We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“B&B Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed with Laurel and Llewellyn last weekend, and it was the best B&B experience we've ever had (and we travel quite a bit).

Laurel welcomed as warmly, and gave us a tour around the beautiful house. She went over everything, including mentioning that we just have to wait a minute in the morning for the water to heat up! Nothing was overlooked.

On top of the gorgeous decor, the place was completely spotless. You couldn't have found a speck of dust if you tried, it was truly impressive.

Breakfast each morning was a delight, and we loved chatting with them in the mornings so much we wanted them to come with us all day! They have fantastic recommendations for the area. Make sure to try to get reservations early at Ports Cafe! You won't be disappointed.

Generally, we like to visit different B&B's when we come back to a place we've been. That won't be the case for us in the finger lakes. We both agree it can't get better than La Belle Vie!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Salamandy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
179
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for a weekend get away, and greatly enjoyed our stay. Laurel and Llewellyn welcomed us warmly and showed us around the inn. We were blown away by the dining room. It is of Eastlake design, with chestnut trim, and it is completely intact and unpainted! Wow! We stayed in the Ridley Room, which is very spacious with a modern bath. Bed was modern and comfortable for us. Breakfasts were amazing. First morning featured fruit, lemon ginger scones, and a killer omelet. Next morning featured amazing spiced pears, blueberry muffins, and marscapone stuffed french toast. Oh yeah!

Since we are familiar with the Finger Lakes, we already had a bit of a plan for our winery visits and drive around Kueka Lake. But, Laurel and Llewellyn we able to give us some great ideas on places to go, and good restaurants. We took their suggesting of having dinner at Port's Cafe near Geneva, and were not disappointed in the least.

We enjoyed talking with Laurel and Llewellyn in the morning after breakfast, sharing life stories, and adventures. Very friendly folks who left the rat race of NYC for a quieter life in Penn Yan. It is clear they put a lot of work into getting the inn up and running, but they also seemed to have a lot of fun doing it. As Laurel put it, while furnishing the rooms she could go to antique shops "guilt free".

La Belle Vie will definitely go on our "must stay there again" list. For us, it is only a little more than an hour away. So, when we need a get away for a few days to decompress from life, we now have a great place to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Mackintosh Room. We decided to stay in Penn Yan for a night to our way back to Baltimore from Toronto. The room was very spacious and the service was amazing. Laurel and Llewellyn gave us a lot of information about Penn Yan prior to our arrival and suggested us to a very nice restaurant after we check-in.

The breakfast was amazing, especially the lemon ginger scone. We asked to pack them for our breakfast for the next few mornings..=P...We also had a great talk with them for few hours in the morning...It was such a wonderful stay and definitely would want to visit them again in the future...=]

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Based on Trip Advisor reviews made the booking and we're not disappointed. This is a gem.

-beautiful period home with wonderful details, furnished superbly
-Ridley bedroom spacious, modern bathroom, bed a superb sleep, furnishings just so interesting and superb
-breakfast divine: lemon scones, French toast with marscapone cheese filling....yum....fruit with a fab presentation

This b& b is owned by a very urbane and interesting couple who enjoy engaging with their guests, so the experience was that much more memorable
Both most recently from upper left side of NYC, professionals/executive backgrounds who have recreated a life for themselves in this special enclave and have created for their guests a very special place to visit, to rest, to reflect, to tour the neighbouring region from.

We will be back, no doubt with family and friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We can't agree more with all the previous reviews for the beautiful La Belle Vie. We have travelled all over and stayed in many B&Bs, but this one tops the list for so many reasons. We stayed in the Ridley Room, which was spacious, huge bathroom, and lovely outdoor terrace. Lauren & Llewellyn were top notch hosts at their gorgeous home, filled with antiques and in a great location in the middle of Penn Yan. Every morning we looked forward to a delicious and beautifully presented breakfast, and some warm and friendly company from the hosts. Lauren & Llewellyn have a true gift for hospitality, and we can't wait to visit with them again on a return trip to the Finger Lakes. Thank you from your new friends in Pennsylvania!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Ridley Room if you enjoy wine out on the terrace after a hard day of wine tourin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linjons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Ridley Room. It was our first trip to the finger lakes and Laurel and Llewellyn made it an experience we won't forget.

Pros: Owners make you feel like family, great suggestions/advice, breakfast is amazing, room was immaculate. What everyone else said…

Very minor cons of the room (I’m reaching here):
-19” TV is a bit small for the room size and difficult to view from bed in Ridley room. If you like to watch TV in bed that is something to think about.

- Balcony was great however it faces another house. It be nice to have some thin privacy divider or hanging plants (in spring/summer ). Watching the neighbor wash dishes while we enjoyed a glass of wine was a bit awkward. It only happened once though.

It was a wonderful stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonesaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at La Belle Vie. The house was lovely and immaculate! The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. Our hosts were very warm and welcoming. Our room was well decorated and the bed was so comfortable. Thank you Laurel and Llewellyn for a wonderful B &B experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
21.8 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Address: 208 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1714
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Vie B&B. Vintage 1865 Victorian in Historic District of village. All rooms feature period decor, antiques, queen bed, desk, and comfortable chairs. Also A/C, cable TV/DVD/CD player and Wi-Fi in every room. En suite bathrooms newly renovated. Beautiful private grounds with croquet and badminton available. Plenty of off-street parking and free Tesla charging stations! Five-minute walk along Main Street to village center including museums, shops, bookstores, restaurants, churches, and the Keuka Outlet Trail. Many wineries, antique shops, farms and lakes within a short, pleasant drive from this heart of the Finger Lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing