel. Nice but I felt bad because the people below us could probably hear the jets for the tub in the room and also I didn't know this room came with the pool view. I would have rather looked at something else actually. Overall the hotel was adequate but could use updating. The mattress was decent, room was kept clean and there were no bugs..all pluses in my book! Its a quiet small town with not a lot to do so the hotel should be a place of fun. There's a bowling alley & roller rink within walking distance but I could never figure out their hours so we didn't make it to either one. A few things they could do to majorly improve is have more than 3 games in their large "Game Room", install an elevator or have a bell boy offer to haul peoples bags up the flight of steps and definitely heat the outdoor pool. The restaurant was decent as well but it seemed they lacked leadership and an daily list of duties. Things ran out a lot and while you see them go in and out of the kitchen frequently, their not really doing anything. Sometimes they came out chewing food which answers a lot. They were very nice though and helpful so I won't harp too much. The breakfast was good with real sausage & bacon, not the imitation sissalean you get elsewhere! For dinner I ordered Marsala and had to send it back cause it was just grilled chicken atop a mushroom but the manager stepped in, offered me free drinks and dessert, which is how mistakes should be handled so I was pleased with that. The waitress needed a bit more training on the menu. Never tell a customer you don't know and just stand there...you go research!
All in all, if I had to go inexpensively again to Cooperstown I may stay again but I don't think I'd get the King Suite :))

Room Tip: This area has gorgeous mountain views, ask for a room with this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattieK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed your room. We are also happy to hear that you did enjoy breakfast as well. It is unfortunate that you had had a poor experience with dinner. We are happy we are able to correct our mistake for you. We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit this review. We will use your feedback to improve our hotel. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you will stay with us and have a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The assistance provided by the housekeeping staff is outstanding. I have allergies to polyester and they helped me with my cotton sheets. They provided extra sheets for my husband who must sit up in order to sleep. All hotel staff were kind and courteous and asked how we we're doing, daily. Great vacation location. It felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide a great experience for all our guests and we are happy we were able to provide you with one. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We hope to see you come back and stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Good location, 10 minute drive from SUNY Oneonta but that's as far as the good stuff goes. The smell was bad and I won't be back for sure. We booked this hotel since we had to take our child for orientation at Oneonta. We won't be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We would like to apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay. We are glad you were close to the destination and it is unfortunate that were unable to enjoy your stay with us. We would like to thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We will use it to look into the problems you encountered during your stay and improve our hotel. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
874 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
14.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Property: Holiday Inn Oneonta
Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing