We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clark House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Palenville B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Where do l begin to describe this beautiful, lovely, warm, inviting place? The hosts: Michael and Christine, so charming, so warm and gracious, so helpful and eager to please have created a wonderful getaway haven for the world weary. I happened upon this lovely bed and breakfast on the internet when I was looking for places to stay in the Woodstock/Saugerties region for a 3 night getaway for my husband and self. What a find!! All the rooms are decorated tastefully and with an eye for comfort and detail. We stayed in the Sea Room #2 with it's lovely sitting area a view of the large backyard and deck. Extremely comfortable bed and chaise lounge, delightful breezes from big windows and air conditioner used only occasionally. Breakfast - if one can call it just breakfast - is a delicious and hearty gourmet first meal. Fresh cut fruits, yogurt with fruit compote and granola, fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious 100% Columbian coffee, decaf Earl Grey tea, and then omelettes or other exquisitely made items. You will be ready for your adventures looking for waterfalls, swimming in lakes, hiking, shopping, antiquing, or for whatever your plans may be while here. This is a gem which we will recommend to all of our friends and hope to return to again soon. We have stayed in horrible hotels/motels for a lot more money. This bed and breakfast is worth every penny, PLUS..

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Clark House Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay for HITS or anyone wishing to vacation near Saugerties. I second every comment made in the other positive reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable night at the Clark House. We had high expectations based on all the positive reviews and it did not disappoint. The Inn is well-run, charmingly decorated and very clean and comfortable. Christine and Michael were welcoming hosts and their house and expansive back yard just lovely. Christine provided good recommendations for daytime activities. We would gladly return.

Room Tip: the loft room is lovely and spacious and leads directly to the deck and beautiful backyard, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

My husband and I decided to get out of NYC for Christmas weekend and we came across this bed and breakfast online. We are both hikers and wanted to be close to the North-South Lake for a Christmas Day hike, and had read the great reviews of this B&B. The Clark House is about 15 minutes from the lake, as well as other gorgeous waterfalls and scenery. It is in a rural area (quite a welcome break from the City for us, as we live in Manhattan) but is still close enough to Catskill, Saugerties and other areas of interest that it's quite well-situated.

The house itself is gorgeous: some serious love and forethought went into the interior design, and the exterior of the house is also quite handsome (recently painted.) The house has an enclosed porch area with a charming sitting area and (when we visited) a beautiful Christmas tree, fully decorated. The front door of the house leads into a very warm, inviting entryway. Again, the decor and interior design of the house is really quite nice: I have done a lot of traveling in my life, and it's plain to see that the owners of the house have also traveled the world. As a result, the house has been decorated with different antiques, cultural pieces, photography of India and other countries and has a very eclectic feel. The living room has been designed as "the flower room," with flower-themed furniture, trinkets and the walls are lined with an assortment of flower oil paintings. It's very bright and cheerful in the mornings. But I'm getting ahead of myself....

We stayed in the Asian room, which was very comfortable (high-quality blankets and lots of them, to make sure their guests are warm in the night, especially in December!) and very well taken care of. It was clean, well arranged and homey. I would definitely prefer staying here than a chain-hotel, which really don't have any personality or uniqueness.

The bathroom was moderately sized (especially since we're from Manhattan) and very well-appointed. Small details that kept with the Asian theme were never missed: the hair dryer was in a red silken bag with a tag hand-labeled "Hair Dryer;" cotton balls were available in a small black, round container with a tassle on top; the shampoo and lotion samples were Ginseng-scented!

In the morning, breakfast was served in "the flower room" (as I call it) around a big table with the other guests. There are only a handful of rooms at the Clark House, so even with a fully-occupied B&B, there aren't too many guests at the table, and as such you can have a friendly chat with the others without the room feeling crowded. When we visited, there were two other guests at the table (others had already eaten) and we enjoyed some chit-chat over breakfast.

The breakfast was very good! Fresh banana bread, apple sauce with yogurt topped with raspberry, finely-cut fresh fruit salad (with pomegranate!), croque-madame, a sort of gourmet salad and coffee or tea. It was freshly made, delicious and very filling (especially for our hike!) Plus we had the pleasure of getting to know one of the owners, who was serving breakfast to the guests that morning.

My husband and I came out to have a relaxing, comfortable Christmas weekend surrounded by nature, and we definitely achieved this at the Clark House. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone interested in staying in the area to explore everything this part of the Hudson offers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan-Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton, nj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This location was a very short, no traffic drive from the stabling complex at Hits. It is located in a lovely village that has dining options just steps away. My room was the French room and had a lovely cast iron tub with hand held shower for soaking after a long horse show day. The house is clean and fresh and everything was in good order. Very comfortable bed, I was well rested. Quiet guests, no banging doors. I woke each morning to the aroma of fresh brewed coffee wafting up the stairs. Christine is accustomed to early horse show risers and has coffee brewing and breakfast packed for those pre dawn exits. If one is lucky enough to linger til 8, then Michael serves you a breakfast that Christine prepares that is 4 star quality. This couple were in the high end hospitality business before they began this endeavor. Seamless attention to detail, yet they make you feel very comfortable and very much at home.Try the bar and dining room at the golf club a stroll down the road for good service, food and prices. I will book at The Clark House again when the Hits season resumes in 2012.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jas247496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed two nights at the Clark House B&B, and both mornings we had superb breakfasts in the painting-filled dining room. The B&B has theme-designed rooms (The Asian Room, The French Quarter, etc.), and the house is full of lovely and surprising art and objects. Christine and Michael are excellent hosts and very interesting people. They've lived all over the world and know lots about food and wine. We highly recommend the Clark House B&B.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the side away from the road. The road-side rooms are a bit noisy, although the A/C in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Outstanding bed and breakfast from the congenial, warm and knowledgeable owners to the exquisitely decorated rooms. Oh I forgot the delectable breakfast, the beautiful manicured gardens, the location that allows easy access to all that the catskill area offers, the attention to every little detail ..... I could go on and on ..... first rate, definitely a must stay place when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdavis0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
1.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Kaaterskill
The Kaaterskill
#2 of 7 in Catskill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clark House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Clark House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3292 Route 23A, Palenville, NY 12463-2311
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Palenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clark House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clark House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clark House Bed And Breakfast Catskill Region/Palenville, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing