We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Wah Restaurant

Hong Wah Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Penfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
343 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

My family and I always enjoy Hong Wah. It has the typical extensive Chinese menu options, with some specials offered. The portions are generous, food is served quickly and hot, veggies are fresh and the atmosphere is pleasant. The restaurant is wheelchair accessible, kid friendly, has booths and tables, can get busy on a Friday or Saturday evening, is open Christmas Day (that's where we have our Christmas dinner - no cooking for me!), lunch menu is very reasonably priced, easy parking, it's clean, the staff is friendly and the owner, Vicky, does a great job. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_in_Penfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

WE Love Love Hong Wha !! Vicky is wonderful the food is beyond Great !WE Love Love Hong Wha !! Vicky is wonderful the food is beyond Great !WE Love Love Hong Wha !! Vicky is wonderful the food is beyond Great !WE Love Love Hong Wha !! Vicky is wonderful the food is beyond Great !WE Love Love Hong Wha !! Vicky is wonderful the food is beyond Great !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just might be the best Chinese restaurant In town.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Lunch menu and prices are really unbeatable. Good selections, and the food is really good, fresh, and no overkill with any one flavor. I eat here 2-3 times a month. Everyone I have taken here to eat says its great food. The owner Vicky is always friendly and ready to make sure your meal is a good expierence.....now......If only she can get her husband to have a little personality........lol.......You cant go wrong eating here, the dinning room is always busy during meal times. That tells you something.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank coach787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have always enjoyed Hong Wah mainly for lunch. The prices are extremely reasonable, and the food is very good. They have a nice selection and a steamed, low fat option also. We have also been there for dinner, but we usually do lunch at least once a month and have never been disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanceetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Inattentive service and an old tired menue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I had not been to this restaurant in two years; My previous experiences weren't very good so I had taken it "off my list" The first thing that I have to write is that they are consistent: nothing seems to have changed since my last visit. The service is cold and inattentive. The menu is old and tired. The food is pretty average . . . The whole experience reminds me of going to a "Chinese" restaurant in small town America in the 1960's. All the usual items you would expect are on the menu and they are all served by a staff that acts like a smile or a "thank you" isn't anything they have any experience with.

Maybe I am too harsh. Maybe my expectations are too high. They had many other customers that night and I suspect they have a "regular" clientelle that has been coming for years. Hong Wah may be just right for them . . . I feel that there are so many other options these days that really are trying to please and really do appreciate my business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Triaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Wah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hong Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing