We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Owners!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful New Owners!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We visited the Fox Inn a few months ago and a had a not so splendid experience. On this visit - we had an excellent experience! Since Mike and Tanya became the new owners, they have clearly taken over seamlessly. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing or inviting environment! Everyone we met was so friendly and happy to chat with us, and make recommendations about where to go, what to do or even to make small talk with us. The breakfasts were still phenomenal! The William Oliver room was spacious and luxurious, and spotless of course! The room has a complimentary snack basket very unlike other B&Bs! Overall an amazing experience - from a very family-oriented B&B and we loved every minute of it! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The William Oliver room was spacious and luxurious, and spotless of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at The Fox Inn in the Lucy Fox Room for our anniversary. We loved the historic atmosphere throughout both the interior and exterior of the house. The attention to detail was exceptional. From the snack basket in our room to the scrumptious gourmet breakfast selections that include crème brûlée french toast to a variety of frittatas, Mike and Tanya create a hospitable atmosphere that makes you look forward to your next visit there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_4RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are going to the Finger Lakes, check out The Fox Inn in Penn Yan. Mike and Tanya are excellent hosts, and their breakfasts are fantastic. The Fox Inn is a gorgeous Victorian building that is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We stayed in the Dorothy Fox room, which was very cozy. Our room had both air conditioning and heat, cable tv and a private bathroom.
In the parlor, there is a pool table, refrigerator and self-serve coffee and tea. It was nice to relax on the front porch after a full day of visiting the vineyards, breweries and restaurants in the area. The breakfasts here were fantastic! (yep, I've said that twice). Mike and Tanya (Renee too!) are a very welcoming, sincere and hard-working family. We will be going back. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in the Finger Lakes NY. Our stay at The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast in Penn Yan, New York was the best!! We had a wonderful stay in the Lucy Fox Room...very nicely decorated and spotless clean. Before going out on our wine tasting trip we had a breakfast to die for!! Our hosts Mike and Tanya just bought the Inn in May 2013 but it ran so smooth you would have thought they were the innkeepers for ever. Thank you Mike and Tanya for a relaxing stress free weekend! We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melinda12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosslyn
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Congratulations to the new owners, Mike and Tanya. They are naturally hospitable and eager to please their guests beyond the expected comfortable stay and delicious (extensive) breakfast menus. Snacks and cold drinks are a nice touch! We appreciated the quiet evenings for lounging on the front porch after long days of sight-seeing and hiking.

Rooms are air-conditioned, though the dining room was not. Only one room is on the main level; the Lucy room was our favourite (one caution: bathroom has a step down from the bedroom which could be dangerous at night).

The Finger Lakes Region is a must see, especially if you love great wine (surprise!), excellent food and music in the vineyards. We loved our 4 days in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideasculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Mike and Tanya, the new owners of this B&B, are very friendly and keep the inn sparkling clean. They were very helpful in whatever we needed. And breakfast is so good with many delicious choices that you make the night before. I'm so glad we stayed 3 nights so we could taste as many as possible! We stayed in the William Fox 2 bedroom suite which was charming and comfortable. The A/C cooled the rooms very quickly. The bathroom was very pretty with a nice shower. It was a great home base for wine touring on Seneca and Keuka Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty Fort, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Quiet and restful stay at The Fox Inn. Have stayed there several times over past few years and will definitely go back. Comfortable and beautifully decorated rooms. Friendly innkeepers and staff. Delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
Hampton Inn Penn Yan
#2 of 4 in Penn Yan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing