We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night during our round trip on our way from Niagara Falls to Pennsylvania. Ok, the motel is cheap but that's about it. Our room smelled terribly when we arrived. We could not open a window. There is a back door to the lawn, but we could not open this door either, so the smell stayed during our stay. The sheet of one of the beds was dirty, it had a big stain on it. Calling the reception was of no use, because no one picked up the phone. We got a new sheet at the reception that dit not fit well and had to make up our own bed because housekeeping was no longer available. No sorry, nothing. The lady at the reception had to take care of everything all by herself and was not very friendly. The rooms are big, there is a refridgerator and a microwave. Next to the hotel is a Applebee's and Wallmart, very convenient. The bathroom was not clean, a lot of mould stains around the bath and shower. One set of towels was missing, so we had to go back once more to the reception to pick it up. The breakfast was terrible. A lot of people in a small room around the reception area with just a few tables and chairs. The quality and quantity was very poor. Better not to serve any breakfast at all than this. OK, it is a budget motel, but cleanliness and friendliness cost nothing. Next time we would make a different choice

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacky61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank You for your review. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. The issues that you have experienced are inexcusable. Had we known about the odor at check in, we would have been more than happy to move your room or take care of the cause. I would also like to apologize for the dirty linen and the demeanor of our staff. We pride ourselves on our friendly, welcoming atmosphere and large clean rooms, and I will take appropriate action to make sure this won't happen in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we will do our best to make sure your next stay is pleasant. For your future reference, all doors and windows are sealed shut besides the main door due to previous franchise restrictions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great location (for the price) to explore Corning NY area and the Finger Lakes. King bed was very comfortable. In room microwave, coffee and fridge were a surprise. Staff are pleasant and welcoming. Area was quiet to sleep at night. Food and shopping available in mall next door. Corning down the road in 2 exits and lots to see.

Room Tip: we had room on lower level at the back which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank You for your positive review! Everyone here at Americas Best Value Inn is looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is obviously an older property, which normally isn't a problem, except for the fact that along one wall of the room I was assigned the baseboard is falling off and there is a huge hole in the corner. As the room was adjacent to the exterior of the property, I was quite concerned as to what might be crawling in in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TaraVegas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

I would like to take the time to apologize for your stay with us. I have discussed these issues with our Executive Maintenance Engineer and I will make sure that there are no rooms in this condition. In the future, we would like to offer you a discount on your next stay with us, or at least recommend one of the other many hotels in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We went to this Inn for one night on our way home from Canada.
The Inn was very clean and the room was comfortable.
The room had a refrigerator,coffee maker and hairdryer.
It also had free WiFi, which was a little slow and cable tv.
The Continental breakfast consisted of fruit, yogurt, cereal,coffee,tea,milk,muffins and some packaged danish.
The woman at the front desk was friendly and gave us suggestions for our dinner.
We did not have time to check out the pool but it looked nice and clean.

I would recommend this Inn if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEWELRYLADY39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank You for your positive review! Everyone here at Americas Best Value Inn is looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The room was large and clean, the parking easy. "Continental" breakfast was sparse, but edible - and even the coffee was good.

Only issue, if you have an old GPS like I do, you may have trouble finding the hotel - all the roads in the area have been rebuilt and moved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BIll_03031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank You for your positive review! Everyone here at Americas Best Value Inn is looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you read through the reviews you will see some people loved it, others hated it. I didn't know what to expect. It was actually quite nice. Don't expect a fancy five star hotel. After all, the rooms are less than a hundred a night!

My family stayed here four days and it worked well for us. The staff were all really friendly. The breakfast was just individual boxes of cereal, yogurt, and some muffins and fruit. The pool was nice. They have coin op laundry, 1.25 wash, .75 dry, and they worked well. The area is walking distance to Walmart, aldi, applebees, and several banks. Landscaping is maintained, and the surroundings feel safe. The room we stayed in had a mini fridge and microwave.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if your room is recently refinished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seven_Ws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank You for your positive review! Everyone here at Americas Best Value Inn is looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Online this place appears to be a decent place to stay but pictures can be deceiving . I thought the rooms were behind the lobby in a nicer building, boy was I wrong. All rooms are outside accessible which is nice but they look like they haven't been taken care of in years. Our room was very musty and moldy smelling, the carpets were sticky, sheets had body fluid stains, the bathtub was just gross and the entrance door had a large crack in it that let in enough light to keep me awake all night (good thing it wasn't snowing!) the front desk staff seemed completely clueless to the fact that they were charging holiday inn prices for a no tell motel experience. I will be calling corporate as soon as I'm done with this review to get my money back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrequentTraveler1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcieStratton, Director of Sales at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Although we continually strive for excellence, there are times when our guests may experience less than acceptable service or perceived value for their money. We are very aware that travelers are looking for the best value for their hard earned money and I apologize that you felt you didn't get adequate services for the price paid. We have refunded your stay and we do hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.6 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
525 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
288 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 5 in Elmira
141 reviews
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Big Flats (Elmira)
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 196 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9165
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range: £58 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Lodge on the Green’s 135 guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and tastefully appointed. We provide an AM/FM alarm clock, personal coffee maker, television with cable including HBO, non-smoking rooms/facilities and truck/RV/Motorcoach parking. We offer a Cold Complimentary Continental Breakfast as well as a seasonal outdoor heated pool open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. We are a pet-friendly hotel, so feel free to bring that extra member of your family along for a small fee. For our business travelers we offer 24 hour copy and fax services, as well as data-ports in every room and free wireless high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Lodge On The Green Hotel Painted Post

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing