We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm spot in my heart for this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our annual vacation and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We were particularly appreciative of the live jazz in the cozy restaurant, and the friendly and welcoming owner Al, who joined our table for dinner and invited me to sing a few songs with the band. What we had thought was just going to be a place to sleep while we toured the area turned out to be our favorite part of the trip! Our room was clean and quiet and had a nice porch out front for morning coffee. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Catskill Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed a couple of nights at Catskill Mountain Lodge while taking our yearly mother/daughter tour. After settling down, we decided to have dinner at the restaurant. Al, the owner, came and introduced himself, and his wife, and asked if we feel comfortable staying there. After finding out that my daughter sings, Al invited her to sing along with his band. We had such a memorable stay there because Al is such a kind and friendly manager, and his staff treated us very nice. The food was great. And, we had a very comfortable room to sleep in. The location is very convenient for us to tour around. What more do you ask for a stay like this?

We actually stayed there in Sept, 2011. When my daughter and I talked about our next trip, we remembered how much fun we had there, and planned to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It was mildewed, dated, (see photo of television) broken, dingy, poorly lit, unattended, and the price was misstated on the internet. (We paid extra for a "deluxe room with a balcony" only to find there were no balconies. The extra fee was not refunded. ) We did not find "Cathy and Al" friendly when we could find them, which wasn't often. Keep looking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank morraineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 5 days at CML (room 119) despite the bad impressions from Hotel Impossible episode. Room smelled strongly of mothballs the entire stay. No coffee in room (1 K-cup - want more? $1.50 each at the desk). Coffee in lobby? EMPTY! Front desk rarely attended. Was charged entire cost of stay at check-in. No check-out (no one at desk). Small CRT Color TV in room. NO CELL PHONE SIGNAL in room. Virtually no soundproofing in walls, doors, ceiling. Rustic and different - sure. Outdated rooms, no customer service is not quaint, it is unacceptable. We will NOT return and advise others to keep looking. Lots of options in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this is our third trip to hunter mountain,and our first stay at this establishment. rooms are clean,plenty of hot water,staff is friendly and helpful.approx.ten miles to major stores and restaurants, approx ten miles to venue, can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Catskill Mountain Lodge while attending TAP NY at Hunter Mountain. This was our first stay and having booked over the internet, we were not sure what to expect. Upon arrival we entered the office to check in and were greeted by Cathy and Al, the owners. Instantly we felt comfortable and at home. We were impressed with the large layout of the lodge including a creek, basketball court and large outdoor pool for the summer months. They even have a recently renovated game room that kids would love. Even better was the restaurant and pub featuring 13 beers on tap. At night there was a great live jazz band, featuring Al the owner playing saxophone.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with a beautiful view from the balcony.
Al and Cathy were so warm and kind, you instantly felt like family. They went above and beyond to make sure we were enjoying ourselves , even going as far as driving us to the event we were attending at Hunter Mountain!!
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going to Hunter Mountain or even just for a quiet getaway in the Catskills.
I personally will can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kptg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for joining us for the TAP New York craft beer festival. You were a wonderful guest during you entire stay and we'd love to have you back. And thanks for taking time to share your experience at the Lodge with other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent place to stay and looking forward to a longer stay this summer. The restaurant and bar need to be rebranded but beyond that the place is awesome. May I suggest a bit of a less predictable board of faire? A little more creativity beyond the bakers dozen different beers is always a plus as well. Other than that, keep on doing it and you will make it work!

Room Tip: Get a cabin if you can
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Woody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alguart, Owner at Catskill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of the Lodge with others. We look forward to your return this Summer. We are always working to improve the hotel and restaurant and hope you'll give Kindred Spirits another try. We have consulted with a world-class chef and are implementing some of the changes he suggested. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
14.6 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
296 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
10.4 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
506 reviews
5.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
7.3 mi away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Mountain Lodge

Address: 334 Route 32a, Palenville, NY 12463-2726
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
Price Range: £70 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catskill Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic year-round lodge set on the banks of the famed Kaaterskill Creek with spacious, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces, and several cabins. Close to Hunter & Windham Ski resports, Woodstock, Saugerties and Horse Shows in the Sun. Full service steakhouse & pub on site open daily with Off Track Betting Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Catskill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Mountain Hotel Palenville
Catskill Mountain Lodge Catskill Region/Palenville, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing