We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated 19th century home; excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Beautifully renovated 19th century home; excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a recently opened B&B, completely renovated by Ginny and Jamie. They essentially rebuilt the grounds, including retaining walls, walkways, multi-level patios, gas firepit. The home itself is beautifully done, with large windows overlooking Keuka Lake. One can walk the steps to the shore of the lake, and there is a long dock with chairs to just take in the view. All the rooms have a great view, and antiques abound in the home. The modernization was painstaking, including a ground floor dining area with a new kitchen. The common areas are spacious and have lots of natural light, including main floor and ground floor areas. Ginny and Jamie know the area well, and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Unlike some homes of this vintage, there is a wealth of space indoor and out, so that one can be alone or socialize as one prefers. This has a very private feel to it, as it is considerably away from a not-too-busy road, and the adjacent homes are very quiet. Breakfast was fabulous, the room was quiet, and service was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
192
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hubbard, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had an wonderful experience staying at the newly renovated Steamboat Castle B&B on Lake Keuka. The home is in a convenient location, making it possible to visit Lake Seneca as well as Lake Keuka. Ginny made us feel at home immediately. Our room, the Halsey, had a private balcony with a great view of the Lake. The towels and linens were top of the line, and the shower was very nice. We had everything we needed...private bath, toiletries, bathrobes, comfortable bed, and a flatscreen TV... all in a cozy room. The entire house was tastefully decorated and very clean.The concrete work that Jaime has done throughout the house and grounds is amazing! There were so many beautifully landscaped outdoor areas to sit, sip wine, and enjoy the awesome views. We also spent a relaxing evening with Ginny, Jaime, and the other guests sitting around the firepit. Everyone was so friendly, and we got lots of tips on wineries, breweries, and restaurants in the vicinity to visit. It was a cool night, but with the fire and outdoor patio heater, it was quite comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious -fruit, (fresh and grilled), pastries or biscuits, and a main course beautifully presented in the dining area overlooking the Lake. There was also a kitchen area on this floor for the guests which has a refrigerator, microwave, Keurig, plates, glasses, utensils, and always a plate of yummy cookies or dessert snacks. Both Ginny and Jaime have done a marvelous job in making this an exceptional B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return on our next visit to the area!

Room Tip: If traveling with another couple, Lulu and Holmes share a covered balcony, but if you are looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueH912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The lakefront cottage rental at the Steamboat Castle B&B is wonderful! Along with being in a great location, the quaint cottage offers spectacular views, and lots spacious rooms on 3 floors of rustic decor. Located right on the Lake Keuka with a dock, fire pit, and beautiful patio area to relax and enjoy the scenery. The house was great and the owner Ginny was very attentive and accommodating to all of our needs. Definitely the best place to stay on the best lake in all of the Finger Lakes! Lake Keuka wineries are second to none in quality. The cottage is just a short 3 minute drive into the town Penn Yan. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurtsboro, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Took a chance on staying at this newly opened B&B for our anniversary and could not be happier. Beautiful building with many areas around the house and yard to view the lake. Although others were around we felt like we were alone because there are so many places to hang out that privacy was easily achieved. Our room had a private balcony which we used every morning and every night. Amazingly peaceful and serene. Our room was excellent, although a bit on the small side we had everything we needed: private bathroom with awesome shower, thick towels, firm mattress, quality bathrobes, and flat screen TV. The whole house is beautifully renovated with eye appealing decorations throughout. The inn keepers were warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were excellent; fresh fruits and tasty breakfast fare. The house has coffee/tea always available, a guest kitchen with fridge/freezer, utensils and dinnerware. There is also a grill available outside for guests to use. The inn keepers really have made this the perfect B&B to enjoy the lake. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms with private balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coasterjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay with Ginny and Jaime at Steamboat Castle. We were looking for a cozy retreat to enjoy a long weekend in the Finger Lakes and this totally fit the bill. They recently completed a renovation of the house and it was absolutely stunning. Breakfast every morning was delightful (Ginny I still want the recipe for those Apple Cinnamon Scones!!) and a great time to chat with the other guests- to find out what everyone had done the day before or had planned for the day. The location in Penn Yan was quite convenient to town and both the Seneca and Keuka Wine Trails.

I can't recommend Steamboat Castle highly enough and cannot wait for book our next visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cricket- which was on the top floor and had a private balcony overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Want to enjoy a lakeside establishment? New in Sept. 2013, this
totally refurbed B&B promises to do very well. It’s a classic.
Lots of space inside to stretch out; with various sweeping
interior spaces and nooks to accomodate your changing needs.
The latest technology in conveniences are available to
keep your life seemlessly happy. If you require rest and comfort,
SCB&B is your ticket to unwind. The breakfasts and attention to
detail are first rate. You can even jump into a canoe and tour the
shoreline for the very best view of the lake.
My wife and I certainly were impressed with this venue,
and the friendly attention received from our hosts.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, CT
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This recently renovated B&B is absolutely beautiful and has stunning views of Keuka Lake. The renovations of the house were done masterfully. While making modern updates, the artistry and character of the original building was kept intact. All except one room have views of the lake. We stayed in the Howell room which had access to a covered balcony overlooking the lake, which was fabulous. The rooms are all very tastefully decorated and have flat screen TVs and private bathrooms with rain showers. The common lounge areas and dining room are very spacious and comfortable, again with fabulous views. There are several outdoor areas, including a firepit, as well as canoe and rowboat. We loved our canoe ride! The breakfasts are outstanding. Yummy homemade scones, breads, and tarts are served as appetizers and then a wonderful savory or sweet entree is prepared, such as peach french toast! Everything was absolutely delicious! The hosts, Ginny and Jamie, are very hospitable, and we enjoyed their company very much. Also, their beagle, Samantha, is an absolute love! There are many wineries and restaurants nearby. We truly felt like we were in our own vacation home. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The Howell room has a covered balcony overlooking the lake, so you can sit outside, rain or shine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#1 of 4 in Penn Yan
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,222 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Chalet of Canandaigua
The Chalet of Canandaigua
#1 of 15 in Canandaigua
545 reviews
2.5 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2893 W Lake Rd, Penn Yan, NY 14527-8821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back into time and let your worries fade away as you vacation at Steamboat Castle. Located in the heart of the Finger Lakes on Keuka Lake, Steamboat Castle has five guestrooms, all with private baths, air conditioning, luxurious beds and four of the rooms provide a balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing