We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

a fantastic place where we stayed for 1 week with the family (girls of 14 and 11), after 1 week in the jungle with the Mentawai organized by the Ricky Beach House.
this is not a classic touristic place, this is a real fishermen village with families having their own duties, growing rice crops, fishing... and you are welcomed in this village with such a warmness !
we learned to take our time, sing with our hosts every day, play football with the boys of the village, enjoying walkaround, postcard beaches, dream islands, cooking with the RBH band and many other things.
The people there are so nice and so authentic that we don't even remember the housing which is quite basic and that we only used for sleeping.

Well, as many other people said, a place to preserve and to visit with an open heart.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I regret we could only spend two nights at this amazing place. It's beautifully located, authentic, isolated and low key but what matters most are the people there. I feel like I have to go back one day which doesn't happen to me that often. I really really hope it won't develop into some bigger and classier touristic affair one day, loosing its simple charm. If you're all about comfort and luxuries, don't go. Otherwise, don't think twice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Anna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

For those who travel in search of real places, with real people, look no further. Ricky, Anne and the crew have created a very special place that allows the traveler to drop into a world outside of the typical backpacker experience. With an honest, open desire to help the village and encourage meaningful exchange between visitors and locals, Authentic Sumatra is doing something very rare in the world of tourism. My wife and I have been traveling throughout Asia for more than a year and our time at RBH was the highlight of our travels. Amazing hosts, incredible village, ocean, beach and jungle, great food, pretty much perfect.

If you are just looking for upscale beach relaxation, look elsewhere...

If you are looking for the chance to learn, laugh, experience and grow...visit Ricky, Anne and the fantastic crew. We will be back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank M A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The thing that I like the most about the Ricky's Beach House is probably the fact that it is easy to get in touch with the locals. I like to travel to beautiful places but for me it is more important to SHARE with the people. Landscapes don't teach you the culture. The local people do.
I already came few times to RBH and I love the atmosphere there. The crew is always listening the guests' requests, sharing ACTIVITIES with them, and what is even more appreciable is that they don't change their habits for us. They still enjoy play music together, they go surf (possibility to learn with them), they play games (with guests as well),.. They don't make up their daily life for the tourists. I am curious to learn about their culture and they are curious to learn about mine as well. There is a wonderful human exchange that I never experienced that deep so far.

-The BUNGALOWS are cute and comfortable, set up on the beach (wonderful sunset). Clean and decent.
-The FOOD is fresh and very tasty, and LOCAL ! It is a fishing village, so fresh fish for dinner. I love the fact that you can eat until you are full without charge supplements (same for coffees and tea!). This is a real bonus compared to all other guesthouses. It is a detail but it makes the difference compared to other guesthouses. No pressure about the money, you just enjoy your time. Fluid and natural energy.
-Good SERVICE and really friendly crew
- I really enjoyed the different activities you can choose to do alone, or with a local : snorkeling, surfing, fishing, cooking, playing music, trekking in the rice fields and jungle, relaxing on a magnificent island, playing football (ok it's a lie I am a girl i hate football but i saw many other guests who loved it though), ..

The place itself is incredibly beautiful, it is lost somewhere in the jungle of Sumatra, surrounded by coconut trees, indian ocean, mountains, rice fields…and buffalos.
I admit the price is not the lowest i could have found in Sumatra but it's the best value for money. 200 (or 150 according to the room you chose) includes a night, 3 tasty meals, coffees/teas and let's not forget it, a concrete help to the villagers. A beautiful ECOTOURISM concept.
Thanks again for everything

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathilde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Great hospitallity, easy contact with local village people and other travellers, good food, just in front of the sea, lots of opportunities, like;- snorkling to see coral and turtles,-jungle hiking to waterfall,- -paddi field trip,- woodcarving,-traditional cooking lessons,-football - learning wave surfing. Value for you money. Just been there begin july '2014 and we loved it . Henk&Femmie

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Henk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent a week there and really loved it! I had booked a trip to the Mentawai islands with Ricky, and he suggested that I spent a couple days in his village after since I had a few spare days. I went to Nagari Sungai Pinang, and actually stayed there a week. The location is amazing, with 3 small bungalows and a bigger one right on the beach.

The food was nice, loved the curries and bbq fish! They offer a few activities such as surfing, island trips, or jungle trek to a waterfall. There were a dozen tourists when I was there, but it was still pretty quiet and authentic. The local people were also very friendly, and you can tell that this village hasn't been spoiled by mass tourism.

The staff is extremely friendly, easy going, and always helpful and I loooved singing and chatting every night with them all. Ricky is particularly nice, speaks good English and French.

In a word, I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I really liked my week at Ricky's Beach House because of so many things. The location is amazing, in a little village near the jungle. The rooms were right on the beach, comfortable and nice. The food and hospitality were excellent; very friendly and helpful staff. There are only a few guests, so it's quiet and friendly. And the local people were very nice to us, there was no hassle, only a warm welcome. It's the best hostel i've stayed in in Asia

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagari Sungai Pinang
15 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#2 of 39 in Padang
516 reviews
11.7 mi away
Air Manis Hill Residence
1.9 mi away
SUMATRA ecolodge
SUMATRA ecolodge
#2 of 22 in Padang
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Paradiso Village
Paradiso Village
#3 of 39 in Padang
200 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra

Address: Jalan RBH, Nagari Sungai Pinang 25131, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Nagari Sungai Pinang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nagari Sungai Pinang
Price Range: £26 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ricky's Beach House is a guesthouse located on a small private beach 10 minutes walking distance from a small fishing village. The village, Nagari Sungai Pinang, is situated on the west coast of the Indian Ocean, south of Padang, the capital city of West Sumatra, Indonesia. This is a guesthouse where the most open-minded travelers meet to share their travel stories, feel the family atmosphere, discover the local lifestyle, enjoy the warm temperature of the Indian Ocean, join the acoustic live music sessions with our crew at night and be a part of community-based Eco-Tourism Project. From the terrace of our comfortable bungalows you are only a few steps away from the ocean, and behind the bungalows you’ll find typical Sumatran forests where you can spot monkeys, birds and even monitor lizards. Our friendly staff is always ready to help you and will accompany you on daytrips to beautiful remote islands, a nearby waterfall, and other places, at your request. Our Village Nagari Sungai Pinang is a small fishing village about two hours away from Padang. Here you will be welcomed into an authentic Minangkabau community and get a feeling of real Indonesian village culture, with possibilities to participate in different aspects of everyday life. Populated by about 1000 inhabitants, most of them fishermen and farmers, these villagers live an easy lifestyle without rush, fully sharing commitment and respect. The hospitality of the villagers, combined with breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and the Bukit Barisan Hills, will make you feel at home as soon as you enter Nagari Sungai Pinang . Just make sure you’ll have full energy to reply to all the ‘hello’s’ from local kids when taking a walk through the village! In addition to exploring the surrounding beaches, ocean and forests, our project also offers you a chance to join the local fishermen when pull up fishing net on the beach, assist the farmers in their daily work, as well as going on a hike to the nearby waterfall, surfing for beginners, island hopping, snorkeling in many different spots, take a woodcarving course and play football with the local youth. And if you are a big fan of cooking and Indonesian food, don't miss the opportunity to learn the secrets of the local cuisine from village women. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ricky's Beach House - Authentic Sumatra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing