We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Hotel(Oneonta)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Oneonta(Oneonta)(Great Value!)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area(Oneonta)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 88(Oneonta)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cooperstown Inn & Suites(Cooperstown)(Great Value!)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
58
77
82
36
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
77
82
36
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolbaseball tournamentupstate new yorkfirst floorwater pressure in the showerstayed one nighthotel restaurantfridge and microwaverooms are cleanyogurthartwick collegeoneonta area
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent two nights in this property in August 2014. It is true that the style of this hotel is somewhat dated. But our room, on the dreaded second floor, was clean, the beds were comfortable, no visible stains or spots on the carpets, bedding or drapes, the bathroom was very clean and we were provided additional amenities upon request. We were towards the back parking lot, on the second floor of the hotel. The dreaded staircase, mentioned by so many reviewers, is a measly 14 steps. There are railings. It is not an issue if you are a normal human being. We did not eat there, but this was a great value for our purposes. The hotel is in Oneonta, not that close to Cooperstown. The front desk staff and cleaning staff were helpful and appropriate. We had no noise to speak of, although there were two buses outside, and several baseball teams staying over. Others in our group stayed at a marriott for twice the price. Join the online affinity program and book online for the best prices.

Room Tip: Pick a room toward the back of the hotel to avoid noise.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NYCmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the review. We are glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us.Your feedback is valuable to us and we thank you for submitting your review. We hope to see you stay with us again and have another great experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two sons the night before seeing Cooperstown. It's only about a 30-minute drive into Cooperstown, so if there are no affordable rooms there, give this place a try! The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with area information - a great first impression for the hotel. This is an older Holiday Inn, but it has been updated and everything was clean, comfortable, and in good working order. The wifi worked well in the room, much to the kids' joy.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, instead venturing into town to Sal's Pizzeria (will be posting a review). There is a relatively large (benefit of being an older hotel) pool, it looked very inviting.

I highly recommend this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with information about our area. We strive to provide all our guest with a great experience and we are pleased we were able to provide you with one. Please come back and stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Worst overnight experience we've ever had. The location is misrepresented as Oneonta-Cooperstown area but it's a 30 minute drive on a country road to/from Cooperstown.The hotel is 2 stories without an elevator. Not sure how they get by NYS Handicap requirements, but we had to carry bags up a dirty flight of stairs to our room. Then the fun began: stained carpet, stains in the ceiling and on the bed cover, stained lampshade, moveable dust on every surface in the room, smelly pillows, bugs on the bathroom floor, rust stains in the tub, patched holes in the walls. Overall, for $170 per night it was a miserable experience and the desk staff was surly and wearing wrinkled, stained uniforms. Dining room was tired with a funky smell, dead plans and wrinkled curtains.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here, make sure you're on the first floor....No elevator.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

It is not our intent to mislead any of our guest as to our location. We do serve the Oneonta and Cooperstown area as a full service hotel. I was so disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay. Please know this is in no way typical of the service we provide. Please accept my sincere apologies and I hope we have the chance to show you exceptional service if you are ever in the area again. We strive to exceed the expectations of each and every one of our guest. That is our purpose and our mission.

Sincerely,
Larry Jones
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Decent hotel. Unremarkable location in a bit of an industrial location. Not much to look at but the hotel has done it's best to spruce up with some benches etc outside. The room was basic but nothing at all wrong with it. Decent TV and chanels. 5 minutes from downtown and about 1/2 hour from Cooperstown. Other than Cooperstown, not much here but if you are on a roadtrip and this area is at the end of a day, good place. Most hotels in this area are expensive because of Cooperstown. my night was about $200.
Excellent dining room, food, and pub. Probably most outstanding is the staff. I hotel for business quite a bit and can honestly say have never run into a more consistantly friendly and helpfull staff. From check in to check out, the staff were outstanding.
Worth a stay if you are in the area and need a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pauljames403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with a good experience. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and pub as well. We thank you for talking the time to submit your review and providing us with valuable feedback. We hope to see you stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here during our trip to Cooperstown for my sons baseball team. While booking I felt I was getting a great deal cause most everyone else opted for a rental home or $350/night at the August Lodge. Upon arrival it seemed like any other hotel, nice staff and decent décor. I got the king suite and the only for the hotel. Nice but I felt bad because the people below us could probably hear the jets for the tub in the room and also I didn't know this room came with the pool view. I would have rather looked at something else actually. Overall the hotel was adequate but could use updating. The mattress was decent, room was kept clean and there were no bugs..all pluses in my book! Its a quiet small town with not a lot to do so the hotel should be a place of fun. There's a bowling alley & roller rink within walking distance but I could never figure out their hours so we didn't make it to either one. A few things they could do to majorly improve is have more than 3 games in their large "Game Room", install an elevator or have a bell boy offer to haul peoples bags up the flight of steps and definitely heat the outdoor pool. The restaurant was decent as well but it seemed they lacked leadership and an daily list of duties. Things ran out a lot and while you see them go in and out of the kitchen frequently, their not really doing anything. Sometimes they came out chewing food which answers a lot. They were very nice though and helpful so I won't harp too much. The breakfast was good with real sausage & bacon, not the imitation sissalean you get elsewhere! For dinner I ordered Marsala and had to send it back cause it was just grilled chicken atop a mushroom but the manager stepped in, offered me free drinks and dessert, which is how mistakes should be handled so I was pleased with that. The waitress needed a bit more training on the menu. Never tell a customer you don't know and just stand there...you go research!
All in all, if I had to go inexpensively again to Cooperstown I may stay again but I don't think I'd get the King Suite :))

Room Tip: This area has gorgeous mountain views, ask for a room with this!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PattieK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were comfortable during your stay and enjoyed your room. We are also happy to hear that you did enjoy breakfast as well. It is unfortunate that you had had a poor experience with dinner. We are happy we are able to correct our mistake for you. We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to submit this review. We will use your feedback to improve our hotel. If you are ever in the area again, we hope you will stay with us and have a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Raymond Beams
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Oneonta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews