We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money”
Review of Corning Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corning Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Upstate Ny
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice people running the place--just needs a bit more in the way of renovations
(clean or discard filthy room chair, scrub mildew off tub surround seams, wipe down the
breakfast area vending containers). New blankets and comforters are needed,
but for $55 a nite, can't expect everything to be perfect.
The shower was great (even with the mildew).
As others have reviewed, I was on the first floor and SASQUATCH must've been
roaming around in the room above me (till 2 a.m.). Crazy noisy. NOT the hotel's
fault--heavy walkers should think before they tromp around like that!
Might stay elsewhere next time, if I want to cough up three times the cost!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cls265UpstateNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    39
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
43
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We used the Corning Inn as a staging area for our Finger Lakes waterfall sightseeing. If you keep in mind that it is a rebranded Motel 6 and therefore expect just basic accommodations then you won't be disappointed. Our room was comfortable with just basic furnishings. We slept well and awoke to basic breakfast fare. A lot of truckers use the inn due to its close proximity to Interstate 86. And for that very same reason we stayed here due to the inn's location which was ideal for our touring in the area. Also across the street is a Super Walmart and an Applebees restaurant...and we used both.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicemeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent for the price. Very friendly staff, clean room, high speed Internet for free, tons of hot water in the shower and great water pressure. Had car trouble and came a day late was not charged for that night. Good breakfast toaster waffles, cereal, muffins, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Nothing fancy, but a lot more than you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K-W
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My family came to Corning mainly for the Corning Museum of Glass, and we knew we were going to be rather busy throughout the whole day so we didn't want to overpay for accommodation in the area. The Corning Inn fit the bill perfectly.

It's not a glamorous place and the beds aren't luxurious by any means and the breakfast is average. The rooms do need to be touched up with paint and new bedspreads, etc., but hey it's not grungy as some other places that are more well known and charge a lot more but provide less of a service. The staff were friendly and quickly found two more towels for us when we reported that there were only two in the room for the four of us.

I would give it four stars for matching the expectations we had of the hotel coming in, the price point and for the decent-enough sleep, and take away one star for not having enough towels when it was known there would be four staying in the room and for the unappealing look on the walls of the bathroom for a net total of three stars.

Bottom line, if you're there to be out all day, this will fit the bill perfectly. If you're looking for a bit of romance or to spend more than one night in the area, I'd suggest upgrading to a better quality place for an extra $50 more per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pb630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We usually stay in a hotel in the Corning, NY area on our way to and from Canada. We thought we'd try this one this time. It's not the best in the area and certainly not the worst either. It's certainly okay for an overnight stay. There was a mix up on our reservation through Cheaptickets and they had us listed for two double beds. I wanted a king bed and the management did accommodate us with that even though they didn't have to. I also had a problem with the TV in the room. The management took care of replacing the TV as soon as I called. Very fast service. Can't say much for the breakfast the following morning. The only hot thing they had was the do-it-yourself waffles. Other than that, everything that was set out was cold. No eggs, no meat, etc. Like I said, it's okay for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct to get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hughesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Corning Inn is a basic motel. But it was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. If you would like an economical, no-frills but reasonably comfortable accommodation. The front desk person was friendly at 3:00 am in the morning. The hotel good use a few more outlets for all the new devices the modern day travelers carry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EEyoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Not a real fancy place but nice and clean friendly staff. Close to resteraunts and highway . Probably be staying here again in the future the price is right. Lots of construction work in the area and oil and gas workers so sometimes hard to get a room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Painted Post
0.3 mi away
Ramada Painted Post Corning
Ramada Painted Post Corning
#3 of 7 in Painted Post
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Painted Post
135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Corning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Corning/Painted Post
2.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Corning
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Corning
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Property: Corning Inn
Address: 255 S Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870-9782 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corning Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing