We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View. Lousy Food.”

Orient by the Sea Restaurant & Marina
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Orient
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View. Lousy Food.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The location is fabulous, there is no denying that. However, 4 of us ordered a variety of food from seafood, which is plentiful on the menu to meat. It was the worst meal at a $$$$ valued place. You pay for location not food. Recommend having drinks there and leaving it at that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggioCalabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    34
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We want to like it, but . . .”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Orient by the Sea is tired. We have eaten several meals there and we have been disappointed on each occasion. Very nice people run it and work there, but they could do so much better if: a) the food were prepared with skill and effort; b) the service was more attentive and more thoughtful; c) they took better advantage of their incredible location by sprucing up the place; d) the menu did not overreach. Focus on seafood, offer fresh ingredients, and don't use so much oil and grease. Make a decent cocktail, using fresh ingredients instead of mixes and fillers. Serve your food at the appropriate temperature.
Recently, we ordered the fried fisherman's catch, the wrecked chicken and the fish and chips and we left most of the food on our plates, even though we were starving, and even though we waited well over an hour for it to be served after we had ordered. Hardest of all to justify? The pricing. Everything, everything, from beverages to appetizers to entrees, is tagged with a sky-high price. There is so much room for improvement here, and so much potential if someone would see fit to serve better food with more care, creativity, and efficiency. As it is, I cannot recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinotnoir68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Biker friendly beautiful spot on the water”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Beautiful spot off the beaten path, when you want a little bit quieter than Claudios thus is the spot, amazing spot & good food, good people!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, easy feeling...”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Lunch time after a long drive from Manhattan. Beautiful view sitting on the deck checking out the boats, watching the fishermen unload their catch and marking time by the arrivals and departures of the Orient Point-New London ferry. Our primary concern before making our food choice was that whatever we ordered had to be fresh, fresh, fresh. Assured that the Special Cold Seafood Platter complete with half of lobster, two oysters, two shrimp, two clams and cole slaw was indeed fresh, our transition to vacation-mode was complete. Eaten with a local draft beer and attended to by a charming wait staff, everything was delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, a little pricy, food was just okay.”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

During my family vacation we decided to go to this place. Location was easy to find, great view, lovely for a peaceful lunch or dinner.

Food quality was not what we expected considering the location.

Prices were a little high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GEspinosa1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orient by the Sea Restaurant & Marina also viewed

 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
 

Been to Orient by the Sea Restaurant & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing