We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, but really cold in the fall season”
Review of The Copper Oven

The Copper Oven
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Ovid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Copper Oven's specialty is wood fired pizza. Our menu rotates monthly and relies on home grown and locally sourced ingredients. We promise you good food in a laid back and friendly environment. The Copper Oven is located at Cayuga Ridge Estate Winery, in the center of the Cayuga Wine Trail West in the Finger Lakes region.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“Awesome food, but really cold in the fall season”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stopped at my favorite winery on Cayuga lake, Cayuga Ridge Estate, and decided to try the copper oven. Wow, what a great experience! I loved the October fest pizza, such a unique and creative use of ingredients! The staff at both the winery and the restaurant were young, enthusiastic, and nice. The only negative thing I have to say is that it was really cold and a bit uncomfortable, but I understand because it is primarily outside and it is the fall season right now. I can't wait to come back and see it in it's prime season during the warmer seasons!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachgurl2060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romulus, New York
1 review
“Yummmmmmmmmy”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Copper Oven makes wonderfully, delicious pizza. Pizza, wine, and a great view...Who could ask for more?!?! The atmosphere is wonderful. You can sit in the sun or the shade, with all of your loved ones. They are even dog friendly, so you don't have to leave your four legged family member at home :) I live very close to The Copper Oven. Whenever my friends are home for a visit, or out of town family & friends are in town, we go for pizza, wine, and a great time :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CayugaLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlville, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“cold but well worth it!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

wanted to get back here before it closed for the winter and although it was a little chilly we had another wonderful time. Food to die for, the meat platter is our fav as the cheese platter is my sisters fav. The pizza is every bit worth having a small chill, love the bbq flat bread pizza the best. everyone here is so welcoming and friendly its like having dinner with family.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loisc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Light On Toppings”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

While the ambiance is lovely with a covered deck eating area and view, we did a take out. The thin crust was nicely wood fired crisp, but there was very little on it. Consequently, the small pizzas (personal size) were over priced and very disappointing. In spite of just a few people eating, we waited an extremely long time for our pizzas to be prepared and cooked on top of it all.

We had seen wood fired pizzas at the Ithaca Farmers Market which looked wonderful. We should have waited in line for one of those!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skircher, Owner at The Copper Oven, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Many thanks for your review - especially because it helps us to clarify a couple of things. TRIPADVISOR READERS please take note:

1) Our Take Out Policy - Takeout is available on a limited basis when we can handle it. Sometimes we are too busy with in-house dining to offer pizza, etc. to go. Please understand our first priority is people eating in the restaurant. This policy is posted in BOLD letters on our website.

2) We Are Not Dominos - Like you suggested in your review, you should definitely try Finger Lakes Flatbread at the Ithaca Farmer's Market. Their pizza is awesome (and worth the long line). But if you're looking for pie with more toppings, you'll probably be disappointed again. Why? Because our approach to pizza is the same - i.e., we purposely use toppings in moderation to achieve a balance with our thin crust. But you're from New Jersey (one of the few true pizza capitals of the world) so we know you know this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Copper Oven serves great pizza - light, with unusual and distinctive flavors. And the setting - on an open porch - is very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barney917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Copper Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Copper Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing