We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finger Lakes Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finger Lakes Escape”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a good night stay at The Fox Inn. This in town Greek Revival B & B was furnished with period antiques. We had the pleasure of staying in the Lucy Fox room. The room was clean, bright and spacious. The room had a window air conditioner, flat panel TV, and a basket of snacks. The in-room bathroom was clean and adequate. Locks have been installed on guest room doors. Our host Mike and Tonya are the new owners of the Inn, purchasing the Inn two months ago. They offer several choices for breakfast, we enjoyed the Creme Brulee French Toast and Mexican Omelette, both very good. We had dinner across the driveway a Timmy G's. A place where the townies eat. We had the Seafood Mac & Cheese and lasagne. Really good food. After dinner we enjoyed conversation and a game of pool with our host Mike. A nice touch, we were given two cookies for the road. We also met their 2 year old son Morgan and two dogs Bella and Daisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_of_Us603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montoursville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We always have a great time at the Fox Inn. We have been going for 6 years, now with 4 other couples. Cliff and Michelle are awesome hosts and the breakfast there is something I always look forward to.

Room Tip: The pool is not terrible. There is no pool. rating would not remove
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and another couple traveled around to local wineries and stopped mid-way to stay at the Fox Inn B&B. This B&B is a great old mansion, kept in gorgeous decor and clean condition; in inn-keepers were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the William Fox two-room suite. A door separates the suite from the main hallway, and in the suite, a hallway separates each of the three rooms: two bedrooms and a bathroom. Both rooms were very nice, containing a welcome basket of snacks and bottled water, and were equipped with A/C. The bathroom was wonderful with a gorgeous faux-marble shower.

Breakfast is made-to-order at 8 or 9:30am. We selected items from a list the night before, and the menu was excellent: juices, teas, coffee, yogurt (with blueberries and strawberries) or a fruit dish, and eight or so main courses with variations, including light breakfast options, creme brule french toast (my choice and was delicious!) and your choice of 3 variations of frittatas (one of the main eight options). Everyone was more than satisfied with their meals.

As a suggestion if you are wine-touring, pick up the $12 Passport in one of the winery gift shops. It has free tastings at 7 of the 10 main wineries on Keuka and discounts at wineries, restaurants, and B&Bs like this one. We got a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breesport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed at the Fox Inn with our young son this spring. We couldn't have had a better experience. Our room was spotless and included a rollaway for our son to have his own "special bed". There were lots of nice touches to make it feel homey and comfortable. The downstairs decor included lots of beautiful antique Victorian furniture and nice touches to make you feel at home. (Keurig coffee, drinks, games, etc). The new owners, Tanya and Mike had just taken over, and even their first weekend they seemed like a couple pros! They were very welcoming and friendly, and were able to address our questions right away. The breakfast was delicious, especially the crime brûlée French toast. My son ordered it, but I think I ate most of it!

Tanya and Mike also have a young son, and were kind enough to let us use some of his toys. It was lovely sitting on the back steps watching him zip around on a trike in the evening. Oh, and the yummy cookies they gave us as a parting gift were pretty awesome too!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lucy Fox room, which had a lovely serene feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristieSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I took my wife for her birthday, and had a great time. The new management of the Inn were very helpful and interactive. We felt like we made great new friends. They were interested in what our trip plans were, and very informative on the local sites and restaurants. The William Oliver room is beautiful, and the complimentary beverage (bottled water) and snacks in the room is a nice touch. In the morning at breakfast we had the most amazing food served to us. The portions are perfect, (except for the cinnamon bun, bring a friend, Holy Cow...Best Ever). Being spring the garden is in full bloom so the aroma was wonderful, a great place for morning coffee. I guess the best description I can give is that the relaxing atmosphere compliments perfectly the Victorian Décor.

Room Tip: The William Oliver room is very spacious and relaxing, and the décor is wonderful for people who enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oreilly608_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

First, let me preface this with the fact that we enjoyed our stay, but will not be going back. The location is ideal, its definitely pretty. However there are no locks when leaving your room - this is slightly unnerving but understandable in a small town. When we arrived, the smoke detector was beeping indicating low battery. We notified the female owner right away, and she stated her husband knew and would get around to it. However, it took 4 hours and a phone call to the owners while on the way out to dinner before the battery was changed. Breakfasts were delicious, but you could hear them preparing from the Dorothy Fox room making it hard to sleep. Uniquely guests get to pick their breakfast from a selection of about 6-8 choices. The room was clean, but small. And the whirlpool tub holds only one. Breakfast was served with little interaction with staff, but they were pleasant when speaking with you. During breakfast on the day of check-out, the male owner brought out our bill. We were talking with the other couple who had stayed there too. They had their wallet with them, my husband stated he did not but would bring down a credit card after we finished eating. When we were not quite through eating, the owner came out again asking my husband to pay stating he needed to do some things in the garage. This is over 1 hour prior to scheduled check-out time. My husband and I excused ourselves from breakfast stating we'd be right back and would check out then. Check-out went smooth, however if you want to enjoy breakfast on check-out day bring your money with you to breakfast. We were quite put-off by this. Owners did give a couple restaurant recommendations to us upon asking, and also told us where to find menus for local restaurants. Our stay was nice, but not what we expected for a last minute trip to Penn Yan. The room was clean, if slightly dusty and we did get fresh towels in the morning from housekeeping. In the summer, a trip might be more enjoyable with more to do throughout the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My preference when traveling is to stay in a bed and breakfast and I have had many excellent experiences. Unfortunately my stay at the Fox Inn was a disappointment. I will highlight the positives and negatives to give a balanced review.

Positives
Location - near the Keuka and Seneca Lake wine trails and an easy walk into the village of Penn Yan

Game Room - a beautiful pool table, antique slot machine, and complimentary coffee and tea

William Oliver room - enjoyed the gas fireplace and whirlpool tub, complimentary basket of snacks with bottled water

Breakfast - two breakfast times, choice of many entrees and generous portions

Extras - we were given home baked cookies for the ride home

Negatives

Security - there are no external locks on the room doors and the guest entrance is unlocked during the day. When questioned, the owner indicated there has never been an issue. This was an issue for me and the owner's answer is unacceptable.

Cleanliness - there was visible dust on the artificial arrangements in our room which makes me wonder about the general housekeeping practices. There was a figurine on one of the window ledges with both hands broken off (please discard). When you open the cover to adjust the heat, the area around the heating unit is clearly dirty. There were dead leaves from a plant on the floor in the guest entraway the entire weekend.

Hospitality - when the male owner showed us to our room and when we checked out, he did not offer to assist with the luggage. Owner refilled the coffee for one guest but did not extend the same courtesy to my partner. The minimal breakfast conversation seemed like he was going through the motions versus really wanting to engage with the guests. The female owner appeared to serve breakfast but otherwise was not visible and we had to introduce ourselves to her. Owner used one of the prime parking spaces.

Internet - for two days we had intermittent access to the Wifi in our room. We mentioned this to the owner but there was no remedy and he joked that we shouldn't be on the computer while on vacation. We could access the internet form the main floor.

Refrigerator - there is no refrigerator available for guest use. The refrigerator in the game room is stocked with soda and beer available for purchase. There is a grocery store within walking distance.

Housekeeping - an envelope with a suggestion for a tip for the housekeeper was left on our nightstand. I have stayed at numerous B&Bs and never experienced this. I consider any housekeeping costs to be covered by the room rate.

Misc - Keuka Lake wine trail pamphlets from 2011 in the display rack. 2012 wine trail events poster prominently displayed in the entraway. No TV station listing in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing