We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #9 of 42 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Boyfriend and I couldn't find anywhere in the area to eat dinner that could seat us right away. This place had been recommended by our B&B owners, and it turned out to be a good tip! They sat us right away even though it's a small place. Service was friendly and attentive. Food was great!

Helpful?
Thank Salamandy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

not what you would call an average mexican resturant. Not by the standards in Rochester ny. Food was average prices were good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We were doing a wine-tasting weekend and staying in Penn Yan at a b&b where we could preview a variety of menus. La Cocina was our choice. Upon walking in, we immediately got a friendly vibe, with a very warm, cheerful greeting and colorful oilcloth tablecloths and a cozy ambiance. Our order of chips/salsa was fresh as can be, loved the home-made chips, especially. We're vegetarians, which was not a problem. I asked if the taco salad could be adapted and served without meat, an easy "yes". It was wonderful, just what I was craving. We both had perfectly-balanced margaritas to start but the thing that put it over the top was the enormous serving of guacamole that our server delivered, though we didn't order it, because they'd "made too much". Really? It was more than we could eat, but the guac stayed fresh (was fresh), and I thought this was a wonderful touch that spoke volumes of the eagerness to please of the management. La Cocina is a gem that should be considered a superior offering in Penn Yan. What they're doing is of top quality and I hope to be back again soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rubijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We eat here often. The food is great, the service is excellent. The atmosphere is casual. Prices are very reasonable. The only negative is that they don't serve margaritas but the Mexican beer is great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time Ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fist time I ever had Chile Relleno's that were not breaded and fried. Not at all tasty. Don't know if I will ever go back or recommend it either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E8ordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing