We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent for the price. Very friendly staff, clean room, high speed Internet for free, tons of hot water in the shower and great water pressure. Had car trouble and came a day late was not charged for that night. Good breakfast toaster waffles, cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Nothing fancy, but a lot more than you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    39
    29
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
43
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
K-W
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My family came to Corning mainly for the Corning Museum of Glass, and we knew we were going to be rather busy throughout the whole day so we didn't want to overpay for accommodation in the area. The Corning Inn fit the bill perfectly.

It's not a glamorous place and the beds aren't luxurious by any means and the breakfast is average. The rooms do need to be touched up with paint and new bedspreads, etc., but hey it's not grungy as some other places that are more well known and charge a lot more but provide less of a service. The staff were friendly and quickly found two more towels for us when we reported that there were only two in the room for the four of us.

I would give it four stars for matching the expectations we had of the hotel coming in, the price point and for the decent-enough sleep, and take away one star for not having enough towels when it was known there would be four staying in the room and for the unappealing look on the walls of the bathroom for a net total of three stars.

Bottom line, if you're there to be out all day, this will fit the bill perfectly. If you're looking for a bit of romance or to spend more than one night in the area, I'd suggest upgrading to a better quality place for an extra $50 more per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We usually stay in a hotel in the Corning, NY area on our way to and from Canada. We thought we'd try this one this time. It's not the best in the area and certainly not the worst either. It's certainly okay for an overnight stay. There was a mix up on our reservation through Cheaptickets and they had us listed for two double beds. I wanted a king bed and the management did accommodate us with that even though they didn't have to. I also had a problem with the TV in the room. The management took care of replacing the TV as soon as I called. Very fast service. Can't say much for the breakfast the following morning. The only hot thing they had was the do-it-yourself waffles. Other than that, everything that was set out was cold. No eggs, no meat, etc. Like I said, it's okay for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct to get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hughesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Corning Inn is a basic motel. But it was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. If you would like an economical, no-frills but reasonably comfortable accommodation. The front desk person was friendly at 3:00 am in the morning. The hotel good use a few more outlets for all the new devices the modern day travelers carry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEyoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Not a real fancy place but nice and clean friendly staff. Close to resteraunts and highway . Probably be staying here again in the future the price is right. Lots of construction work in the area and oil and gas workers so sometimes hard to get a room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Old furnishings. Old TV. Clean room and bathroom. Bathroom ceiling needed a little repair. Wifi was a good connection. Quiet room. Breakfast was good with a little less selection. Basic no frills hotel. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keg-026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White House, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Corning Inn for two nights for a kamikaze winery trip. I was a little wary even with the decent reviews here considering the price per night. Usually, you get what you pay for. I needn't have worried. The hotel was clean-if you don't look too close. There were some burn holes in the blankets, and some stains here and there, but it was basically clean. Bathroom was spotless-big points. Considering this was no frills, it was fine. We brought our own coffee maker, and had some issues plugging it in-we messed up the cable tv line but were able to fix it.
We forgot our coffee(oops)-there is a Walmart two minutes down the road. Also an Applebees where we had dinner the first night. Food was good. The only complaint I have is that they don't serve too much local wine-I guess because it's a chain,but they did have Dr. Franks. Staff was friendly and attentive. But I'm getting off point.

Back to the hotel-the lady at the front desk seemed confused about who I was. Apparently there was another guest with a similar name. Luckily I had brought my reservation confirmation, and that was settled. I suggest you bring yours as well.

I think we had the only smoking room in the whole hotel. There was no ashtray-a bit odd. We had to ask for one and there seemed to be only one. Not sure what that's all about. Also the bed was like a board-extremely uncomfortable. I would suggest they upgrade. Not good for the back at all. Also the room was oddly set up-the bed was pushed all the way over to the right-only one bedside table. But these are minor issues.

We did not have breakfast so I can't comment on that. We bought donuts at Walmart-more than adequate as we were planning on a big lunch.

It was pretty quiet considering we were right off the interstate. Isolated and convenient at the same time.

I would definitely stay here again. Price was great- I got a deal at $55 a night. Ask for the lowest rate when you call. Even at the regular rate of $65 a night it's still a bargain. It is also a drive to the lakes-it took us an hour to get to Bully Hill winery, and another hour to get to Canandaigua, but the scenery is beautiful so we didn't mind the drive at all.

If you stay anywhere near the lakes you will pay over $100 a night. Spend it on wine instead!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back on the second floor-less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Painted Post
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
270 reviews
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Property: Corning Inn
Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing