We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Traminette wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thirsty Owl Wine Company

Thirsty Owl Wine Company
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Ovid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
434 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent Traminette wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thirsty Owl was one of several wineries we stopped at during our recent vacation time at Cayuga Lake. It's one of the listed ones on the Cayuga Lake Winery Trail along the west side of the lake. They have a bistro there, including outdoor patio seating with great views of Cayuga Lake.

We had planned to do the wine tasting, but it was crowded and there was no space at the counter. Rather than wait, I decided to go ahead and buy a few bottles, based on my review of their website and the wines that were medal winners. I selected 3 of their white wines: 2013 Traminette, 2013 Snow Owl, and 2012 Diamond. The Traminette and Diamond were excellent semi-sweet wines. I've not had a chance yet to taste the Snow Owl but I'm looking forward to doing so. They have a Cabernet Sauvignon Ice Wine, but it seemed relatively expensive at almost $40 for a 375-mL bottle, so we passed on it. We found less expensive ice wines at other nearby Cayuga Lake wineries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    11
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Great winery
Wine taste very well and facilities very well maintained
Amazing view and people were very friendly
A+

Helpful?
1 Thank speedracer8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great Pinot Noir”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

A really top Pinto Noir, nice outdoor area on the deck and a great view. Also good food in the bistro.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wines and scenic views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The wines were awesome. My husband and I like white wines and we loved all the white wines we tasted! The staff is very nice and we enjoyed our tasting! We will be back on our next visit to the Finger Lakes!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PattiDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good wine, beautiful view, and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped by the Thirsty Owl for wine tasting and lunch. We were impressed by the wines, especially the whites....which surprised us since normally drink reds. The Snow Owl is an excellent choice.

The lunch was good as well.

It's easy to find and worth a stop if you are wine tasting in the Finger Lakes region.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkbSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thirsty Owl Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Owl Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing