We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True college town diner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wade's Diner

Wade's Diner
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Oswego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small diner located at 176 East 9th Street in Oswego, New York. We have been serving breakfast form this location since 1937. We have an excellent relationship with our customers.We have recently changed our hours to accommodate more customers. We are now open mon-sat 6am-12pm and Sundays 7am-1pm.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“True college town diner.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stopped in Oswego with my girlfriend on our way back to Indiana from Maine. It wasn't by chance that we stopped there, she is an alumni of the local college. She insisted that we go to Wades for breakfast. Wades diner is just that. Great greasy food that throws your mouth a palate party. The atmosphere gave you a comfortable college town feeling. Overall a great experience, and one to definately have again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoteltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    21
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best omelets”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking for a simple breakfast then you'll love this..They are quick and friendly..Home made breads too.The omelets are the best..nothing fancy..but hometown comfy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always worth the trip”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wade's Diner has been an Oswego tradition. This was our first time there in 20 years & it was just as good as we remembered. The appearance has not changed much, if at all, since we were last there. We arrived prepared to wait a bit [good things are worth the wait], then our party of eight decided to split up to be seated sooner. Those of us seated at the counter got the full show of the cooks working their magic. One of the waitresses has been there for 40 years & still memorizes her orders instead of writing them down. Great hearty brunch food and a lot of it. The chocolate-chip pancakes the kids ordered were large enough they needed us adults to help them finish [Oh, darn!]. The French toast, omelets and cinnamon-raisin toast were all also great. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meemrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal qc
Level Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The local's favourite place to eat”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

While traveling thru Oswego we asked the locals where to have breakfast.
The answer was Wade's . This Diner has history. The service is spot on. The food is good and inexpensive. Only open from 6 a.m.until noon. The place started to fill up just before noon. We were 4 adults and we had cinnamon French toast on homemade bread. Steak and cheese omelet and two full breakfasts. The homemade bread was really good. The fake Maple syrup in gallon jugs definitely did not hit the spot. The place could really use a scrub. Refilled Ketchup bottles with dirty caps and syrup bottles that were sticky and crusted. If you are not too fussy and like homemade food I still recommend this piece of history. They only close 4 days a year and open at 7 a.m. on Sundays. Sure beats fast food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On a visit to Oswego this past weekend, we decided to have breakfast at Wade's. While the decor was in dire need of updating and fitting 4 people in a booth was almost impossible, the food was extraordinary, and the waitress does not use paper checks, she remembers exactly what you had to eat! Amazing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wade's Diner also viewed

 
Oswego, Finger Lakes
 
Oswego, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Wade's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing