We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to hang with a best friend”

Kathleen's Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Peekskill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Westchester
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“a nice place to hang with a best friend”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I go here whenever I meet my best friend from out of town. The place is small with lots of teapots all over - of course. The tea selection is outstanding. The food is very good, a bit expensive, but this is not a place you come every week. You must try the scones with clotted cream - this is not to be missed.

They do a wonderful presentation for Girl Scouts - and its fun for them

Its a place to be experienced. Once in a while, the persons get snotty -

This again is usually experienced by older folk - meaning over 40+.

Its a wonderful place to meet friends and spend time - at least 2 hours sitting, sipping wonderful tea, talking, reminising, and eating. Never miss the scones. Give it a chance

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mishy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    28
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Kathleen's Tea Room located in Peekskill, NY was delightful. Having family live in that area many years ago, one wouldn't expect that there would be a tea room in that city. But, there was. The decor was rather Victorian and every nook and cranny was filled with tea pots, etc. (most for sale) or other decor. The food was really good and filling. There were choices of 2 cup/4 cup teas and there was quite a variety. The desserts were great, too. A couple of comments....I thought that tea served British style came with milk....but it did not and I didn't ask because I drink tea without it. Also, there was no salt or pepper on the tables...I highly recommend this tea room AND highly recommend that you reserve a table. We went on a holiday weekend and it was packed, so it worked out to have a reservation. Also, street parking on Saturday and Sunday in Peekskill is free.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandyKingstonNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Still Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I still LOVE this place!!! The atmosphere, service, food It's all delicious. My favorites are still The Lucia salad and The scone,berries and cream. SCRUMPTOUS. One of my all time faves. This past visit I had two meals and two desserts. I ended up bringing alot home for later. The same staff and new owner are all very friendly and welcoming. They have later hours on Friday night and I think Sat too. Give Kathleen's a try. You will be glad you did!

Maria

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewyorkChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something Different”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Delightful, eccentric atmosphere, great tea selection and the best scones I’ve had in the US. Large selection of tea pots for sale. Food was very fresh, well prepared and attractively presented. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kptkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We Just Had Our First Visit To Kathleen's Tea Room And Are Planning Our Next!”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I passed by this restaurant a few weeks ago and have been looking for an opportunity to go there (it is thirty minutes away). Well, when my friend called yesterday and said, "Let's celebrate your Birthday!" I said, "I know exactly where we will go, Kathleen's Tea Room!"
We had a VERY LOVELY Lunch!!! The Peach Tea was DELICIOUS!!! Instead of white sugar there was a bowl of Amber Sugar Crystals, they were really neat!
I had a beef vegetable soup that was quite good, the mac and cheese was also very good and the mixed berry shortcake was SINFULLY GOOD!!!
I am already planning my next trip back to Kathleen's Tea Room! If not this week then next and my friend and I want to do a "Ladies Night" too.
I HIGHLY RECCOMEND Kathleen's Tea House. It is such a nice "girly" place, but, men will be comfortable too!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuesanJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathleen's Tea Room also viewed

Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 

Been to Kathleen's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing