We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good As Ever”
Review of Wade's Diner

Wade's Diner
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: We are a small diner located at 176 East 9th Street in Oswego, New York. We have been serving breakfast form this location since 1937. We have an excellent relationship with our customers.We have recently changed our hours to accommodate more customers. We are now open mon-sat 6am-12pm and Sundays 7am-1pm.
Plantation, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good As Ever”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It is always a pleasure to eat Breakfast at Wade's The food is always good, the staff is always so friendly and service is consistently outstanding. The prices are so reasonable!! On this visit, the owner Tony was there working hard and making sure the customers were happy. This is a consistently good place to have breakfast and for sure it is the best breakfast in Oswego. Actually it is our favorite place for breakfast, but unfortunately we do not live in Oswego so we get there 4 or 5 times a year. If you have not eaten at Wade's, give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    23
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wade’s Diner - down-home cooking done to perfection”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wade’s Diner is an eatery institution in Oswego. It’s the archetypal
greasy spoon – no high falutin’ décor, no chi-chi menu and no snotty
maitre d’; just down-home cooking done to perfection.
Visited Wade’s for the first time since my hippie/university days of the late 60s. Back then after a serious night of overindulgence at Bucklands or Nunzies, or the disco at Pin-a-rama a group of us would descend upon Wade’s at 2 or 3AM to satisfy our alcohol induced appetites. (back then it was open 24/7). Remember wonderful gut-busters like a platter of fries smothered in gravy or 3 egg omelet with a stack of pancakes or the sausage, biscuits and gravy were de rigueur munchies fare.
Upon my return, naturally for nostalgia’s sake I had to sample Wade’s biscuits and gravy just to see how well it held up to my alcohol tainted memories.
Amazingly, it did! When it comes to sausage, biscuits and gravy, nobody does them as
good as Wade’s Diner. They are working class, culinary bliss.
Now 45, 46 years after my hippie daze, Wade’s grub still can’t be beat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiceyEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grilled for the good guys”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wade's is a true breakfast diner! Eggs any way, omelets, home fried potatoes, grilled home-made raisin bread, plate sized pancakes, coffee & juice, breakfast meats - YUM!

Very friendly, very economical, very delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Definitely Our Favorite Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The thing I like most about Wade's is that the staff seems like family and they treat their customers like family. Even though we are from out of town and only eat there 5-6 times a year or thereabouts, we are treated like regulars. The staff knows our names and even remembers what we like to eat and how we like our coffee; even remembers which one of us drinks decaf.
I had French toast with their cinnamon bread for the first time and I must say it is delicious.
The prices are amazingly low and the food is exceptionally good.

Looking forward to our next visit to Oswego and Wade's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good but not my favorite”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Everyone said this was the best place especially for breakfast. It was good but the portion sizes were not what everyone went non about and it was greasy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpurvis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wade's Diner also viewed

Oswego, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Wade's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing