We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Hill Cumorah Visitors Center
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Palmyra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the events that occurred on and near the Hill Cumorah in the 1820s, such as Joseph Smith Jr.'s First Vision, the visits of the angel Moroni, and the translation of the Book of Mormon. Tours are free.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I dont expect that anyone other than LDS members would visit this place, so I will speak to them primarily. My wife and I made a special trip up to Palmyra from NYC, and that is very far, for a couple from Hawaii. It was ABSOLUTELY worth the trip, and I would do it again, in a heart beat! When you get up on the hill, it is a very humbling place to stand, knowing of all the things that have occured there. What a wonderful place. We will be back again, next time, with our kids!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Waisaipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    13
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very Interesting Site -- Amazing Tour Guides”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stopped off at the visitor's center one rainy afternoon after completing some meetings in Rochester. The missionaries that serve as tour guides were very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. The buildings and displays are beautiful and informative.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooele, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience and wonderful guides”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We loved our experience at the visitor center. The missionaries were so great and willing to guide us through the center. We ended up showing up only about 20 minutes before they closed, but they stayed later to talk and share the experience. Thank you for sharing your time with us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cougblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumorah R, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Cumorah Visitors Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to accommodate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcher, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wealth of Information and Helpful Guides”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The guides here have a wealth of information and are very helpful. The displays are engaging and the surrounding area is a beautiful, peaceful place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumorah R, Manager at Hill Cumorah Visitors Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The feeling in the building was so peaceful. The displays were great, and the guides had such a great understanding that they filled in great background stories that made it special. The whole area around Palmyra was filled with people coming to attend the pageant and everyone was so friendly and helpful. It was raining the day we went, so it was a great place to enjoy soaking up the information and the great spirit there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruth68_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hill Cumorah Visitors Center also viewed

 
Palmyra, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hill Cumorah Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing