We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Online this place appears to be a decent place to stay but pictures can be deceiving . I thought the rooms were behind the lobby in a nicer building, boy was I wrong. All rooms are outside accessible which is nice but they look like they haven't been taken care of in years. Our room was very musty and moldy smelling, the carpets were sticky, sheets had body fluid stains, the bathtub was just gross and the entrance door had a large crack in it that let in enough light to keep me awake all night (good thing it wasn't snowing!) the front desk staff seemed completely clueless to the fact that they were charging holiday inn prices for a no tell motel experience. I will be calling corporate as soon as I'm done with this review to get my money back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveler1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Although we continually strive for excellence, there are times when our guests may experience less than acceptable service or perceived value for their money. We are very aware that travelers are looking for the best value for their hard earned money and I apologize that you felt you didn't get adequate services for the price paid. We have refunded your stay and we do hope to have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    35
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
52
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had a decidedly mixed experience -- some nice features, some basic deficits. I stayed here only because it was one of the only options on an unplanned trip. It's a huge old motel laid out in two-story buildings. My room was big -- a little bare, but clean and neat. The bed was quite firm, which I like. The fixtures were mostly new, but there's no hiding the age of the buildings, like water stains on the ceiling. The shower had good pressure and good hot water. My main problem was the faceplate on the door to the room was falling off, and it looked like the wood of the frame had been screwed into so many times, there wasn't much left. Didn't feel entirely safe -- it was hard to get the dead-bolt locked and even then I wasn't sure the whole thing wouldn't give way. The staff was nice and overall it wasn't bad, but I wouldn't do it again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bufordwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Painted Post hotels

Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I booked this room on Expedia and I was a little afraid at first because there were so many negative reviews but all in all I think those people were expecting something that they weren't paying for. We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and it served its purpose. We had a room with 2 queens and a rollaway bed and still had room for the playpen for the baby. The room and bathroom were clean and the a.c. worked great. The breakfast was a continental breakfast... muffins, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal and fruit.. My kids were happy with it and since I didn't have to spend $50 on breakfast everyday I was happy too. We traveled to Horseheads and Elmira the whole time we were there and it was totally worth a few minutes drive to save over $100 a night compared to the other hotels in Horseheads. So the final verdict is.. if you want to stay at a resort and spa... pay for a resort and spa... if you want a nice place to sleep after a long day of visiting family or attractions... save the money and stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank You for your positive review! Everyone here at Americas Best Value Inn is looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have had a wonderful experience! The beds are super comfy, the front desk, the housekeeping, and the maintenance people were ready to assist us with anything we needed! We have been here one week now and are staying one more week! The room is very clean, the refrigerator is the perfect size for us to keep food and drinks we purchase from the Walmart that is about a 5 minute walk away, the internet connection has never failed, and the POOL the POOL is perfect! The pool is a family pool perfect for children under 10 as well as for adults. The internet and the pool ALONE are worth the stay! Everyone is so nice around here! I really did not know what to expect when we came from Houston, but I would definitely recommend this place for anyone (individual and family) to stay! It is close to Market street, Corning Glass, Mickey D's, Walmart, Applebees, Subway, Arby's, parks, lakes, wineries! I am so thankful I chose this place! I can't stand when I choose a hotel for my family and it is under-par, especially when we have to stay in it for more than one week! This place exceeded my expectations! We will be staying here during our next visits!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank You for your positive review! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

When we got there, we noticed the door sticked an awful lot when we tried to get in. We had to push real hard. Same thing with the bathroom door. My family loved the wifi access for our tablets and the TV was in good working condition. The air conditioning also worked well since it was hot in our room. The beds were comfortable for my kids and I, but my husband woke up with the worst back ache. In the morning when I tried taking a shower, the bottle of shampoo in the basket was completely empty. I could have called the front desk, but I shouldn't have had to. :( Breakfast was good, but there was no protein on the menu..not even boiled eggs..SO disappointed! The orange juice also tasted funny. The Inn wasn't what we had thought and it should actually be called a Motel. However, I loved the fact that there was a fridge in the room. The housekeeper came to our door way too early at 9:30 or 10AM. Check out time wasn't even until 11AM. What if we had still been sleeping?? Not really impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cariselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario,
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for one night. Had a huge room that was very clean with a king bed and very nice pillows. Wi-fi worked great and did not require a password. Motel was within walking distance to Home Depot, Walmart, restaurant and a small assortment of stores.
Not much of a breakfast though.....muffins, cereal or oatmeal, all packaged. That was our only complaint. Young lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very spacious and clean room we were in a king suite but our stay was not so great. The heater did not work in spite of the maintenance guy changing the batteries so we spent a very cold first night the bed comforter did not help at all as it was super light but the heat was fixed the next day after I complained again. The next night we couldn't get access to our room after a long day, apparently they had checked us out with all our stuff still inside the room after talking to the front desk lady who was in a foul mood our cards were reset . The breakfast is just so they can have it on their list of freebies it consisted of cold cereal ,muffins and beverages. Location is good its near to a small strip mall and Wi fi worked efficiently.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust8077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your honest and constructive review. I would like to personally apologize for the failing heating unit and the untimely fashion in which it was taken care of, as well as the demeanor of the Front Desk Attendant. I do wish that the attendant had better explained the key card's magnetic strip and the need for a protective sleeve so that they would not stop working. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.

It is unfortunate that the Complimentary Continental Breakfast was not what you expected. We are continually upgrading and improving our amenities and services at the hotel and will continue to look into alternate cost effective breakfast options.

I thank you for your kind comments. You have noted that our guest rooms were "very spacious and clean" and I will make sure that these comments reach our housekeeping staff, who work hard every day to ensure a positive guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.6 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Radisson Hotel Corning
#1 of 6 in Corning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Corning Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 196 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Lodge on the Green’s 135 guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed. We provide an AM/FM alarm clock, personal coffee maker, television with cable including HBO, non-smoking rooms/facilities and truck/RV/Motorcoach parking. We offer a Cold Complimentary Continental Breakfast as well as a seasonal outdoor heated pool open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We are a pet-friendly hotel, so feel free to bring that extra member of your family along for a small fee. For our business travelers we offer 24 hour copy and fax services, as well as data-ports in every room and free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Lodge On The Green Hotel Painted Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing