We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic diner, great food , great service, great value!”
Review of Penn Yan Diner

Penn Yan Diner
Ranked #3 of 44 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Simply Retrolicious - From OMG omelets to burgers on Dinemade rolls, everything old is new again at this quaint, nostalgic Penn Yan icon. Breakfast and a smile served all day.
Restaurant details
Description: Simply Retrolicious - From OMG omelets to burgers on Dinemade rolls, everything old is new again at this quaint, nostalgic Penn Yan icon. Breakfast and a smile served all day.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Classic diner, great food , great service, great value!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Steel cut oatmeal, delicious buckwheat and buttermilk pancakes, breakfast burrito.
We were all happy with our food and the service was friendly and efficient .
A great last meal in Penn Yan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m-ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    31
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find !!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Seven kayakers doing an overnight to help with the Triathlon-we needed a quick meal before setting up a late camp. We were delighted when we found this classic diner. None of us ordered the same meal and each of us received our own yummy pleasure of perfection - including the Dinermade apple and blueberry pies! The owner came out to meet us and we shared some laughs as she told us about their Sunday breakfast. After the Triathlon the next day, we skipped the free pizza and beelined for the diner to enjoy the most satisfying breakfast we could have dreamed up ~ again, ordering all different combinations with excellent resulting meals. The service was professional and fun ~ don't pass this lovely diner by...!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedscanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food. Classic diner atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We always like to eat here when we are in Penn Yan for a breakfast. Their food prices are very low but the quality is excellent. It is a classic diner atmosphere. It is always nice to support the local economy and eat at family owned businesses. This is one of the places you want to eat it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent small town diner”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Penn Yan Diner is a historic diner just off of Main St. They've been under new management for just over a year. The new owners are really trying to cook quality food in this small, quaint diner. I really enjoyed the french onion soup, and the roast beef over mashed potatoes with gravy really hit the spot. I would highly recommend eating here if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, New York
1 review
“Fantastic diner food”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you have a craving for mashed potato's covered in amazing gravy this place is where you want to be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penn Yan Diner also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Penn Yan Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing