We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful wedding reception”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The American Foundry
Ranked #30 of 92 Restaurants in Oswego
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Waitstaff
Oswego, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful place for a wedding or any other large gathering. Mary, her family, and staff are all so nice to work with. The food is always delicious both at their events and weekly bites night. I recently held my wedding here and loved every minute of it and I thank the Foundry staff for making it go so smoothly. They do a great job setting everything up exactly as you want it and take care of everything from start to finish. Mary is so accommodating and an absolute joy to work with. I really don't have a single bad thing to say. All our guest had a wonderful time and loved the food! If you are looking for a wedding reception venue( or really any kind of gathering) Call Mary! She will take of you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Live in Oswego, so get to Attend Events Frequently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

In Oswego there aren't many places that are able to accommodate large crowds. Saying this, it's not just the ability to cater (literally) to large gatherings, but the way the Foundry does it so well. I have never had bad food here! Even when the business committee/non-profit selects the lowest price items on the American Foundry lists, the staff serves it with the same class and friendly service that you will get with the highest priced options. With the exception of voice acoustics, the place has a great sound system for music/bands. I think if you have an event, you might want to bring your own mike, though. But that would be my only recommendation, as I have always had an amazing time. Mary C. 'greets' guests with kindness and helpfulness. I have some dietary restrictions, and I cannot believe what lengths she and her chefs have gone to to accommodate ME, one visitor!!! Amazing, truly. And THIS will tell you something about how they take care of EVERYONE who has an event.

There is plenty of parking, the building is centrally located not far from the center of town. Easy to get to on a major highway (outside the door and down the LONGGGGG driveway).
And tastefully decorated. Bartenders and wait staff are also kind/knowledgeable.

I think you can't go wrong for a mid-sized to large (100 plus) person event! They will even close off the top area for a smaller event. They are great. Can't say more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Booklady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful company gathering for 100”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent food and service with a tapas menu for a work function. Staff could not have been nicer or more efficient. Every single offering that came out was exquisite. Plus, the smaller portions of the tapas-style set up was perfect to try new things you wouldn't normally order. Our party was on a Friday, but I understand they do a "Bite Night" with the same menu options on Thursdays. We will definitely go and try this out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbrady76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

Went here for a business breakfast. Food was good. Place was large enough for the gathering. Would probably consider for a gathering I might want to put on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kpurvis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for a party or dinning out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Attended a company party here and it was wonderful. The service was fantastic and the setting and atmosphere was very nice. Locally owned and operated.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PwrBrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The American Foundry also viewed

Oswego, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The American Foundry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing