We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, welcoming B&B central to Saugerties and Catskill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clark House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Palenville B&B and Inns
buffalo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, welcoming B&B central to Saugerties and Catskill”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Overwhelmed by the number of B&Bs in this area, we were so lucky to find this centrally located B&B. The victorian house is tastefully designed, the room airy and light with wonderful bedding, and the amenities top notch. What makes The Clark House so special, though, are the Clarks, Michael and Christine. Michael met us at the door and made us feel so welcome and at home. In the morning, Christine served breakfast, which was outstanding. From Bordeaux, she clearly enjoys cooking, and the meal showed it. A wonderful mix of fresh fruit, homemade pastries, and a light and fluffy omelet with toast. We had a wonderful chat after breakfast, and really felt like we were visiting friends. Looking at prices of other B&Bs around here (Woodstock, Saugerties, etc.,), the rates are a real bargain, because the accommodations, hospitality and breakfast are outstanding. I am sad that we are only going to be here for two nights, it is so lovely......

Room Tip: Descriptions and pictures of the rooms are on-line, you can have your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

What can we say but...after the first day we felt that we knew the hosts Michael and Christine forever! Warm and welcoming and a wealth of information. The room was spacious, clean and tastfully decorated, the breakfasts were scrumptious and original, the house a Victorian delight. A place to seriously consider when traveling to this part of the world!
Ron & Sally - UK

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandSally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This is a fantastic alternative if looking for a place to stay while showing at HITS. It's clean, cozy, with a charming atmosphere. My daughter and I stayed in the lodge, I had a roll away bed downstairs and gave her the loft. Lots of room with a very clean bathroom. Large jacuzzi tub and hand held shower. Small refrig was also available in the room. If you want a regular shower request another room. No TV but we did have internet access so we watched a few things on my daughters computer. There are DVD players.

The owners are friendly and entertaining with stories, ask about the ghosts and the school house next door! Christine was very accommodating with breakfast since we were never quite sure when my daughter was showing her horse! The food is AWESOME you won't go hungry!

Considering what the bigger hotel chains charge not to mention lack of cleanliness ...Clark House is well priced and much more enjoyable along with better food! Stay their you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EquineAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed here for four nights in February 2010. The B&B was easy to find and Michael and Christine made us welcome from the get go. Each room was individually decorated and clean and tidy. Michael and Christine offered great advice on where to visit in the locality and there were many great little townships to visit in the vicinity - we were there to ski at Hunter Mountain and Wyndham mountain and they were just a short drive away.
Just opposite the B&B there was a great local bar with basic food and a warm welcome.
Breakfasts at the Clark House were really good quality food, served at your convenience between 8am and 10am.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the B&B for anyone looking for a warm welcome in a relaxing setting.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markhiggins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2010

In short, this B&B and its proprietors were the backbone of a great ski trip in the Catskills!
The house itself is very well attended to and you can tell that attention is paid to every last detail in decor and presentation. Super clean, authentic and creative.
The hosts prepared excellent breakfasts each morning and were super attentive and personable - not to mention their great recommendations for sightseeing and dining in the area.
This is a fantastic spot if you want to really get away from it all. There is no television (with the exception of a DVD player in the Lodge room) which might be an issue for some, but if you are filling you days in the great outdoors or touring local towns it is more than entertaining enough to come back and relax in the outdoor jacuzzi or sip a glass of wine in front of the fireplace with a book or board game.
Kudos to Michael and Christine!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

This was our first experience with b&b's. We were greeted by Christine Clark. She showed us to our "Lodge" room. It was charming. Woodburning stove, loft bed. Right outside our room on the deck was a great hot tub. So relaxing in the winter evening looking out to the mountains. Michael Clark cooked a gourmet breakfast. He became a great friend. Very knowledgable of the area. He has a wonderful personality and is very funny. We came back from our day at Woodstock to find a tray of the makings for s'mores. You won't get that at Holiday Inn. We will definately be back Michael and Christine.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueec59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Christine and Michael are the epitome of what b&b hosts should be--they made us feel so welcome and comfortable without being intrusive or overbearing. It really did feel like we were staying at a friend's or relative's house. The house itself is lovely and you can tell they have put a lot of care into the details in all of the rooms. We loved the French Quarter room, which had a big bay window facing the front of the house, but peeked into the Asian room and found it lovely as well.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious--home-baked quickbreads and coffeecake, fresh fruit, fresh juice, coffee, and tea and perfect portions of the main course, which can be adapted to individual dietary requirements. Michael is also a great resource for other dining options in the area.

We have stayed at a number of b&b's in the area while looking to buy property and while many b&b's are very nice, Christine and Michael really put in that extra effort and care that make their home stand out from the rest. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Clark's house to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdshift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
1.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
7.9 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Clark House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3292 Route 23A, Palenville, NY 12463-2311
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Palenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clark House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clark House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clark House Bed And Breakfast Catskill Region/Palenville, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing