We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing around the motel”
Review of JFK Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JFK Airport
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ozone Park
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing around the motel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights in May of 2014. The motel is very basic. The rooms are nice, comfortable beds but indoor lighting is very little. The view I had was of the highway so nothing great to see except cars stuck in a traffic jam. Parking is very limited at the motel so you have to park at the adjacent road if parking is full. The breakfast is ok for a continental breakfast, choices are very limited. Also, its not near a subway station so you have to take the shuttle to the airport and then get yourself to Jamaica station to get on the subway.
Overall, I thought i paid too high of a price for such a motel (~$150 / night) and didnt get what I deserve but I guess thats what you pay in NY for such a motel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kais E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    77
    101
    59
    54
See reviews for
119
84
62
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

How long would you wait for a hotel shuttle pick up at JFK airport? I waited for 55 minutes, and the van arrived when I was going to catch a cab. Definitely not a good idea for a cold winter day. The vans for all other thinkable chains came 2-3 times during the wait - Days Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Hilton, Hampton Court, Comfort Inn, etc - I recommend reserving these instead, unless you're happy to wait for an hour. The dispatcher said that La Quinta tended to be slow but would come around, so it doesn't seem to be just this day. The hotel phone wasn't working (The receptionist said that the area had lost phone service due to a storm), and there was no way of canceling the reservation or asking where a shuttle is ...

Inside the hotel was not bad, the room was clean and bright. The bed is rather small but OK for one person. The hotel was short-staffed, and I was asked to come down to the front desk to pick up things that were missing in the room!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room far from the elevator. It beeps every time it moves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ozone Park hotels

Ft Worth TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotels is a little ways from the airport, on the service road of a freeway, and surrounded by a neighborhood of houses, shops and a small park. Although not particularly welcoming from the outside, once inside it is clean, modern, nicely decorated and well kept. Everyone that I interacted with was efficient. The queen room I had was on the back of the hotel and was small but comfortable for a night sleep. The linens were fresh and the bed had 3 pillow, all of them plump and comfortable. The AC/heating unit is in the room so it can be as warm or as cool as the guest wants the room to be. Noise was not an issue, although there appeared to be a nightclub behind the hotel with constant music. Once the window was closed, the noise was gone. The bathroom was roomy and furnished with large, thick bath sheets, soap, shampoo and tissues. The shuttle to/from JFK is free and runs every hour on the hour in the morning and was exactly on time the morning I rode it to the airport. From the airport, the shuttle picks ups at Federal Circle (the stop after Terminal 8 on the airtrain). It is a good idea to call the hotel for pick up and they will come right over. From the hotel to the airport, the shuttle goes directly to the terminal for drop off. Free breakfast is offered from 7:30 am to 9:30am but I was gone by 7am so cannot comment on it. No complaints about the room, the service or the price. For a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable rate, this hotel fills the bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0124...barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed in many lg properties but this one (stay away). We stayed for 1.5 nights and our room wreaked of sweat, the night stand had someone's paperwork in it who had been arrested. One of the best things about laquinta is their beds. This one bought thin foam mattresses and didn't even have an innerspring under it they layed it over plywood. So consequently when you sunk into the foam you were laying on the hard plywood. most lq hotels we have stayed in tried to make your stay comfortable. This hotel was a joke. The carpet in the halls was laid crooked from one end of the hall to the other it was at least 4 to 6 inches out of line.. Every. Corner was cut at this hotel to save money. It does not deserve to be a laquinta. Inn. They don't have enough parking either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Rodney805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We only stayed here for a night between our flights. If you want to stay longer, don't stay here. The rooms are much smaller than they appear in photos and although they look clean, they stink. It's also very noisy because of the highway. Bathrooms are clean and big enough. There's a free shuttle service from/to JFK. However, you need to walk to the shuttle area for the service to the hotel. On the way back, they drop you to your desired Terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Sinan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What you will not find on their website nor did the front desk clerk advise us on is that you need to get the Air Train to the hotel shuttle area. And that there are two Air Trains, only one of which goes to the Federal Circle stop. The other takes you just to the terminals. This is important information to have if you have 4 checked, 4 carry-ons and a small dog on a leash. If you have a children, I'm sure it will be event more challenging. The king-size bedroom with microwave and fridge is cramped even for 2 normally sized people. Would be uncomfortable if you are a large person. Room was clean. Heating/AC unit loud but it drowns out the road & hall noises. this is not the place to stay if you are counting on finding a casual restaurant where you can have dinner and wine. We walked about a one-mile range in four directions. You want a deli or other take-out, you're in luck. Some people might not feel comfortable walking through this aging residential area. If you plan on arriving alone, well-fed, with little luggage and tired enough to pass out, this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on roadside if you're sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_R_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ozone Park
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
1.3 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 30 in Jamaica
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JFK Airport

Property: JFK Airport
Address: 11126 Van Wyck Expy, Ozone Park, NY 11420-1815
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Ozone Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ozone Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — JFK Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jfk Airport Hotel Ozone Park
La Quinta Inn And Suites Jfk Airport
JFK Airport Ozone Park, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing