We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely THE Worst!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ozone Park
Lake Placid
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely THE Worst!”
Reviewed 13 October 2008

It was a low-life, disgusting hotel. The whole cover for the light in the bathroom fell on my head. When I told the front desk, they said 'oh'. I asked for a taxi in the morning and they sent someone from their family and tried to get 35 dollars for a short ride to JFK airport. Their website is inaccurate, it's in a run-down, shabby neighborhood, some 'working' girls were making a lot of noise at 4 am--outside the hotel and then inside. NEVER stay here.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — disgusting
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cladoyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    6
    7
    20
See reviews for
7
13
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

If you read this and still stay at this hotel, you'll reap like I did. But I am begging you, DO NOT STAY.

First, I was over charged in 'error' at check in. It was corrected only after I raised a stink.

Second, this place is frequented by johns and prostitutes. I saw with my own eyes. The staff rent the rooms in low increment hours to people who live in the neighborhood (what does that tell you?).

Third, the first room I tried to sleep in reeked of urine and amonia, the second one, smelled more of amonia then urine. These smells were extremely strong. Since the amonia was winning and it was late I stayed there. Imagine trying to eat your dinner with those smells? Carpet and walls were stained as well.

Fourth, if you have a heavy suitcase and/or handicaped and there is no availability downstairs, you are in trouble. No elevators. (In fact, watch out for that at any non-four star place you stay).

This is a no brainer.

Stay Away and spend the money for a decent hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank myopinonCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ozone Park hotels

the Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed in this hotel for the last 3 nights in NY last year.
The price was ok, but the service and the rooms were poor.

The room was quite dirty, stains on the walls and floor.
The bed was clean.
The bathroom was dirty also.

There was one bad working lock on the door, so we had to put all of our suitcases before the door, in order to keep it closed.
The neighbourhood looked not so good, but we walked to the subway and back a few times and there were no problems!
The people in this neighbourhood we met were friendly!

To be honoust, I would never go to this hotel back again, never!
I rather payed 3 times the rate, before I would go back.

  • Liked — The price and close to JFK
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, noise, poor locks on the door and window, smell etc...
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BoerkeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Well me and 2 of my girlfriends were returning from a lovely Bahamas cruise and our flight home got diverted to NYC to our surprise! We were excited to stay in such an awesome city!

At the airport we didnt have any luggage, just our carry-on. We phoned every hotel/motel in the area and nothing was available. We called the Econo Lodge in Queens. They said they are a family hotel. Like a previous reviewer mentioned, this place was a hopping spot after midnight! It was gross. We could hear the clicking of heels walking every 10 minutes and people outside our door. We even found a bedbug (gross!)

Needles to say, we brought everything with us and headed to NYC via cab until 3:30am and only stayed until 6am. I don't think we even slept...

To top the whole experience off, in the morning we saw a prostitute and her "boss" leaving in a car that came to get them!

DO NOT STAY HERE! Especially females!

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The Whole Experience!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YochCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed here after arriving in the late night to JFK, going to NYC in the morning. We also stayed here on our last evening as we had an early morning flight. It was a short taxi ride to between JFK and the hotel. It was cheap looking and very basic on the busy Rockaway Boulevard.

The check in staff were quite dull and uninterested. We found our own way to the room up a tight staircase and corridor, opening the wooden door with a traditional yale key. The first room was a good size, with a desk, lamp and chair. There was a distinct smell of damp that was quite unpleasant. The room did have an air conditioning unit but this was quite noisy. A busy road meant it wasn't a good idea to have the window open. The walls seemed sturdy but there was some noise from a neighbouring room. It may just have been loud TV though. This room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom was in average condition, again being quite well kept, see picture.

The second room we had (on our departing night) smelt even stronger of damp and was in a dirty and dusty condition with stains on the carpets and walls. The plumbing made a lot of noise with the bathroom being in bad repair. Room size was ok but not spacious. Both rooms had drawers, bedside tables and lamps, a phone and 21" TV with a good range of channels.

There is a clean, tidy communal kitchen area with a microwave, hot water, vending and ice machines and this is where some basic breakfast food is left. The orange juice, biscuits, coffee, muffins, pastries and other condiments were all fresh and good quality to grab on our way out.

The area did seem a little questionable, but we didn't see or hear any problems. In fact the people in the shop and the pizza take out across the road were very friendly and it was cheap. The Metro (Rockaway Blvd A) is a mile away along Rockaway Blvd, a good 20mins with a case.

In conclusion, for the price we paid it was OK. The first room was good except for the damp smell, which subsided with the air con. The bathroom and facilities were good. The second room was smaller and in a bad state of cleanliness and repair. The photos are of the first, better room

  • Liked — Close to JFK, has good food shops around it
  • Disliked — Dirty, dusty room and damp smelling
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KlickingKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Beware - this is a place that rents out to hourly clients. The neighborhood is worse than sketchy, the vending machine sells condoms/lube. We unknowingly booked it thru Expedia, but wouldn't stay there. The front desk clerk seemed surprised to see us and didn't bill us, but we were left without a place to stay which was a real inconvenience the night before our 7am flight back home.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank CJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This had to be the worst place we have ever stayed! The rooms were manky, the bathroom was falling to bits, the area was dodgy, the night time behaviour of our neighbours was...well, we reckon she was getting paid, the staff were noisy and the breakfast was pants. Don't let me put you off though! The only positive was ....well I found $20 in the foyer !

  • Liked — Finding $20 in the foyer
  • Disliked — Do you really have to ask!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryNewcastle_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozone Park
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
2.2 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
2.0 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
1.2 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 11318 Rockaway Blvd, Ozone Park, NY 11420-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Ozone Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ozone Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ozone Park, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing