We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful trip to the wine country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
1 review
“A wonderful trip to the wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the Keuka Wine country . nWe started from the Fox Inn B&B which is located in the heart of Penn Yan near several great restraurants (Especially the Keuka). Mike and Tania were excellent hosts, they new the wine and wineries.My wife and I stayed in their Carriage House which contained 2 double beds a kitchen, living room and dinning area. It had cable TV and was in excellent shape. It was quite enjoyable setting around the fireplace enjoying some of the days purchases. Mike and Tania were excellent company. Renee, Tania's mother also was quite familiar with the region and local realestate. We and our friend Pat look forward to our next trip to Penn Yan and the Fx Inn. Don't miss the Windmill Farm and Craft market on Saturdays also very close to the Fox Inn.

Room Tip: The Carriage HOUSE at the Fox Inn B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at the Fox Inn Bed and Breakfast earler this month (Oct. 2013). Innkeepers Mike and Tanya were wonderful hosts and the atmosphere was relaxing and cozy. We enjoyed the spectacular breakfasts as a start to each day of touring area vineyards. We stayed in the Dorothy Fox room and enjoyed all the "extras" such as freshly made pumpkin muffins, cookies, and snacks in the room. We will definately return for another visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dorothy Fox room which is down a hallway from the other rooms (a little more privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was our first time staying at the Fox Inn and I would definately recommend it. Mike and Tanya were very accomodating and the breakfast was great, especially the Creme Broulee French Toast...YUM. Close to all the Keuka Lake Wineries and just a hop to the Seneca Lake Wineries as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Fox Inn Bed and Breakfast every year for the past 7 years. We love the central location of this B&B to all that the Finger Lakes has to offer. Their breakfasts are awesome and we look forward to ordering the Creme Brulee french toast everytime we stay. There were new owners this year, Mike and Tanya and they were the perfect hosts. We will defininetly stay at the Fox Inn on our next trip to the beautiful Finger Lakes region.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Fox Inn. Renee, Mike and Tanya are very welcoming and friendly hosts.The breakfast was just as delicious as on our last visit. The rooms are all very clean and comfortable. We will continue to recommend the Fox Inn to our friends and family. The cookies made by Tanya are an awesome treat provided upon our departure. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a wonderful B&B in the heart of Penn Yan at Kueka Lake, NY. Mike was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Fantastic accomadations, great breakfast, and the location can't be beat....steps from downtown Penn Yan. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful place and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My sister and I spent a night at the Fox Inn for a getaway and it fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in the two bedroom suite. Both rooms are wonderfully appointed and very comfortable and clean. Tanya and Mike are very accommodating hosts as is Renee who greeted us when we arrived. Mike even hooked up a DVD player so we could watch a movie at night. It's the first time I was given a choice for breakfast at a B&B. All the selections sounded so good it was difficult to make a choice. My sister and I chose the French toast which is sweet, filling and delicious. We were blessed with beautiful, fall weather and were able to walk along the main street of Penn Yan and check out the stores, museums and Arts Center. We also enjoyed a walk along the scenic Outlet Trail. One thing we would do differently is arrange our stay later in the week as some of the waterfront restaurants were not open, either for lunch or at all, until Wed. or the weekend. We were there from a Tuesday to Wednesday after the peak summer season (Sept.24 and 25).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penn Yan
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Penn Yan Finger Lakes Region
14.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Steamboat Castle Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Bed & Breakfast
11.9 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 158 Main St, Penn Yan, NY 14527-1201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, New York - Finger Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing