We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed here for one night last week and for the price we paid ($189 plus tax), this hotel is not a great value. We also didn't have the best experience upon checking in. First , we went to our room to find that the keys didn't work.
After having them replaced we enetred the room to find that the floor was sopping wet from a leaking air conditioner unit. At first, the manager said he couldn't move us since they were sold out, but he did subsequently move us to a room across the hall which was fine, except that an hour later, a complete stranger entered the room with a key. Apparently nobody remembered to update the front desk info with the fact that we had been assigned the new room.
On top of all this, there's no complimentary breakfast and the tv's are not flat screen.
If you're only in the area for one day to visit Cooperstown, as we were, the hotel is probably ok, but it's certainly not anything special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metsfan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

Spent 3 days at this hotel while visiting Cooperstown. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Outdoor pool was kept clean and very inviting. I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family that may be traveling up to NY to visit Cooperstown and the Baseball Hall of Fame.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UFDad08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Oneonta was most enjoyable. We used the hotel as meeting ground for an extended weekend as we took in the sights of upstate New York. Convenient to Cooperstown, the Catskills and the Leatherstocking region this hotel is a great find. With an outdoor pool, restaurant and bar, it is fabulous for social gatherings, especially families with children. The service was great, from Mike the manager to Katie and Lisa working the restaurant. We will definitely be visiting again this summer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I have been staying at this hotel about 3-4 times a year for the past 4 years. The initial attraction was that they permit pets for a small one-time fee of $25 per stay (not per day). I like the hotel & staff enough that I stay there even without the dog. It's outside of town by a couple of miles, yet close enough, so it's quieter than the in-town hotels and more often than not, less expensive. Rooms are always very clean & everything works. Rooms & hallways were recently renovated and it's well lit & bright throughout. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Good Happy Hour...renewed rooms are in great shape!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmy12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I was pleasantly surprised that this hotel was so nice. It is set in the mountains and you feel as if you are at resort. I have stayed at other Holiday Inns and had expected to find that smoking was allowed, so it came as a nice surprise that the facility is Smoke free, a definite plus for me. There was a good size refrigerator and microwave in the room. I always travel with extra food so this was a great feature. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Staying in Holiday Inns growing up this one is par for the course as far as it goes. Its a great value and they have everythign you need right there. Front desk was very helpful and very nice and I will stay there when I go back to Oneonta.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmweber78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
940 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#6 of 9 in Oneonta
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Milford/Cooperstown
14.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
15.1 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites of Cooperstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price Range: £50 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing