We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing way to save miles and time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross Sound Ferry

Cross Sound Ferry
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Orient
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
482 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A relaxing way to save miles and time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived on a Saturday, a day earlier than our reservation. They happily changed our itinerary and put us on the very next ferry.
The ride was relaxing and very scenic. The total time was about an hour and a half.
The on and off process was almost seamless, even though we were late arrival and last in line for disembarkation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BandB-Lovers_30-yrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    110
    22
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A great and easy alternative for JFK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Wanted to visit mystic but hated the drive to JFK so looked at map and saw this alternative. Bit steep at $68 for car driver plus 1 but it turned out to be such an easy drive through so much countryside on long island. We turned up early as well and got asked if we wanted to go onto the earlier boat which we did.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jezz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biberach (Riss), Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Even tho the weather wasn't that good, we still had a nice view. It is a fast and really comfortable way to get from Long Island to RI.

Helpful?
1 Thank supiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
511 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nice travel alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had an idea of seeing the length of Long Island, NY and taking the Cross Sound Ferry back to New London, CT. It turned out to be a great idea. Its about 90 minutes across on the car ferry but there is plenty to do on board. There is a little bar area and a nice snack bar as well. Plenty of seats and televisions made it a quick ride across. Also, this trip helped us avoid the I95 corridor through CT which is mind numbing slow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MRVEGAS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A pleaseant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I chose to come home from Mystic, CT utilizing the Cross Sound Ferry from New London, CT to Orient Point, NY. We had a reservation for the ferry which made everything seem so smooth. Boarding the ferry was easy and the food on the ferry was surprisingly tasty. One of the major reasons for choosing this mode of transportation was to travel through the North Fork Wine County of Long Island where we did some wine tasting at the vineyards. I would choose to do this again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Sound Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Cross Sound Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing