We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Omelet that you'll ever have!”
Review of Orient Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orient Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Orient B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Joan and Howard, the innkeeper were beyond accommodating, with great recommendations as to where to eat and what to do. I came here to do the North fork Century bike ride, and was delighted to relax and rest here both before and after. The inn is really in a perfect location, and you can ride your bike to the Orient Park or along the causeway which is breathtakingly beautiful Joan is a graduate of the French Culinary Institute in NYC so I had the most delicious of breakfasts including perfect omelets, scrambled eggs with goat cheese, fresh fruit salads and home made jams. They were so nice and so friendly which makes this B and B extra special. I will be back!

Room Tip: Room 2, it was large and comfortable and in the back. The fresh sunflowers added a special touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is an old farmhouse converted into an inn. We've been to several, but this one had charm, good beds, and great guests. Everyone was friendly and ready for a chat. This must be the vibe that the innkeepers, Howard and Joan, give to the place. The breakfast was very good with a selection of eggs, yogurt, muffins and good strong coffee.

We drove in with our bicycles and managed to park them without too much damage. If you plan to take your bikes take the second entrance. That would be if the Inn is on your right. We almost took off the branches from the tree in the semi-circular driveway.

Regarding the rooms, we had #6 which was fine. We did not hear the other guests in their rooms and the air conditioner kept us nice and cool. The pillows smelled clean which can be a feat when many heads use them. The towels are clean and absorbant, the "Bee Kind" toiletries are quite good too. I would recommend that they add a makeup remover just so the white towels stay nice and white! . The small quibble was the shower head which trickled out water. However, we still managed to clean up.

Howard was helpful in giving us routes to ride and also where to find places to eat and vineyards to visit. Overall I would say this is a place to go back too even if a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The innkeepers are smart and sophisticated, and a joy to meet. Joan has professional culinary training and prepared a gourmet breakfast that, in my husbands words “will get me back here again!” This five room inn is located in the outermost part of the “North Fork” of Long Island, called Orient, NY. It is a short walk to multiple private beaches (all beautiful) and to the center hamlet of Orient. It is a 9 minute drive to Greenport, 15 to Southold. Like most B&Bs, it is located in a charming old house. This one has a big wrap-around screen porch and warm and cozy interior rooms that maintain much of their historic charm. The rooms are simple but lovely, and feature nice, new solid white linens (no fru-fru flowered bedspreads and dusty knick-knacks here!). We stayed in Room 2, which has high ceilings, big windows, and was large, a luxury for the many Manhattanites that seem to be regular visitors. There are window A/C units, but we didn't need to run it on a cool July evening. There was a small TV. There is free wifi but I was not able to use it from the room, and had to take my laptop downstairs for service. Delicious snacks were available on the first floor, and I felt very at home hanging out downstairs or on the porches. The Inn features one room that permits dogs, but you must reserve that room specifically (and early! It was already booked when we tried!) Apparently, children under 5 are not permitted, as a courtesy to other guests. With the exception of the occasional passing car during the night, the inn was whisper quiet. Since it is an old house with hardwood floors, I expect there could be noise between rooms, but we didn’t experience any, and both slept very well. We look forward to future stays at the Orient Inn.

Room Tip: Room 2 is quietly located on back of house. Only one room permits dogs, so reserve early. For some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PyrotechnicDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here primarily because they had a pet friendly room and was pleasantly surprised. The Inn is conveniently located near all of the beautiful north fork places and it's an architectural gem. Delicious breakfast, beautiful rooms, and big enough to find private, quiet places inside to dine, read, relax, etc. the proprietors were very welcoming and treated my family (and dog!) like gold.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lefty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were looking at Greenport but everything was booked and wound up a just a little further out in Orient Point and were happy we did. Very nice, low key B&B, beautiful house and yard, big front porch, big rooms, very clean, great breakfast, quiet, air conditioning if you need it, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful but not overbearing. Very short drive to Greenport or nice bike ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stretch44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My sister and I had a lovely time at the Orient Inn. From the minute we walked in the door to our parting words we were delighted in every way. We loved the décor of the rooms and the bathrooms were immaculate. I truly felt like I was at home. The breakfast was exceptional, great coffee too. The North Fork of Long Island is one the prettiest parts of the country. Wineries, restaurants, ferry ride, clean beaches are among the many activities to be enjoyed while staying at the Orient Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Orient Inn is a large well-preserved 1906 Shingle style house in a beautiful setting. Our room was large and comfortable with an equally large updated bathroom. Wonderful as the accommodations are, the food might be even better. Joan is a graduate of the French Culinary Institute and her breakfasts are among the best we have had anywhere. She will also prepare dinners using local ingredients on special request for an extra charge. We took advantage of this a were glad we did. She sent us three menus and worked with us to create the one that worked for us. It was a fantastic meal. We will return to this place as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient
3.0 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
193 reviews
4.7 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
6.4 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
4.4 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Inn

Address: 25500 Main Rd, Orient, NY 11957-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Orient
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Orient
Price Range: £207 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orient Inn offers a peaceful, casual atmosphere with 5 airy, spacious bedrooms with private bathrooms and individual air conditioning. The large front center entrance with a fireplace opens into a living room with pocket doors and groupings of chairs and sofas where guests can relax with a book, play board games or just sit and enjoy the company of others. A full breakfast is provided. Our guests can take their breakfast in the dining room, bring it out to one of the wrap around porches, gardens, or take it to their rooms. Orient Inn is a perfect place to hold focus groups, classes and receptions. Tea and coffee fruit and sweets are always available. If guests wish to have dinner at the Inn, please reserve in advance. Member of the: Greenport/Southold Chamber of Commerce Oysterponds Historical Society Slow Foods East End Orient Association Peconic Land Trust bbnofo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Orient Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hotel Orient
Orient Inn Long Island, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing