We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Mexican Food...this is NOT Taco Bell!”
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penn Yan, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food...this is NOT Taco Bell!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This place is one of our favorites. We go several times a month. REAL Mexican food that is delicious and very reasonably priced. A family friendly place run by a local family. As good as any other Mexican restaurant we've been to in this area, in most cases better...MUCH better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennYanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tioga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Finally a Decent Mexican Restaurant!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I both love mexican food, but it is hard to find in the Twin Tiers area of lower NY/upper PA. We usually get out need fulfilled when we go to Kennesaw, GA where there are mexican restaurants every other block. So we were delighted when we were told about La Cocina. We were on a 7 day bicycle tour of the Finger Lakes and needed a break from the "group" meals. The margaritas were outstanding - no acidy taste, just great, smooth drinks! We started with the Queso Fundido and found it to be some of the best we have every had. The tortillas served with the Fundido were obviously home made and delicious. My husband is fanatical about Chile Rellenos and raved about La Cocina's. I took advantage of their nightly special and had shredded beef soft shell tacos for just $1.25 each! The meal was superb and we are already talking about driving the 65 miles back there from our home to enjoy another one of their outstanding meals!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ga_flatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Definitely not Mexican”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The food was good but lacked the traditional mexican flavors. I tried the chille rellenos and while the were good they were definetly Americanized. Cheddar cheese? No red sauce? Shredded beef with little flavor, it could have used some cumin and either garlic or onions to add to the flavor. The fresh plabanos were perfectly cooked. The overal taste was good but definitely not mexican or texmex. If there was cumin in the kitchen it wasn't on my food. The refried beans were home made and delicious, the rice lacked flavor. My wife had tostada and a taco. She said that they were good but not first rate.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antiquefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Delicious Mexican food”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We choose this restaurant because we love Mexican food. The service was the by far the best we experienced in the Finger Lakes region. Also, the food was really good and the owners paid a lot of attention to the ambiance by choosing genuine Mexican decor. The salsa is really good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_traveler610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

There aren't a ton of options in Penn Yan, its a small town, but this was a great find! Delicious mexican food - we had an appetizer of chicken flautas that were really good - chips, salsa, guacamole all great. Husband had margaritas that he loved. Friendly staff, clean place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing