We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfully peaceful place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia
Ranked #1 of 2 Pila B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A wonderfully peaceful place...”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and family (three children aged 13, 11 and 9) stayed here at the end of July on the way back to Switzerland after our vacation in Liguria, Northern Italy. What a beautiful B&B ! We stayed in a suite consisting of a very comfortable double bedroom, a bunk bed room for our two boys and a very spacious living & dining room where our daughter slept on a fold out bed. The Giardino dell'Artemisia has a fantastic garden which is obviously the passion of Mr. Gerbelle, the owner, and the house has lots of interesting books & artefacts from all over the world. The sumptuous breakfast was served on the nice terrace...delicious. Nous vous remercions M. Gerbelle pour votre généreuse hospitalité et nous espèrons revenir un de ces jours !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
64
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We rented the suite, 1 of the 2 rooms available. This room is more of an apartment, with a sitting area, dining area and separate kitchen. There was a balcony with a splendid view on the valley and a separate private patio. The bathroom was pretty large too. The only downside here was that the shower was not attached to the wall so if you want to take a shower, you have to hold it in your hand. The mattress was also slightly harder than what I like, but that's a personal preference.

It's a 15-minute drive from the city of Aosta which makes this a great location if you want a quiet B&B.

The host was wonderful, he provided us lots of information on where to go and advised us on restaurants. He clearly enjoys having people around.
Another advantage is having free wi-fi in the room but the host has internet connection too and he is more than willing to look things up for you.

Breakfast is very good, without being excellent but all you need is available (jam, bread, cereal, yoghurt, orange juice, tea, coffee, cake, etc) so it's much more than a typical Italian breakfast.

I would certainly go back for all the above mentioned reasons.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and I believe the only difference is the surface.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Very good. Good price, location, view. Real montain house, incredible deco. Dont think twice. The best place se stayed in our italian tour

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpcoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at "Il Giardino dell'Artemisia" for 3 nights at the end of August. The b&b is located on a mountain close to the city Aosta (a couple of minutes by car). From the garden (where the breakfast was served!) you can see great mountains and the city Aosta in the valley. The owner's daughter welcomed us and gave us some good suggestions what to do in this region. We think this is a good location to explore this region, e.g. the grand paradiso national parc, the monte bianco and the many castles of this region (Fenis).

We stayed in the room at the upper floor, where the bedroom is seperated from the living. The rooms are very clean and cosy and the breakfast is excellent! We really loved this place and if someone will visit this region: this is a good option to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Il Giardino dell'Artemisia is a truly wonderful Bed and Breakfast. I stayed in the 'Mansardo' (attic) appartment, consisting of no less than 3 rooms - bedroom, bathroom and sitting/dining/kitchenette room (with fridge, microwave, hob, oven, dining table and chairs, large sofa, satellite TV and DVD player) - it is certainly the most spacious and luxurious bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in - it felt like living in someone's home rather than in a typical bed and breakfast room. Everything was top quality, with lots of thoughtful extras. The location was quiet, there was off-road parking and Cesare was very welcoming, helpful and friendly - his breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! If I ever visit the Valle d'Aosta again, this is where I'll stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SignoraPMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Cesare, the host, says that the surrounding garden is the logical extension of his retreat in the mountains near Aosta in the North West of Italy. I agree and I think that the decor and the environment inside reflects the garden outside as well. The scent of the fresh flowers on the table, the colors, motifs and carefully chosen books and magazines are all intrinsicaly, 'garden'. Cesare, interior designer and landscape gardner, tends to this three level family home with the same eye for harmony in space and season as he does the shady landscape around it. There is an attic space with exposed beams and a luxurious new bed at the top and then there is a wonderful living room with dining area, fully equipped kitchen, double bedroom, kids room with bunk beds and a balconey which looks over the Aosta valley on the second floor. In fact, this lovely living space expertly reflects life in the Aosta valley and Cesare has a finely tuned network of friends who offer wonderful food and holiday treats on his recommendation. Cesare keeps the lower appartment for himself and his charming wife who speaks good English. So we must "Grant unto Ceaser what is Ceaser's". That is, credit for having created a fruitful and astute combination of taste, comfort and style. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This bed and breakfast is brillant! It is an experience of style, fine workmanship, a mix of antique furniture blended with modern taste. The view is of the valley is great, and the service by Cesare Gerbelle is extraordinary! I highly recommend Giardino dell'Artemisia!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_richert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pila
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Chance
Hotel La Chance
#1 of 6 in Gressan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Etoile De Neige
Hotel Etoile De Neige
#2 of 6 in Gressan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Esse Pila 2000
Club Esse Pila 2000
#4 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
Hotel Duca d'Aosta
#1 of 18 in Aosta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.1 mi away
Etoile du Nord
Etoile du Nord
#1 of 2 in Sarre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lion Noir
Hotel Lion Noir
#5 of 6 in Gressan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino dell'Artemisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino dell'Artemisia

Property: Il Giardino dell'Artemisia
Address: Frazione Champlan Dessous 8, 11020 Pila, Gressan, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Gressan > Pila
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Giardino dell'Artemisia€ Bed & Breakfast stands at about 1000 metres above sea level, halfway between Aosta and Pila. Nestled among the pine, fir and birch woodland, the house is surrounded by a unique garden overlooking the Valley, allowing a stunning view of the valley and the Grand Combin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Il Giardino dell'Artemisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing